Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moments of brilliance
I'd be lying if I didn't admit I primarily picked this book up to see what had become of my favourite brat-packer but was pleasantly surprised by the content.

Thoughful, touching prose renders beautiful the trials and tragedies which punctuate everyday life. The much trodden ground of divorcing parents is delivered feeling somewhat refreshed while the...
Published on 20 Aug 2012 by BethRose

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful exploration of relationships
Really enjoyed this collection of interlinking stories. I found some of the writing lovely to read as the character's emotions and feeling unravel.

I’ve quoted my favourite lines below which so evocatively describe the despair felt when a relationship you’ve taken for granted will always be there suddenly isn’t.

“When it...
Published 2 months ago by Masia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moments of brilliance, 20 Aug 2012
I'd be lying if I didn't admit I primarily picked this book up to see what had become of my favourite brat-packer but was pleasantly surprised by the content.

Thoughful, touching prose renders beautiful the trials and tragedies which punctuate everyday life. The much trodden ground of divorcing parents is delivered feeling somewhat refreshed while the parent/child relationship is approached from various angles, all of which are both heart-felt and covincing. My only real quibble is the choice to conclude my favourite story, The Little One, indirectly through a different narrator. While no doubt a matter of personal taste, I felt most strongly for the lonely Betty and was disappointed that she slipped away so quietly while I was still getting to know her prodigal daughter.

Nonetheless this short debut novel manages to explore complex relationships in surprising depth, with some chapters comprising some really beautiful writing. I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suz, 29 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: When it Happens to You (Hardcover)
This is a book of short stories, the like i have never known before. Instead of stories that don't have much in common, maybe a theme or a place, these stories have in common a family. A family of Greta, Phillip and their daughter Charlotte. Each story has one of the characters in and who they meet and how that person affects them, their situation and their lives. Although other stories focus on another character, the family is always in the back ground, letting us know what is happening. Personally i love the book and found it hard to put down. A refreshing change to how short stories are written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Club favourite, 23 Feb 2013
By 
K. Ebrill (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When it Happens to You (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book. Easy to read and smartly done. The stories are interesting and interweave in a lovely way. We ALL enjoyed this book and were surprised that is was so enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful exploration of relationships, 15 Oct 2014
This review is from: When it Happens to You (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this collection of interlinking stories. I found some of the writing lovely to read as the character's emotions and feeling unravel.

I’ve quoted my favourite lines below which so evocatively describe the despair felt when a relationship you’ve taken for granted will always be there suddenly isn’t.

“When it happens to you, you will be reminded there are worse things but your heart won’t listen to reason. Your heart is a muscle like any other, full of blood and very hungry for oxygen. Your heart doesn’t think. It doesn’t consider the relativity of tragedy when it breaks.”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When it happens to you, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When it Happens to You (Hardcover)
An easy read but enjoyable novel. Found myself looking forward to picking up the book for the next story within the novel. I liked the concept of telling the story of characters who were in the periphery of previous stories. Would recommend as a light holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good debut, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story and characters,I like how she writes about human interaction.quirky and very readable,makes you look at your own life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 11 Aug 2013
Interesting characters you can relate to, both main and side characters alike. Believable love story with an unpredictable ending. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 4 April 2013
By 
This book is so much more than I expected from a debutant. The characters are very realistic, the stories are well written and their focus on fidelity brings out some realistic issues that make it easy for the reader to feel for the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read. Once I started I couldn't put it down., 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tells the story of the couple really well and realistically. Loved how all the characters had their own stories too. Would highly recommend this book and can't wait to read more from Molly Ringwald.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just loved it, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
8 short pieces that could be read independently but lightly layer up to give a great multi-angled story. This narrative really added to the building up of the characters and a wide insight into their actions and the outcomes. Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When it Happens to You
When it Happens to You by Molly Ringwald (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews