Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, John Sandford
I have read all of John Sandfords books about Lucas davenport and Virgil Flowers. So far 28 books. I have never tried his series about Kidd so I cant compare to that one. Sandford is a great writer. Not only does he take a number of almost ordinary crimes and make a mystery out of that but the people in his books are for the bad guys believable and for the good ones...
Published 22 months ago by Strv 74

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flows well,
This is a good read, though I don't agree with others that there are twists and turns. The story follows two young people and a hanger-on, who go on a shooting spree. Their attitude and that of Virgil Flowers while he attempts to catch them and bring them to justice is the basis of this book. Virgil's struggle to ensure his colleagues do things his way makes this...
Published 7 months ago by Paper Puppy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, John Sandford, 13 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad River (Virgil Flowers 6) (Hardcover)
I have read all of John Sandfords books about Lucas davenport and Virgil Flowers. So far 28 books. I have never tried his series about Kidd so I cant compare to that one. Sandford is a great writer. Not only does he take a number of almost ordinary crimes and make a mystery out of that but the people in his books are for the bad guys believable and for the good ones people you like without any exaggerations.

This book is about Virgil Flowers again. He has to deal with a number of crazy teenagers that for some reason just kill people and then start to run. Maybe there are to many killings but each one of them is explained in a logical way. We get to follow Virgil in his hunt for these killers but also his dealings with the media and the woman he always wanted to have. It is a very nice ride, a lot of humor but also a lot of police work and horror details. The ending is a surprise but also a nice change to the usual type of ending where everyone gets caught and punished.

Two days of easy reading and you will think that was well spent time. I look forward to the next Virgil Flowers adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madly Brillant, 26 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Mad River (Virgil Flowers 6) (Hardcover)
This must be just about the most perfect Sandford yet. It is wonderfully and faultlessly constructed. A great gun fighting frolic through Minnesota with Virgil Flowers always in pursuit. Tremendous narrative with the usual fabulous Sandford ear for dialogue. I thin the Flowers series just gets better and batter. Davenport better watch out or Flowers will become the main man. There's so much scope here for Sandford and he's now at the top of his game. Simply can't wait for the next Prey novel or Flowers book. If you enjoy police procedural novels with style and writing brilliance then John Sandford is your man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flows well,, 19 Feb 2014
This review is from: Mad River (Paperback)
This is a good read, though I don't agree with others that there are twists and turns. The story follows two young people and a hanger-on, who go on a shooting spree. Their attitude and that of Virgil Flowers while he attempts to catch them and bring them to justice is the basis of this book. Virgil's struggle to ensure his colleagues do things his way makes this interesting. We are taken along on a ride that makes us wonder about the American justice system.
For me, the writing comes over a little too much as giving information rather than letting the reader 'see' the story. And the ending gave me the impression that Sandford wanted to finish and looked around for a suitable ending. It was too abrupt and didn't quite fit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyable Tale, 18 Oct 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mad River (Virgil Flowers 6) (Hardcover)
If you love a crime thriller then you must have surely taken time to read John Sandford. No? Well to be honest neither had I until this title landed and to be honest whilst it was a slow starter I really got behind the lead character Virgil Flowers. He's definitely a one off and the way that the author weaves the tale really brings it out into something unique.

Add to this a solid set of twists, logical steps as our hero seeks to catch his prey and when backed with some wonderful turns of phrase and a no nonsense point of view really keeps you hooked to the final page. All in definitely an author I'm pleased to have discovered and one that I'll be embarking on further adventures with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad River (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book, Virgil Flowers makes good reading and entertainment. I am a steady fan of John Sandford. He is one of the best writers around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad River (Paperback)
Good story. Reasonable quality condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sandford is always a good read..., 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad River (Kindle Edition)
... but I didn't enjoy this as much as most of his other Prey and Flowers novels. Still a better read than most writers, but whereas most of his stories are about fifty per cent the criminals fifty per cent the hero (whether Lucas or Virgil), this one seemed to be more a True Crime Recount of the criminals, with Virgil not doing much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mad River, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad River (Kindle Edition)
A very good story, well-plotted and with well-drawn characters. The main character is Virgil Flowers, though Lucas Davenport makes the occasional appearance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The MAN does no wrong, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad River (Paperback)
Top quality writing, does for Minnesota what CSI did for Vegas. Top U.S. writer in this genre, miss this and you miss a real humdinger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad River (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. I've always like the Davenport stories but Flowers is another good character and I look forward to reading more. Took this on holiday and finished it in two days - easy and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad River (Virgil Flowers 6)
Mad River (Virgil Flowers 6) by John Sandford (Hardcover - 11 Oct 2012)
16.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews