Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read
I thoroughly enjoyed this read. Aldridge had to learn the art of aiming a torpedo as he fought the battle! In developing that skill he helped to influence events in the Mediterranean in the crucial months of July around the siege of Malta. As the casualty rate of these costal command squadrons was so high there aren't as many books about their achievements. His comments...
Published 23 months ago by Big Dud

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the recollections of his former colleague which gave the ...
I too was taught by AA. His story is well told and although he had some clear advantages in his background and officer status there can be no doubting his understated courage. I enjoyed the recollections of his former colleague which gave the book a better "social" balance than it might otherwise have had. I salute a quiet hero!
Published 5 months ago by The Shipton Recorder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 29 May 2013
By 
I thoroughly enjoyed this read. Aldridge had to learn the art of aiming a torpedo as he fought the battle! In developing that skill he helped to influence events in the Mediterranean in the crucial months of July around the siege of Malta. As the casualty rate of these costal command squadrons was so high there aren't as many books about their achievements. His comments regarding Gibbs are also very interesting.
The comments from the non commissioned gunner on board gives the book a delightful social balance to the portrayal of events.
You should read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent combination by former teacher and pupil!, 9 Feb. 2014
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Last Torpedo Flyers: The True Story of Arthur Aldridge, Hero of the Skies (Hardcover)
In 1940, at the age of 19, Arthur Aldridge quit Oxford and promptly joined the RAF. After pilot training he was assigned to the Bristol Beaufort which were equipped with torpedoes and bombs. Over the following two years this man saw far more than his fair share of active service and, today, he and his former gunner Bill Carroll are two of the last remaining Torpedo Flyers still alive. During that service, Aldridge received his first DFC for continuing the attack on the German cargo ship SS Madrid, was equally lucky to survive the attack on those German warships during the famous `Channel Dash' - in which 40 RAF aircraft were shot down, and earned his second DFC in the defence of Malta where he sank two enemy ships and rescued a fellow wounded pilot whilst under heavy fire. He is also the man who finally sank the Reichenfels and, in so doing, made a significant difference to the war in North Africa!

Those, however, are just the headlines to his war service which included far more than his own fair share of action.

The book itself is carefully divided into 24 chapters which take the reader on a fascinating roller-coaster ride of excitement from beginning to end. These, however, are preceded by a Prologue in which the action commences immediately with an example of what this particular life at war was really like. I shall not enlarge on those chapters - except to say that it was the RAF's Bristol Beaufort Torpedo Bombers which were given missions so dangerous they were actually likened to the `Kamikaze' - with many aircrew entering their aircraft certain they would not return.

Little wonder Aldridge makes the poignant - and very understanding, comment; "Only the names of those who had come off flying due to the strain and horror of war have been changed. None will receive condemnation or judgement here."

And that is another way of saying; if you haven't lived through it, you cannot possibly understand it!

Altogether, I found the work to be of the highest possible calibre. It is a very personal story which is well told without portraying the main subject as a hero but instead as an ordinary man simply doing his job. Well supported with a collection of 24 historic B&W glossy photographs placed together in the middle of the book, I was pleased to see he had included his wife of 63 years...

After leaving the RAF, Arthur Aldridge became a teacher at a boys' school in Worcester. Mark Ryan - who is a critically acclaimed author of biographies, was once one of his pupils. This collaboration is an excellent combination of their respective skills in which they provide an illuminating and very readable insight into yet another aspect of WW2.

Fully recommended.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential read for anyone interested in WW2 history; really well written - fills a major gap in the RAF story. Buy this book!, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr Aldridge has made a major contribution to the WW2 RAF story. Many have heard the story of Malta, and others know that the Italian fleet was neutralized. This book is written by one of the key players in this deadly campaign. I heard a Radio 4 interview with the author, and got the book immediately. My own father flew in these same aircraft for a time - in a different squadron, out of Leuchars, following up the "Shetland Bus" to Norway (see David Howarth's excellent book) - and was shot down once. So I had an idea the Torpedo Flyers had a hard time. But the opening scene of this book sets the scene - where 3 of Mr Aldridge's colleagues go down in flames in front of his eyes during a routine raid. The book has excellent technical detail, but what sets this apart for me is the blunt discussion of the fear felt by aircrew in the Torpedo planes (with their very low survival rates) and Mr Aldridge's poor opinion of the RAF tag "lack of moral fibre" stuck on to those who could not go on any longer. It was also interesting to read about the failed attempt to torpedo "Scharnhorst" during her famous Channel dash; my father said he was pleased in one way that no-one could find the German convoy - as the chance of survival was virtually nil. Now we know how these Battleships escaped detection. Mr Aldridge also explains why he & many of his colleagues were not eager to talk about their experiences - clearly they felt guilty about surviving when many that they regarded highly did not. The real heroes were those who died rather than the lucky ones who did not. As you would expect from an Oxford-educated man who became a teacher after WW2, this book is really well written - and gives you the feeling of being there with them. Only one comment; in the radio interview, Mr Aldridge described a Catalina depth-charging a U Boat in the middle of an Allied convoy during the Atlantic Battle - and coming under fire from British & US ships. A pity this story was not in the book - as it illustrated the reality so well; lets hope there will be a sequel. In the meantime, savour this excellent volume. Manxman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What my French master did in the war, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Torpedo Flyers: The True Story of Arthur Aldridge, Hero of the Skies (Hardcover)
"Mr Aldridge" taught me French at King's School, Worcester in the 1970s. We knew he had flown bravely during the war, but little did we guess how bravely. This is a book which brings the war to life (or perhaps "death" would be a more appropriate word) more than any other book I have read. Rather like Anouilh's "Antigone", a set book for A level which I studied under AFA, he has a calmness about him in the face of a death rate of 80% for torpedo flyers, based on acceptance of what seemed his inevitable demise. That calmness enabled him to think clearly in desperately dangerous situations, to carry out acts that were vital for his country and to bring him and his crew home alive. It all goes to underscore that it is not events that shape one's life and achievements, but how one reacts to them. Thanks "Mr Aldridge".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating, moving and humbling read, 17 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Last Torpedo Flyers: The True Story of Arthur Aldridge, Hero of the Skies (Hardcover)
A beautifully constructed account of some staggering war-time heroics. These stories need to be told and told in just this sort of style- first-hand accounts with no embellishment or artificial dramatisation. The modest, matter-of-fact tone and conversational style draws the reader in and emphasises the reality of what is being said. A fascinating and humbling book which should be read by anyone with even a passing interest in aviation, war-time history or just life in general!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of history that deserves to be better known, 6 July 2013
By 
P. COLWILL (Worcestershire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Torpedo Flyers: The True Story of Arthur Aldridge, Hero of the Skies (Hardcover)
Attracted to this book as the author lives locally. Starts off with early life, with a lot of cricket and study at Oxford which can become tedious in many such books. Not so this one in my opinion, and certainly first two thirds read almost like a novel; except its true.
Co author Mark Ryan has very skilfully entwined historical records like squadron Operational Record Books with Mr Aldridge s story in a manner which knocks spots off many similar works, and interspersed by recall from the crews gunner, which gives a different viewpoint on many of the topics. The two seem like chalk and cheese but are apparently life long friends, and both aspects come over very well.
Mr Aldridge s service on the Beaufort torpedo bomber incredibly includes action in the Uk, against german capital ships culminating in participation in the Channel Dash fiasco. Posting to Malta follows during which he torpedoed an Italian Cruiser and sank a German freighter. AND survived an absolutely horrendous campaign which very few of his contemporaries did. Many little asides about some of the "better known"characters give fascinating insights, especially as Mr Aldridge and his gunner often have diverse opinions.
The story then moves to Ceylon to await the japanese, who of course fortunately never arrived. This last bit is of interest but meanders slightly and perhaps overlong but this maybe just reaction to the pace and story of what goes before.
So well done Aldridge and Ryan, a very enjoyable read and a fabulous personnel record of a piece of history which deserves to be recorded and better known. Probably the most dangerous part of the RAF to have been in.
Thank you Arthur Aldridge for this book and for what you did ............Enjoyable read, fascinating and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hero`s all., 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic , the courage of those brave men has to be admired. Knowing that the missions were mostly suicide and then to go out and complete the job deserves the thanks & admiration of the whole nation. We must never forget what they did for this country against a Nazi monster. Also remember that not all Germans were in favour of the Nazis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Torpedo Flyers: The True Story of Arthur Aldridge, Hero of the Skies, 16 Mar. 2014
By 
Michael Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Torpedo Flyers: The True Story of Arthur Aldridge, Hero of the Skies (Hardcover)
I purchased this book for myself at Christmas after learning that my other half had bought me another pair of slippers,i felt i needed something a little more exciting and this book hits all the main cords for me. Its Truly amazing.We all have a bad day at the office sometimes so i would urge you to purchase this book. I am trying to imagine going into a full charge on a ship,because thats what it was "a charge" and adjusting your speed, Height and angle of attack whilst you are presenting the perfect target for them as they throw everything at you after just witnessing your friends catch fire and cartwheel into the sea in front of you with whom you were enjoying a pint of beer with the evening before. Incredible bravery.Probably the most enthralling book i have ever read. Absolutely great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reluctant Hero, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Torpedo Flyers: The True Story of Arthur Aldridge, Hero of the Skies (Hardcover)
I bought this book partly, as like one of the other reviewers, I was taught at school by Mr Aldridge. The man in the book is how I remember him from the 1970s, calm, modest, laid back and a Gentleman. Having read the book it seems likely that these characteristics may have helped him stay alive in the face of huge dangers and almost unimaginable risk. (along with luck and fate). The book is very much a human story about Mr Aldridge and the men in his squadron, who were probably all volunteers, where dying became a very likely outcome and a normality to be lived with. The book is a fascinating read and we should be grateful that at last, 70 years after events, this story has been told. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book of the year, 16 July 2013
By 
Mr. David A. Darkin (Cornwall England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Torpedo Flyers: The True Story of Arthur Aldridge, Hero of the Skies (Hardcover)
I received the book from amazon on time and just the flyleaf looked very interesting. Once I started to read it I thought I was I the cockpit with the pilot, I just could not put it down. Any one who is interested in WW2 aviation I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Torpedo Flyers: The True Story of Arthur Aldridge, Hero of the Skies
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews