Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it in a day!
I loved this book so much, I read it in a day. The stories and letters were truly moving and it gave you a really sense of what people separated by war have to suffer.
I found myself crying on a number of occasions and while reading the stories hoping and praying that the person served and found true love and happiness.
Published 12 months ago by Leigh

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great selection let down by poor printing quality
Dont let the cover fool you, the publisher has decided to use VERY poor quality paper in this book, so that the reproduction of letters and photographs is grainy and difficult to appreciate. Also, the running heads are incorrect in the final third of the book. Disappointing.
Published 16 months ago by L. Mcfarlane


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it in a day!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book so much, I read it in a day. The stories and letters were truly moving and it gave you a really sense of what people separated by war have to suffer.
I found myself crying on a number of occasions and while reading the stories hoping and praying that the person served and found true love and happiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great selection let down by poor printing quality, 21 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wives and Sweethearts: Love Letters Sent During Wartime (Hardcover)
Dont let the cover fool you, the publisher has decided to use VERY poor quality paper in this book, so that the reproduction of letters and photographs is grainy and difficult to appreciate. Also, the running heads are incorrect in the final third of the book. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soldiers in love, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wives and Sweethearts: Love Letters Sent During Wartime (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book. The carefully selected letters capture lives, attitudes and relationships during the two world wars and the writers become very real to us. The letters are amazing - moving and personal - and I especially liked the fact that we can see contemporary photos and also got an update on how the relationships progressed after the war. I fell a little in love with Len from his letters and was pleased that he and Susan had a long and happy marriage. There are also coloured plates showing postcards, posters, propaganda material and photos from that time which make this a lovely book to dip into and to study to make these years come alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. Lovely stories from both world wars. I never knew that service men could be so romantic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Off the beaten track, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wives and Sweethearts: Love Letters Sent During Wartime (Hardcover)
A splendid book dealing well with an unusual but important subject.

Genuine historical documents from both World Wars, at a very personal level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Made me cry - wonderfrul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wives and Sweethearts: Love Letters Sent During Wartime
Wives and Sweethearts: Love Letters Sent During Wartime by Alastair Massie (Hardcover - 30 Jan. 2014)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews