Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it like a fat kid loves ice cream...
I have been putting off making ice cream for ages as i couldn't find a book that could guide me through the entire process... Do i need a machine? do i have to churn? and most of all how can i make ice cream that will taste like nothing in the shops?

This is a superb book for a beginner like myself in that it explains, in a clear, friendly way, the differences...
Published on 15 April 2013 by toast

versus
1 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not very good
I dont like any recipe in this book ,i bought with great hope ,iam sad to say i was very let down
Published on 4 May 2013 by Mrs Orvitz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it like a fat kid loves ice cream..., 15 April 2013
By 
toast (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt (Hardcover)
I have been putting off making ice cream for ages as i couldn't find a book that could guide me through the entire process... Do i need a machine? do i have to churn? and most of all how can i make ice cream that will taste like nothing in the shops?

This is a superb book for a beginner like myself in that it explains, in a clear, friendly way, the differences in the methods of making ice cream as well as clearly labelling the recipes that don't require churning.

The book starts with the super simple classics like strawberry and chocolate before opening up into recipes such as marmalade on toast and sloe gin fizz.

Its also not just ice cream, a 'supporting cast' at the end of the book has recipes for easy doughnuts, basic waffles and the phenomenal sounding 'French Elvis' amongst others.

The book works on many different levels; from informing you of ice cream making process through to providing recipes but also in providing inspiration for the reader for other flavours or techniques that might work. Most of all though, its all written in a friendly relaxed style that never intimidates.

This is fast becoming my favourite book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gastroporn at its best., 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt (Hardcover)
The author sells her ice cream from an ice cream van called 'Gingers Comfort Emporium' which to me sounds like a high class New Orleans brothel and the sinful concoctions within this book don't do anything to dispel this image. Beautifuuly laid out with easy to follow recipes. Most of them are very simple and easy to adapt to your own tastes. Tried 'Salted caramel and peanut butter' and 'Guinness and gingerbread' and both have turned out great.I used a Cuisinart Professional Ice Cream Maker which worked fine and was easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great inspiration for ice cream making, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt (Hardcover)
I have been making home made ice cream for many years, but felt that I had somehow got a bit stuck doing the same recipes over and over. Needing some new inspiration, I stumbled over a reference to this book in BBC's GoodFood Magazine, and ordered it immediately. It certainly lives up to expectations: great, mouthwatering pictures, easy-to-follow recipes (well, at least the 5 I have tried so far were) and good results with lots of excellent new ideas for flavour combinations. I particularly enjoyed the melon & chili ice cream (which is completely vegan, by the way) using cashews for fat and creaminess, and the brilliantly simple "Dark & Stormy" ice cream with stem ginger, rum and lime, but I am sure there are plenty more hits waiting for me in there!

If you have an ice cream maker, by all means, buy the book. If you don't, have a look at it anyway - many of the recipes can be made in a regular freezer with quite good results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ICE CREAM EXPERIENCE, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt (Hardcover)
This is the best recipe book I have ever bought. It is full of exciting, unusual, mouthwatering and easy to follow recipes, lots of information and colourful pictures. If you love ice cream then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it just for the Peanut Butter and Salted Caramel, 7 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Melt (Hardcover)
Bought the book on the strength of a newspaper article about Claire Kelsey and how she setup the business.

First attempt was the Salted Caramel and Peanut Butter ice cream, which, if you're a Peanut Butter addict like my wife, is the Ice Cream equivalent of heaven. Even if you don't especially like Peanut butter, it is absolutely delicious. This particular recipe needs churning in an ice cream machine; we have a Phillips Delizia which was bought for us as a present many years ago and had been gathering dust after we got fed-up with the few recipes we'd tried from the handbook that came with the machine.

The only problem we had with the PB&SC was getting the ice cream to freeze - the Phillips uses a tub which you must pre-freeze, rather than a proper compressor and, on the hottest day of 2013, it didn't quite have the oomph to freeze it. Maybe next time make the ice cream when it isn't 30+ degrees C !

Second attempt was the Mojito Ice Cream - this is much simpler, just Cream, Bacardi, Mint, Lime and a little sugar. It is also a non-churn recipe, meaning you can mix it and stick it straight in the freezer without the need of an ice cream machine. I think I whipped the mixture a little too much, as it ended up as blocks of very solid frozen cream with completely the wrong texture.

Undaunted, we're trying to decide which recipe to make next and I'm considering putting a "proper" ice cream machine on my xmas list.

Some of the ingredients are a little odd, but there is a list of places to buy them at the end of the book - if Claire wanted to make some more income, perhaps she should setup an amazon/ebay store reselling the complete set of the "unusual" ingredients for some of the recipes in single ice cream batches - it would be easier than buying from all the different sellers, where you'd have to buy much bigger quantities of the ingredients, with postage costs etc. only to find that you didn't like that particular flavour.

While I think about it, I also bought some "soap" moulds from [...] which are ideal for making individual mini-blocks of ice cream which are the perfect size to pop-out of the mould and stick between two wafers - dishing up ice-cream has never been easier....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please Judge This Book by it's Beautiful Cover!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt (Hardcover)
Adorable book inside and out. Mouth watering recipes, and amazing photography. truly inspirational.
Would make the perfect gift for Mums, Sisters, Grandmas and girlfriends... I've already got another two on order!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem of Book... unique & delicious recipes, 9 May 2013
This review is from: Melt (Hardcover)
Such a gem of a book. Original recipes with great ideas, and easy to follow tips. Opens up the world of ice cream making for the everyday kitchen. It's even got my teen son interested in creating something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow recipes, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melt (Hardcover)
This is a very enticing recipe book. All of the ideas are achievable, even in my humble, poorly stocked kitchen. My favourite is 'Marmalade on Toast' which I knocked up in my simple kitchen at home without any palaver whatsoever. The whole family enjoyed scoffing the lot.
Great photos make every recipe stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Cream, Ice Cream we all say Ice Cream, 8 May 2013
This review is from: Melt (Hardcover)
Bought this book a little while ago and despite the cold weather have already made four of the recipes...Easy to follow, the yummiest ice creams I have ever tasted... I'm even inspired to buy a gym bike for two reasons, one to churn my own and one to work off the calories once I've made them all....!!! Yummy scrummy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original thinking, 22 May 2013
This review is from: Melt (Hardcover)
Original thinking in her recipes with an good eye for what works in a flavour (no doubt thanks to plenty of grafting in her van!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melt
Melt by Claire Kelsey (Hardcover - 11 April 2013)
£15.90
Usually dispatched within 9 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews