Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic xxx
Okay, I am going to admit something very shameful here - This is my first Rebecca Chance book. But less than ten pages in I was literally screaming at myself "Where have I been and how have I not tried this author before?!"

Rebecca Chance effortlessly writes a book that has the reader gripped from the first few pages. I was completely hooked to the story,...
Published on 2 Dec. 2012 by Megan ReadingInTheSunshine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Christmas Read
Thank you to Isabel at Simon & Schuster who kindly sent a box full of Rebecca Chance books. I took the ones I hadn’t read yet and at my Mum’s 50th, we auctioned them off and gave the money to Breast Cancer.

The plot opens with Melody: a beautiful actress whose career hasn’t taken the wrong turn. After changing her looks to suit the media,...
Published 8 months ago by EmmaLouBookBlog


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic xxx, 2 Dec. 2012
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Angels (Paperback)
Okay, I am going to admit something very shameful here - This is my first Rebecca Chance book. But less than ten pages in I was literally screaming at myself "Where have I been and how have I not tried this author before?!"

Rebecca Chance effortlessly writes a book that has the reader gripped from the first few pages. I was completely hooked to the story, nobody could drag me away from it! I even took to carrying the book everywhere with me in case I had a few moments to fit in a few pages of reading, and I was staying up late at night in bed glued to the words! Wow.

The characters are brilliantly written. Rebecca Chance writes each character with so much depth and personality that they all spring to life. The amount of detail given to every character was perfect as I could clearly see them all in my mind, and it made the story so much more enjoyable as I could picture every single scene and got lost in the story. I don't want to say too much about the characters or storyline as I don't want to give anything away, but the writing is fantastic, the story is fast-paced and at the end I felt like I had been on the most thrilling ride of my life.

Bad Angels has everything you could want in a bonkbuster. There's a lot of sex, and I mean loads! Drop your 50 Shades of Grey and pick up this book immediately, because the sex scenes in this book are a whole lot sexier and steamier, trust me! In Bad Angels we are also given lots of glamour, celebrities, a gripping storyline and scandal - Perfect for readers who want to sit down and escape into their books for many glorious hours! As for me, I'm now off to purchase Rebecca's other books! This book is fun, it is saucy, it is dangerous and it is steamy - a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glittering Christmas treat, 18 Feb. 2013
By 
Trish23 (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Angels (Paperback)
I've never really taken to 'Bonkbusters'. It's not the bonking that's the issue - the more of that there is the merrier. It's because usually the characters in them are deeply unpleasant and unlikeable, the plots tend to centre on money & business and most importantly, while there's lots of sex there's little or no romance. Nevertheless, having seen lots of really good reviews for Bad Angels I chose it to read at Christmas.
Wow! I loved it. In the first few chapters we're introduced to a lot of people but they were all so vividly written that they were instantly distinct and felt familiar. Melody, the young actress who's been chewed up and spat out by Hollywood was a character I wouldn't have expected to like but I was instantly sympathetic and on her side. Aniela was wonderful - it was so nice to have a heroine with so much common sense and no neuroses; Jon must be the sweetest trained killer ever to grace a Rom-Com. Concierge Andy was also lovely and the book's own Spirit of Christmas.
I loved all three romances though I think Aniela and Jon's story was my favourite. Seeing two such practical, useful, essentially unromantic people fall head over heels was wonderful.
I loved the Christmas setting. The book perfectly captures the feeling of suspended animation, of life on hold, that happens between Christmas and new year which in turn reflects transitional periods in the lives of the characters.

This book really had everything. It was romantic, there was sizzling sex, it was funny and over the top. It was written with a real affection and warmth for all the characters and the Christmas setting was just the icing on the cake.

I wish more chicklit was like this. Sadly these days it seems the only things that many chicklit writers get excited about are buns...sorry, 'cupcakes'. Rebecca Chance was like a breath of fresh air and in over 500 pages not a single iced fairly cake was consumed.
Recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very naughty but nice!, 3 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Bad Angels (Paperback)
Bad Angels is another naughty but nice read from Rebecca Chance. Set over Christmas and New Year, Bad Angels is full of the excitement and joy of the season, courtesy of Khalovsky and Limehouse Reach's concierge, Andy. Khalovsky is like an overgrown kid as he enlists Andy, who equally enjoys everything about Christmas, to transform the place into a winter wonderland with over sized trees, wreaths and a railway track to transport his guests' children around his vast apartment. I loved their energy and enthusiasm as they tried to engage those around them in the festivities.

But Bad Angels isn't your typical fun festive read as Dasha Khalovsky goes on the rampage, plotting revenge and murder. I spent most of the book switches allegiances with Dasha. To begin with I thought she was a wonderful pantomime villainous bitch - witty, vengeful and used to getting what she wants but it soon transpired she was ruthless and more than a little unhinged. As mad as Dasha is, she creates some brilliant action packed chapters towards the end of the book.

One of my favourite characters was the concierge, Andy. He is introduced quite gently to begin with as he helps Khalovsky transform Limehouse Reach for Christmas but I was pleased when he featured more and more and ended up with his own storyline. Alongside the elaborately rich and famous, Andy is normal and down to earth and, most important of all, secure in who he is. The one-sided rivalry between Andy and Khalovsky's PA, Sergei, was very amusing.

I also really enjoyed Jon and Aniela's storyline and their blossoming relationship is rather sweet once you get past the rampant bedroom antics! Although Andy, Jon and Aniela's stories were my favourite, I didn't find any of the storylines or characters weak and enjoyed them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VERY bad angels in a very good book!, 1 Dec. 2012
By 
Chloe S "Chick Lit Chloe" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bad Angels (Paperback)
Melody is an actress whose last movie bombed after her ridiculous plastic surgery. Thanks to that, she's also lost her beloved boyfriend too, and now she's determined to get back both her career and the love of her life. This has meant trying to get the old Melody back, and she's now held up in Limehouse Wharf recuperating from yet more surgery. Joining her is Jon Jordan, an assassin who is trying to change himself for the better. He's in hiding and determined not to be found, but can a man with a price on his head ever hide for good? Looking after them is nurse Aniela, someone who is very good at her job. But Aniela doesn't count on falling for one of her clients, something that's never happened before. The last resident left at Christmas is Russian oligarch Grigor who happens to love and embrace Christmas more than any of the other residents. What festive treats are in store for the Limehouse Wharf residents courtesy of not only Grigor, but other people hiding in the background too?

I have to say this book is a huge breakaway from any of Chance's other books I have read to date. While there is the usual cast of larger than life characters, and naughty scenes thrown in for good measure, this book had overtones of a thriller about it due to the scenes with the character of Jon and things that happen as the book develops. I found myself getting really involved in the book, and it was a very exciting read in parts that I really enjoyed. It wasn't at all what I expected from the cover and the blurb, but it definitely made it more interesting to read, and I think Chance certainly did the scenes justice. It seemed believable as I was reading it, and I think Jon was my favourite character in the entire book, there was something so likeable about him, he was a bit of an enigma and I just wanted to know what made him tick!

Chance also gives plenty of page time to the other mini stories going on throughout the book as well. Melody, the actress, had a good enough story about her career and the consequence that too much plastic surgery had on her life in all ways, and while I liked this story, it didn't quite seem as good as the one involving Jon and Aniela, I wasn't quite as drawn in to it, I did find her a little whiny at times! She seemed a bit too easily led for my liking as well. Finally, there's Russian gazillionaire Grigor, and the building's doorman Andy, who provide a bit of light entertainment for the reader. I enjoyed these two as they made me smile, and certainly added new dimensions to the book... Andy in ways I had never expected! The cast though are all well written, and make for good reading.

I really loved Chance's lavish descriptions of Limehouse Wharf and the luxury that the guests are treated to when they are there. Grigor's apartment in particular sounded quite grotesque and OTT, but it seemed to suit his character! Even though the book is basically set in one place, it doesn't feel too stagnant at any points, and the flashbacks to the characters lives before they set foot in Limehouse keep it fresh, and I enjoyed getting to know the characters slowly in this way, this worked especially well for Jon. As you'd expect in Chance's books, there is quite a fwe sex scenes in the book, and they are quite explicit, so if that isn't your kind of thing, then this book isn't for you! They're scattered throughout the book, and there's a few scenes that I found quite surprising, and didn't expect, although I wasn't too bothered by them, I feel some readers may be so do exercise a bit of caution when reading.

I really enjoyed this book, and found myself whizzing through it quickly once I was into the story. I liked the characters, and found that the addition of an exciting character like Jon really upped the level of the book, and made it stand out for me amongst all the other festive books I've read this year. I liked how the Christmas mentions were scattered throughout the book, from mentions of trees and wreaths, to the huge Christmas parties that Grigor throws... there's certainly a good splash of festive spirit in there! It was a thrilling read, with a plot that surprised me and had me glued to the pages, simply to find out what was going to happen next to this crazy cast of characters! I'd definitely recommend this for Chance's fans, and for new ones too, it's certainly an eye-opening read, and I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an "unputdownable" sexy Festive treat!, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Angels (Paperback)
This is the 4th Rebecca Chance book I've read. I've enjoyed reading her other titles on holiday as they're perfect beach reads, but I saved this one until winter as it has a Christmas theme. I love novels that are based on two or three main characters and dip into each person's story before they all come together for a sizzling climax. What I liked most about "Bad Angels" was that the plot combines a mixture of mystery and suspense, off-the-scale glamour, romance and plenty of naughty bits, and just the right amount of comedy. The way it's written, you can easily picture exactly what the characters look like as you get to know them, they are believable and likeable - even the baddies! Each character has their own love story and their own demons to overcome. I can't write much more without it turning into a spoiler, go on and buy it if you love a doorstep "bonkbuster" you won't be disappointed. I devoured this in a few evenings and eagerly await the next Rebecca Chance novel to be published (hurry up please!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Angels (Kindle Edition)
Read this at the same time of year as the book was set ie at Christmas time and is pure escapism. Is a total chick lit book though have been told I need to get Bad Sisters by the same author so that may be my next purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Angels (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed. A modern, well written storyline. It has a few erotic scenes. Good to take on holiday. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of hot sex, plenty of glamour and action, and much more..., 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Angels (Kindle Edition)
This is an action-packed bonkbuster and the guys are fit and ripped, the sex is hot, heavy, frequent and varied, and yay for that! But Bad Angels is much more. It has the signature qualities of Rebecca Chance books like her previous Killer Heels which make it a bonkbuster with value added. I've never bothered with other writers of the genre before as the characters always seemed vacuous and boring. However Rebecca Chance creates a range of characters with many types of backstory and body shape, with wishes, dreams, fears and failings, so that we care about what happens to them and can identify with them, following them into outlandish experiences and settings, and either cheering them on, or desperate to see them get their comeuppance. We get bitchy crazy villainesses and larger than life bad guys, but we also get human stories amid the affluence - characters from all walks of life, sexual preferences, and levels of society. Chance isn't scared to go into territory from which the fashion world she seems to know so well would run screaming: as well as skinny celebs, both likeable and unspeakable, there are all sorts of taboos of the genre shattered far and wide. Read it and you'll see! As in Killer Heels, too, crime is part of the rich and sensuous mix. No spoilers here so I'll say no more about that... A fine balance of moneyed fantasy, crime, believable emotions, comedy and truly hectic action both sexual and otherwise is kept by quite simply good writing, pacy, tight, and well-constructed. There is a sharp intelligence observing this incredibly wealthy fantasy world, and a subtle underlying warmth and sense of ultimate values which shines through. Rather like Arnold Bennett, the author seems to love her characters, which makes it easy for us to engage with them, and makes this book with its bizarre Christmas setting a truly festive feast for the senses. And unlike Arnold Bennett, the sex is hot, heavy, frequent and varied... oh I said that before, well it's worth saying twice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprise, Surprise!, 14 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Bad Angels (Paperback)
I don't know why I chose this book, having never heard of Rebecca Chance, but I've got to say it suprised me in many ways. Great characters, with Jon, Aniela and Melody being my favourites. After the first chapter I was all for abandoning the book, however. Not interested in the details of plastic surgery etc., but glad I carried on. The storyline is pacey and the characters really well described. Halfway through the book and I couldn't put it down; skimmed through much of the 'in your face' sex scenes though. Will read this author again. Although I can't imagine anything more engrossing than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Christmas Read, 10 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Bad Angels (Paperback)
Thank you to Isabel at Simon & Schuster who kindly sent a box full of Rebecca Chance books. I took the ones I hadn’t read yet and at my Mum’s 50th, we auctioned them off and gave the money to Breast Cancer.

The plot opens with Melody: a beautiful actress whose career hasn’t taken the wrong turn. After changing her looks to suit the media, she’s just undergone surgery to remove it all. I instantly liked Melody, there was a certain glow around her, one which made me want to read more about her. She was very charismatic despite having a rubbish time. In Melody’s opening chapter, we also meet the kind hearted nurse Aniela. I love reading about the two women and thought that they got off on the right foot. They had a friendship which made me smile.

Perhaps it’s because this book is set around Christmas that I didn’t enjoy it as much. I couldn’t get into the festive period at all. However, at usual Rebecca didn’t disappoint. She’s the Queen of Bonkbusters and this book is jam packed with sex. What I like the most about Rebecca’s sex sections is that she doesn’t make them disgusting. I didn’t feel uncomfortable when reading them.

Towards the ending, the drama was kicked up a notch and it went off with a bang. For me, personally, it was left a little too late and I felt it was slightly rushed towards the closing pages. Other than that, I did enjoy it but in June, I couldn’t get into the Christmas spirit. Perhaps I’ll reread it over the festive holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Angels
Bad Angels by Rebecca Chance (Paperback - 8 Nov. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews