Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and Readable
This is a volume based on Claire Ridgway's many articles and posts on the life and times of Anne Boleyn that were originally published on her website, theanneboleynfiles over a period of some years. It is wonderful to have so many of them in one place like this - as there's nothing quite like having a real book to dip into! The author is a tireless advocate and supporter...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by Nimrod

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-researched
the author clearly cares deeply about Anne Boleyn, and has done extensive research. The problem for me perhaps lies in that it was originally written as a blog, and is therefore more informal and opinionated than I like. Also the author seems obsessed with proving Philippa Gregory wrong, which is not endearing.
Published 7 months ago by Lionel Craddock


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and Readable, 25 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection: The Real Truth about the Tudors: A collection of fascinating articles on Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII and Tudor history (Paperback)
This is a volume based on Claire Ridgway's many articles and posts on the life and times of Anne Boleyn that were originally published on her website, theanneboleynfiles over a period of some years. It is wonderful to have so many of them in one place like this - as there's nothing quite like having a real book to dip into! The author is a tireless advocate and supporter of England's ill-fated queen - the main thrust of her argument having always been that Anne Boleyn herself was innocent of most, if not all, of the extravagant list of charges brought against her by the Council of Henry VIII in 1536. The charm, wit and enthusiasm of the writing and her unique, friendly style has won Claire many friends and supporters on the internet during the time she has been writing on this subject (and on Tudor times generally), and it is not difficult to understand why when reading her work. Recommended for anyone seeking an accessible and readable introduction to the Tudor political and social landscape and especially concerning the six wives of Henry VIII.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-researched, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the author clearly cares deeply about Anne Boleyn, and has done extensive research. The problem for me perhaps lies in that it was originally written as a blog, and is therefore more informal and opinionated than I like. Also the author seems obsessed with proving Philippa Gregory wrong, which is not endearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars In her opinion...., 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It has to be said that this book is an easy read. However it's all just the authors opinions. It's very repetitive and bits seem likeangry rants. It's seems if the opinion of another author or historian differs from the author it must be wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Will we ever know..., 6 Nov 2013
"The Real Truth....." but only as the author sees it; and that does not make her opinion a factual account of Anne Boleyn's life and times. As the author says, often, we may never know etc etc.

The book is quite simply a collection of blogposts from her website, and quotes from other, more academic, reasoning books by, e.g. Eric Ives and Alison Weir.

One more thing. An awful lot of print is dedicated to tearing apart a work of historical fiction, The Other Boleyn Girl" by Phillipa Gregory. That there are questionable actions in the story is well known...but surely to spend forever repeating "it's not so" followed by "!!!!!!!!" lends "The Real Truth" an air of footstamping tirade.

I obtained this book through Kindle for free. Had I paid £8 for it, I, too, would have had a footstamping tirade-but not about Phillipa Gregory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars easy to understand, 23 Feb 2013
By 
T. J. Burdus "Bookworm" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ive managed to finish this book in two days, I found it informative and easy to understand although a little repetative in some places. Its by no means the first book Ive read about Anne and the Boleyns but each one I find out something new as was the case with this book, in fact there were quite a few things Id never come across before. Worth a read definately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How Enjoyable, 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading the facts as seen through the eyes of many renowned historians as well as allowing the reader to make up their own mind about various perceptions of historical novelists. Claire has obviously spent many many hours on her own research and presents the facts without insistence that she is right. I like being treated as an intelligent person able to assimilate information to enable me to make up my own mind about the real truth. Hooray for authors like Claire who make history a subject to be enjoyed. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well recommended, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection: The Real Truth about the Tudors: A collection of fascinating articles on Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII and Tudor history (Paperback)
Thoroughly absorbing and intriguing book with all its anecdotes, I loved the detail and the way the author gets to more of the facts and details, showing your preconceived ideas of Anne Boleyn are fashioned by programmes such as the Tudors or novels like the Other Boleyn girl

Would heartily recommend the book to history buffs or just interested parties, am ordering the other collection for xmas!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating theories & a very interesting read!, 14 Sep 2013
I seriously recommend this book to anyone interested in the life of Anne Boleyn. Very interesting theories throughout. Truly fascinating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK -but......., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like most people,I would like to know what really happened ........... this book spends more time castigating other authors than in telling it like it was!
It is repetitive , repetitive, repetitive with no genuine structure until it comes to the resume of other people involved in her story.
One keeps reading in hope of getting really new information. None is forthcoming in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really pleased with this book, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Anne Boleyn Collection: The Real Truth about the Tudors: A collection of fascinating articles on Anne Boleyn, Henry VIII and Tudor history (Paperback)
The Anne Boleyn Files is a great site to visit and wonderful resource for all things Anne Boleyn. The 'collection' in book form is a brilliant idea making it easy to track down that elusive bit of information without having to search the site itself (mainly because when you start searching for one thing you get diverted by so many other interesting snippets you lose track of time). I love the way Claire's writing comes across, it is more like sitting down with a coffee for a good chat than reading stuffy facts. I like the cover layout and the book format. I am so looking forward to Claire's next offering. I would definitely recommend the Anne Boleyn Collection to anyone interested in the woman herself and all the background shenanigans to her life and death. I would also recommend Claire's site 'the Anne Boleyn Files' online, a great community and place of discovery for Anne 'fans'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews