Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful to anyone who likes Romeo and Juliet
I brought this purely because I love the book/play, and it's a great idea to put both the original and modern day variations side by side. There are a little things in the script that you need to think about to get your head around sometimes (because of the language) which you need to get used to, but the modern translation by the side is very useful in aiding this. It's...
Published 21 months ago by Mel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, but lacks professionalism.
The idea was great, but unfortunately simple grammar mistakes are rife throughout the book - for example in Act 1 Scene V it says "Where's Potpan, that he helps not to take away? he shift a trencher! he scrape a trencher!" forgetting capital letters. It also does not have a new line for each line in the play, nor line numbers making navigation a little harder...
Published 11 months ago by the_mama


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful to anyone who likes Romeo and Juliet, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet In Plain and Simple English: (A Modern Translation and the Original Version) (Paperback)
I brought this purely because I love the book/play, and it's a great idea to put both the original and modern day variations side by side. There are a little things in the script that you need to think about to get your head around sometimes (because of the language) which you need to get used to, but the modern translation by the side is very useful in aiding this. It's also interesting to just read the modern translation to see how it would sound today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, but lacks professionalism., 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet In Plain and Simple English: (A Modern Translation and the Original Version) (Paperback)
The idea was great, but unfortunately simple grammar mistakes are rife throughout the book - for example in Act 1 Scene V it says "Where's Potpan, that he helps not to take away? he shift a trencher! he scrape a trencher!" forgetting capital letters. It also does not have a new line for each line in the play, nor line numbers making navigation a little harder. Finally, it is laid out in a very poor way - simply a table with not ever headers for 'Original Text' and 'Translation'. Overall, it appears as though it was written in a rushed way by one man on Word, not a professional company.

However the text is translated fairly well, and although my confidence shaken by the errors (if they can't get capital letters right, can they get anything else?), it appears all in order and has helped my son in his GCSE exams. I would probably suggest other translation guides if possible, but this will do if necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent study aid., 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet In Plain and Simple English: (A Modern Translation and the Original Version) (Paperback)
This is an essential study aid for any student or teacher studying this play at GCSE. With the tandem soriginal script and modern English version, really helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet In Plain and Simple English: (A Modern Translation and the Original Version) (Paperback)
So helpful for my GCSE! lots of space for annotations and to write any notes around the sides. Line numbers would help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Romeo and Juliet, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet In Plain and Simple English: (A Modern Translation and the Original Version) (Paperback)
My son is doing Romeo and Juliet for his English literature GCSE and as I find Shakespeare heavy going, I bought this and the R&J York Notes book for myself so I could swot up and be able to help him if he needed me to and I could impress him with my Shakespeare knowledge! This book was great. I read it in no time and found it really helpful. Unfortunately he's not asked for my help, on the plus side I'm a Romeo and Juliet expert(ish)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow Shakespeare!, 21 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet In Plain and Simple English: (A Modern Translation and the Original Version) (Paperback)
This very helpful book translates Shakespeare into today's language and has made the learning so very much more fun and clearly understandable.
A must for Shakespeare lovers or just if you fancy finding out what this great romance story is really about
It makes Shakespeare easier to understand and then enjoy more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dyslexia specialist tutor, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have found it really useful with my dyslexic students who find Shakespearean language very difficult and often impossible to understand. The reason for this is that dyslexic students have to use all of their brain capacity to work out what the word says and all comprehension of what they are reading is completely lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work on Kindle, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is supposed to be a parallel text translation. I expected the 2 versions to be on facing pages, but on my kindle the modern version displays first and later on you find the original text. Pretty useless! Also, the original text has no line numbering. Much better versions are available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent delivery service, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet In Plain and Simple English: (A Modern Translation and the Original Version) (Paperback)
delivery extremely quick. brilliant can view book pages on website before ordered. not convinced that this format alone will help my teenager revise successfully so purchased another format as well to follow the plot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommend, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet In Plain and Simple English: (A Modern Translation and the Original Version) (Paperback)
excellent book - very helpful - well worth the investment - made studies far easier and made sense of the play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romeo and Juliet In Plain and Simple English: (A Modern Translation and the Original Version)
£4.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews