Customer Reviews


232 Reviews
5 star:
 (157)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clancy finds his Form
Threat Vector is a bit different from past Clancy books; over the series the story of the Ryan family went from a terrorist attack on his family; to over the course of several books multiple terrorist attacks on his Country. From small battles through Biological War to Ultrawar; and the last two The Bear and the Dragon and The Teeth of the Tiger portrayed a warfare and...
Published on 12 Dec. 2012 by Chris Hoare

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as his original Jack Ryan novels
The book has an interesting plot-line but the development of the plot seems shallow when compared to Clancy's original Jack Ryan novels. There is still a level of detail which gives the feeling of authenticity, but without getting bogged down in too much detail, however the climax of the novel is a bit of anti-climax and my feeling at the end was one of...
Published 17 months ago by P. Haigh


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clancy finds his Form, 12 Dec. 2012
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Threat Vector is a bit different from past Clancy books; over the series the story of the Ryan family went from a terrorist attack on his family; to over the course of several books multiple terrorist attacks on his Country. From small battles through Biological War to Ultrawar; and the last two The Bear and the Dragon and The Teeth of the Tiger portrayed a warfare and battlefield that was different to what we were seeing in Iraq and Afghanistan. Along the way; despite the vast lead character count, the books lost their soul - ceased being about a spy doing small things and became descriptions of how the USA could overpower anyway with its technological prowess.

With the reboot bringing Jack Ryan's Son as a new analyst / operations officer at the blacker than black Hendley Associates; Threat Vector takes us back to spies treading softly; to risks behind every door and to characters living with paranoia. The old faces are there; to the point that the book has a 3 page character list before you get to page 1. At 700 pages I had planned to read 100 a day for a week and make it to the end. I finished in 3 days. The changing scenary; and fast moving situations lead me to chasing down the last 300 pages on the third day. As with all Clancy books there is a lot of setup and a snap finish; but with threat vector he provides a denouement settling the characters down and handing over the baton from Ryan Sr to Jnr.

Threat vector is a vast improvement on the two books above; and provides a great story and look at how a war between technological superpowers might look today. If you like the Clancy of old the combined story with Mark Greaney has much to appreciate here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Threat is Real..., 5 April 2013
By 
Patrick Shepherd "hyperpat" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is as current as the headlines on your daily newspaper, where it seems there is a constant occurrence of this or that bank, business, or federal agency announcing that they have been subjected to some form of computer hacking. And not just by some precocious, unbalanced teenager, but as part of a coordinated, concerted effort by a quasi-military arm of the Chinese government. It is this basic idea that is at the heart of this new installment in the Jack Ryan (Sr. and Jr.) saga.

Why a government would support such activities, given the obvious potential backlash, is, as usual for Clancy, given a very plausible background and reason. In this area this novel approaches the best of earlier Ryan novels, as the divisions and politics within the Chinese government are laid out with some excellent characterization of the major movers within that government, though they probably have no relationship to the real people and power structure that exists in the real world. This starting scenario does take a little while to be developed at the beginning of the book, making this early portion read a little slowly. But when the real action begins, it is near non-stop, all developing very logically from that starting position.

The damage that can be caused by such attacks on a country's computer infrastructure are well detailed, and these items should be paid close attention to, as this threat is very real. How Jack Jr. and his team go about defusing this situation is, unlike some of the other later volumes in this series, full of real suspense, things that don't go off according to plan, and with a little more complex characterization of the major players, with a little more soul-searching and possible faults than has been typical of earlier volumes. As others have mentioned, there are a couple of continuity errors in names and family relationships from what has been presented earlier, but I don't think these harm the book to any large degree.

A much better book than some of the other later volumes in this series, done well enough to once again make me happily anticipate whatever the next installment will bring.

---Reviewed by Patrick Shepherd (hyperpat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Espionage Classic, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a Clancy fan since Red October, and found his style consistantly well researched if tempered with the oddly disconcerting "USA is the best and will always win" attitude. He writes about concerns with international terrorism at the forefront of his mind (quite rightly so). and has quite a knack of choosing subjects that are either current or will be next week.
This new novel is the latest in the `Jack Jr` series, and while highly improbable that the Presidents son would be actively involved in `wet` operations in hostile countries, it all seem to make sense at the time of reading - and this is another page turner.
The premise this time is that the next war will be a cyberwar (note the current concerns by various govenments - including our own - in the news feeds) and it has the potential to bring even the mighty USofA to its knees.
Without spoiling the novel, I would simply say, just read this - and find your own paranoia and comparisons matching his. . . If you like the Broccoli style of James Bomd, this is definately for you. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It be, or not to be, a Tom Clancy novel, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hmmmm, having read 99% of Clancy's novels I find the resurrected Ryanverse novels with Jack junior are sometimes missing that zing, kick or plot within a plot, within a plot trademark style missing.

Read all the earlier Ryanverse novels and it is not until the last twenty or so pages before all the pieces of the jigsaw start falling into place. In the two later ones, these are not a strong. I suppose its Mark Greaney's influence as 848 pages feel like an awful lot of padding.

I for one am glad the Ryanverse novels are back and would buy them as they come out. I just wish they had the kick, zing and style of the earlier ones. I don't expect Jack Ryan (snr) or John Clarke to be running around doing their thing, but they can think with their heads and let junior go out with his mates from the campus and sort the physical stuff out.

Mark Greaney's influence for me has just made what was a light read, even more lighter.

I will still buy further books in the series if they continue to make them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read - quite involving, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Taking the old crew and continuing with their story, albeit the later books are not as good as Clancy's early works, but it amazes me that the authors can still keep coming up with new avenues to explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars built up excitement through the book, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A long slow start , but gradually more and more exciting, and difficult to put down !
Look forward to the next read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting cyber warfare tale., 4 Dec. 2012
By 
J. Lesley "(Judy)" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Have you ever read a book before whose theme just stayed in your mind to such an extent that you found yourself thinking about it long after you had finished reading it? That is what THREAT VECTOR has been for me. Part of the reason is because I recognize that the basic plot ideas here could actually become reality in some form. Could. That is a very important word in that sentence. Another part of the reason this story has stayed in my mind so strongly is that this collaborative effort between Tom Clancy and Mark Greaney has characters who come so vividly alive on the pages that I accept that this just might have actually happened to them. Yes, it is fiction, but it certainly does open up the possibilities of "what if...............".

What if one nation had a secret cyber network in place now which could watch operatives of other governments carry out their missions in startling, minute, real time detail? What if they had unlimited resources to continue to develop their technology to take over the United States, indeed the world, using this cyber warfare? And what if loss of life meant absolutely nothing to them as long as they accomplished their goal? It is the mission of Jack Ryan, Jr. and everyone else at The Campus to find this Chinese government Ghost Ship - the technology center - and destroy it, no matter how impossible the mission may seem. Can everyone survive this mission?

I think this book was incredible. Quite a strong statement and yet, for me, it fits here. I had a love/hate reaction to the main plot because it is hard to face the fact that something like this might actually be possible. In the first sections of the novel some of the details seemed to take a long time to develop, but ultimately I understand the reasons it was necessary. What sets this book apart for me are the vibrant characters and the clever plot threads. There is a really good villain called "Center" whose identity is kept well hidden and a computer nerd with almost rock star status. The good guys - Adam Yao, "Trash", and "Cheese" - along with returning friends from previous adventures feel so real it is hard to accept that they are fictional characters. This novel was a roller coaster thrill ride that kept me reading all day and far into the night. Clear some time and get ready for some pure entertainment before you begin reading this story. If you are like me, you will resent anything that interferes with your reading time.

I received a complimentary copy of this novel for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as his original Jack Ryan novels, 22 Oct. 2013
By 
P. Haigh (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book has an interesting plot-line but the development of the plot seems shallow when compared to Clancy's original Jack Ryan novels. There is still a level of detail which gives the feeling of authenticity, but without getting bogged down in too much detail, however the climax of the novel is a bit of anti-climax and my feeling at the end was one of disappointment.

I see Tom Clancy sadly died recently and I hope he will be remembered for his original novels (a favourite read of the late President Ronald Reagan apparently) and not his later offerings which had started to look formulaic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, detailed, great read, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All in all, it is not bad (I am only half way through though). The trouble is, and I am sure a lot of avid readers also realise, Tom Clancy did not write this (and neither did he write the previous 3 or 4 Jack Ryan series). All of a sudden, Jack Ryan Jr. becomes the first born? I am sure 'Sally' will not like that.

Now that Tom Clancy is no longer amongst us, I wonder what the 'last one', Command Authority would be like. Surely, unless he came back from the grave, there would be no more Jack Ryan.

Still I am sure those publishers will find a way to make money from TC's works (as least in name)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad......, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not bad with some great detail, bit long winded at times. It's definitely worth a read if you're a Tom Clancy fan but it won't bring new readers to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Threat Vector (Jack Ryan Novels)
Threat Vector (Jack Ryan Novels) by Mark Greaney (MP3 CD - 4 Dec. 2012)
£38.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews