Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and down to earth Book
I highly recommend this book as well as many others from the Sears parenting library - They provide down to earth practical advise that gives people the confidence to care for their babies/children in a way that is instinctive, natural and loving.

Reading this book puts you in touch with your gut feelings such as: It is OK to respond to your babies cries by...
Published 18 months ago by PupleTangerine

versus
2 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Arrogant & Presumptuous
I bought this book after reading all the great reviews. I started reading it and had to return it. I want to caution other parents to be who have not actually been pregnant and given birth- do not buy this book! The authors do not bear in mind the fact that not every parent actually gives birth to their child. There are other ways to build your family and if you are one...
Published on 6 May 2013 by AH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and down to earth Book, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I highly recommend this book as well as many others from the Sears parenting library - They provide down to earth practical advise that gives people the confidence to care for their babies/children in a way that is instinctive, natural and loving.

Reading this book puts you in touch with your gut feelings such as: It is OK to respond to your babies cries by picking her/him up, by cuddling, carrying, and by breastfeeding a newborn as many times as you want. You do not need to keep to fixed rigid routines if that does not come naturally to you - or structure your life around on the dot 3 hourly feeds. You do not need to let your baby cry it out or 'Train' him/her to behave in a particular way at such a young age. You can sleep next to your baby if you want to and go about it safely. You do not need to listen to 'advice' that does not feel natural to you. Parenting is a personal choice and everyone is different.

This book does not rigidly tell you how to parent but instead has a very open-mind on many subjects. I highly recommend this to anyone about to have a baby or of course anyone already with a baby - especially those of you who are quite fed up of hearing advice that does not feel right.

The Sears family are the main advocates of 'Attachment Parenting' BUT they are also highly qualified doctors and medical practitioners with a lot of experience - And everything is backed up scientifically. The attachment parenting philosophy is a whole approach/concept to bringing up your child, not a list of things you absolutely must do. Please therefore do not be put off if you feel you do not fit into this philosophy simply because you don't want to carry your baby in a sling everywhere you go or perhaps you don't breastfeed - It doesn't matter - In fact the book has a section called 'Bottle Feeding with Love'.

Although I think it is worth every penny - If the price puts you off then buy an older version of this book (also on Amazon) which may not be so up do date in some areas of detail but the general content, philosophy & chapter headings appear to be pretty much the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you'll need!, 7 Dec. 2013
This book is thorough, complete, and provides valuable advice without being judgemental and without claiming to know your baby or every baby. The authors base their advice on years of experience of medical practice, evidence-based medicine and their experience as parents. This provides a great combination of sources of parenting advice. It contains help with breastfeeding, bottle-feeding, if you're a biological parent, adoptive parent, parent of twins, parent of fussy babies, and even if your baby has special needs, so I don't really know why some comments here say that the book isn't inclusive of non-biological parents. This is THE most inclusive book i've read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really useful book, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is like a bible
there are so many books out there to choose from when pregnant and i feel that this book has been the most honest and helpful
this will also serve well for after the birth when queries will arise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic guide, 12 Aug. 2014
By 
Ms. L. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book which advises and guides rather than dictates. Dr Sears advocates attachment parenting, this text explains why certain things are recommended. Unlike other baby books that I've read, you don't have to follow everything they say, this encouraged me to trust my maternal instincts and ignore the "experts" whose methods I felt uncomfortable with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like it, 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
like this book- useful tips. Better than many other baby books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only baby book you really need, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found (and still do) this book to be invaluable with an excellent, no-nonsense approach to parenting, especially when you have 'helpful' NOT ideas from others about your baby. This covers everything you need to know in enough detail not to bore. It's great for dipping in and out of as your baby develops as well as using as a reference if and when things crop up. I have bought this as a gift for many new mums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very happy with it, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks very impressive. However, was bought as a gift for a new Mum and she said a lot is American and is of a different mindset and theory than is practiced in the UK. Overall, though, very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best guidelines for new parents, 13 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I use this book a lot working with babies and new parents fo years.
These autors - The Sears family - are professionals and a family by experience with a huge spectrum of knowledge and practise collected over many years.
Ongoing learning and adjusting their own opinion - now in their second and third generation - is what I admire most and this combination does not come across that often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Excellent book my oldest daughter and her partner are very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
Lisa (birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS IS BOOK VERY HELP FOR A NEW MUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Baby Book: Everything You Need to Know about Your Baby from Birth to Age Two
Used & New from: £18.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews