Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars220
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 CD|Change
Price:£21.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2013
It's gotten to the point where Mr Koontz needs to take Odd out back a discharge a couple of shotgun shells into him.

I was a massive fan of the Odd books. The 4th was a little shaky, the 5th was shaky and this is as shaky as Parkinsons patient going cold turkey on crack.

I'm starting to hate Mr Odd - the just a simple Fry cook who can see ghosts. He's so judgemental about the world he lives in that he's starting to sound a bit self centered. If Odd was writing about Odd then he wouldn't like himself.

Rumours are this in the penultimate book. I hope Oddy goes out with a bang and meets up with Stormy in the next life.

I gave this two stars out of respect for the first three books.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Although this is still a page turner series, it would be nice for the story to move on a bit, the mysterious pregnant girl is beginning to seem a little insipid & I'd like that bit of the story to move on, hoping that the whole story will conclude in the next book or at worst book 8. The earlier books were better.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
I'm a big fan of Dean Koontz, and loved the first Odd book. However, the unique universe that was created in that first title seems to have been severely diluted and almost homogenised to contain elements of all his other books by the end of this one.

Ever since the introduction of the Annamaria character three books ago, the whole Odd story seems to have been in somewhat of a holding pattern- the individual stories in each book have become weaker and weaker in their own right, more and more mysteries are introduced (there's even yet another enigmatic character in this latest book), yet with no closure or explanation. Whilst it would be entirely acceptable to leave a few things unanswered between books, I think it was a huge mistep to introduce the Annamaria character so early on when her true nature is only going to be revealed in the last book of the series. All it does it frustrate the reader, especially when the individual plots aren't really strong enough on their own.

Odd's character develops very little over the course of this and the past few books, becoming little more than a tool of fate, or even worse at times, a plot delivery device. The only change seems to be a move away from a reluctance from violence, but this only makes him more like the traditional gun-toting hero, again away from what made the character unique.

It's not a terrible book, it flows at a fast pace (although it's not exactly a long book), and Koontz is always enjoyable to read, but it's a very 'comfortable' book- it takes no risks, and almost comes across as being fan fiction at times, since the whole thing is so predictable in story and style. The whole series now feels like too little content spread over too many books.

Koontz has got a lot to live up to in the final seventh book, since he's been teasing the reader for a long while now. But, going on this and his last few books, I'm rather worried that he won't be able to deliver.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
Loved it, but then I love all the Odd Thomas books, so peaceful despite the sometimes nasty happenings, good well planned and highly original ideas.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 August 2013
Koontz returns to writing about a character he clearly has deep affection for in his sixth Odd Thomas book. You don't need to have read the previous five to enjoy Deeply Odd but it does work with them.

Odd wakes to the sound of a motionless bell ringing, a bell worn around his neck that summons him to fulfil whatever task awaits him. He leaves his unconventional household, the mysterious Annamaria who has appeared heavily pregnant for many years, the deathless child Tim rescued in Odd's previous outing Odd Apocalypse (Odd Thomas 5), and two dogs, a golden retriever named Rapunzel and Boo, a ghost German shepherd. Walking downtown to buy jeans and socks he is drawn to a large truck and a confrontation with its rhinestone clad owner. Odd receives a terrible vision that this sinister man will shortly murder three young children by immolating them and knows he has to stop him. Cue a pursuit across the deserts of America with Mrs Edie Fisher, a mysterious old lady in a limousine, the ghost of Alfred Hitchcock, monsters and 17 children in desperate peril.

Yet behind all this Odd senses a larger purpose looming, there are glimpses of an apocalyptic second reality lying alongside our own, a sense that the story arc of the Odd Thomas books is coming to a crisis, and there is, as ever in Koontz, horror and hope.

I enjoyed the humour, Odd is who he is because of his humility, his sense of humour and his faith in his beloved girlfriend Stormy, dead 18 months, and the world beyond our own that she has gone to ahead of him.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I am a huge fan of the Odd books, each book offers something different and this one is keeping with that trend.

Odd in this book has much of the world opened up to him, the overall arching storylines start to emerge into Odd realising he is a soldier in a war between good and evil that has raged without his presence for a long time.

Some may not like the religious leanings in this book as we start to get into Demons and guiding spirits where there was only a suggestion of this in previous novels.

This book was definitely aimed at setting up a climactic final Novel in the Odd series and I thought as always that Koontz imagination was interesting and unique. As an atheist myself I do have some issues with the way Koontz talks about religion as being quite matter of fact common sense, but this is a fictional story not real life and as such should be judged on whether it was an exciting read, Odd books are written in the first person, which is not usually my favourite style, though I find Koontz the best writer of this style in many of his books and especially the Odd Thomas novels.

I won't put any Story spoilers in, but suffice to say that reading this as your first Odd Thomas experience is likely an exercise in futility and for those who have read all previous Odd stories; you'll likely love this as much as you did the rest.

Looking forward to the final book now and the end of Odd's journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Agree with another review. The odd numbered books are definitely better. Didn't really move the story on. And we still don't know who the hell Annamarie is. Three books in and she's still just a name.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
As with all the Odd books by Dean Koontz this one is no exception and is brilliant. Yet again Oddie saves the day in his own quirky way with the help of new friends, he visits other dimensions and brings down evil cults and gets rid of the baddies. I have enjoyed all the Odd books and think the way that each of the books are so different keeps the story fresh and the reader from getting bored. I for one was yet again kept on the edge of my seat and couldn't put the book down.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2015
With this being the penultimate full Odd novel there's a sense of something huge looming, that everything Odd has been through is about to culminate in...something. Unsurprisingly that means some of what happens here feels like set-up, with people introduced and events which will probably make more sense and play a bigger part in the finale. It's also possibly the darkest book so far in terms of the kind of evil Odd is forced to deal with and he's pushed into some tight corners that bend his positivity and good humor to breaking point. Odd has been on a lot of adventures, but the weight he carries as a result has never been more evident than here.

I still think the best of the books was the first one, as a self-contained piece of momentum-filled dread and adventure with a massive emotional pull it was something that no follow-ups could really match. That shouldn't be seen in any way as a criticism of the follow-ups, as the sequels have still all been hugely engrossing and exciting tales in their own right. Now that the final book is looming I'm feeling that pull and dread again, will be interesting to see where this goes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
Not as engaging as earlier novels. Peripheral characters seemed to be dropped in without real explanation or depth just to help the plot to a deeply odd (pun intended) and unsatisfactory conclusion. Odd's character has flattened out and beyond frequent references to his fry cook capability we learned nothing new. I almost wish his alter ego had won!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.