Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars274
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2011
This is a book that must be read. It is the story of Elena who is kidnapped and trafficked to work in the sex business. It is a dark, hard-hitting story that pulls no punches. Written in the first person, in the form of a diary similar in style to the Diary of Anne Frank, it takes the reader right into the mindset of Elena. The reader shares her distress, her worries, her pain, and her fears. It succeeds on all levels as a story and I wouldn't be surprised if it became a classic.
I have no hestation in recommending this. Sibel Hodge is a writer to watch.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2011
I have just finished this book and have to say I agree with everything that has been said about it. I feel that it is a book that everyone should read especially now as trafficking is big business. I know that trafficking goes on but I did not realise to what extent and quite what is involved. This book is about a young woman who is tricked into accepting the offer of a better life only to find herself forced into prostitution a long way from her friends and family. Her situation can only be described as desperate and this book is her diary.
I think it is extremely well written and certainly a lot different to the 'chick lit' books written by this author. I would recommend anyone to read this book as I think it is an eye opener. It certainly was for me.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
I read this book within an hour, though it is short on words it is high on impact. written as a diary it carries you through the terrifying daily ordeal of a young girl forced into the sex trade. it covers her fears and fragile hope of seeing her daughter again. unfortunately girls are living this nightmare for real every day and corruption on all levels of society add to the problem. I think the subject needs to be constantly at the front of conversation as silence is the sex gangs best friend. A big WELL DONE to the author.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
This story though fictional made me realise the depths that evil can sink to, and what indifference and blindness to other people's suffering through the enforced prostitution of women and girls by human trafficking perpetrated by cold unfeeling and callous individuals, when you realise in the world today some 27 million people are trafficked throughout the world, how much suffering and grief that these heartless creatures create by their. Lust for easy money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
Please read this amazing book, and have your eyes opened to a world-wide human rights issue that's going on right under our noses. I read Trafficked from cover to cover in a morning, and felt moved beyond belief. There are lots of dry text books about the economics and facts and figures of human trafficking, but this diary-style read puts you right in the shoes of a trafficking victim, and you feel the human side of this terrible crime. If you don't know much about human trafficking, and even if you feel it might be too 'heavy', please, please, I urge you to read this book and have your eyes opened. It will change your life.
Su Quinn, author of Glass Geishas
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
What an eye opener this book is to read, it's unbelievable to think this goes on all over the world, even harder to contemplate it happens in your own country.
Before reading this book I also would of assumed that these girls would of been in this situation out of choice, but not any more. These sex traffickers are nothing but sick minded monsters who have to be stopped.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Very good, and very sad to too think that these things really happen. Well done Sibel for donating some of her profits to the awful thing. Maybe the government's and the police forces should do more to help these poor girls!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Sibel Hodge
Trafficked
In reading this bookie makes me glad I was not born a female, but sick to my stomach that we men can treat another human being with such hatred.
Although this is quite a short story it hits you where it matters and I could not put it down. The story is about a young girl from Maldova being kidnapped and sold to work in the sex industry, but it could be about any of the thousands of unfortunate girls and children that are trafficked every year.
If you are looking for a heart breaking, stomach churning story then look no further. Hope you enjoy the book as much as I did.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
A although it only took an hour to read this it really is compelling and transports the reader into this sordid and sad world. Very very clever and makes you think so therefore serves it's purpose. Brilliant!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
This is the first book I have read by Sibel Hodge and follows a different track from her usual chick lit genre (which I have now downloaded samples to try).

It follows the tale of Elena from Moldova who is tricked by her best friend into thinking she is going for a better life for herself, her mother and her young daughter in Italy when infact she is going to be a sex slave.

Written in a diary format you can feel the emotion in Elena as if it were a real diary. This book may be fiction, however this sort of thing does happen in real life to many women.

Definitely worth a read for the insight into these thousands of poor women who are taken from their homes and thrown into a life of violence where they are too scared to try and escape for fear of what will happen to the families they left behind.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse