Customer Reviews


233 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and Heart Wrenching Novella
This is the first book I have read by Sibel Hodge and follows a different track from her usual chick lit genre (which I have now downloaded samples to try).

It follows the tale of Elena from Moldova who is tricked by her best friend into thinking she is going for a better life for herself, her mother and her young daughter in Italy when infact she is going to...
Published on 12 Aug. 2011 by Leelee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unreal-REALITY
Unreal because it's fiction - Reality because it's the same as truth, however it's written the truth is here In our own towns & cities.
Enjoyable quick story easy to read in one or two sittings, as the pace keeps the pages turning, no need for graphic detail you can imagine that yourself.
We all like happy endings.
Published 6 months ago by Rob writes


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and Heart Wrenching Novella, 12 Aug. 2011
This is the first book I have read by Sibel Hodge and follows a different track from her usual chick lit genre (which I have now downloaded samples to try).

It follows the tale of Elena from Moldova who is tricked by her best friend into thinking she is going for a better life for herself, her mother and her young daughter in Italy when infact she is going to be a sex slave.

Written in a diary format you can feel the emotion in Elena as if it were a real diary. This book may be fiction, however this sort of thing does happen in real life to many women.

Definitely worth a read for the insight into these thousands of poor women who are taken from their homes and thrown into a life of violence where they are too scared to try and escape for fear of what will happen to the families they left behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must read this, 18 Aug. 2011
This is a book that must be read. It is the story of Elena who is kidnapped and trafficked to work in the sex business. It is a dark, hard-hitting story that pulls no punches. Written in the first person, in the form of a diary similar in style to the Diary of Anne Frank, it takes the reader right into the mindset of Elena. The reader shares her distress, her worries, her pain, and her fears. It succeeds on all levels as a story and I wouldn't be surprised if it became a classic.
I have no hestation in recommending this. Sibel Hodge is a writer to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 19 Aug. 2011
By 
Mr. J. W. Wiltshire (Westgate-on-Sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just finished this book and have to say I agree with everything that has been said about it. I feel that it is a book that everyone should read especially now as trafficking is big business. I know that trafficking goes on but I did not realise to what extent and quite what is involved. This book is about a young woman who is tricked into accepting the offer of a better life only to find herself forced into prostitution a long way from her friends and family. Her situation can only be described as desperate and this book is her diary.
I think it is extremely well written and certainly a lot different to the 'chick lit' books written by this author. I would recommend anyone to read this book as I think it is an eye opener. It certainly was for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard hitting and heartbreaking, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book within an hour, though it is short on words it is high on impact. written as a diary it carries you through the terrifying daily ordeal of a young girl forced into the sex trade. it covers her fears and fragile hope of seeing her daughter again. unfortunately girls are living this nightmare for real every day and corruption on all levels of society add to the problem. I think the subject needs to be constantly at the front of conversation as silence is the sex gangs best friend. A big WELL DONE to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the format was unexpected but well written if a little disturbing in some of its content, it made me think., 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story though fictional made me realise the depths that evil can sink to, and what indifference and blindness to other people's suffering through the enforced prostitution of women and girls by human trafficking perpetrated by cold unfeeling and callous individuals, when you realise in the world today some 27 million people are trafficked throughout the world, how much suffering and grief that these heartless creatures create by their. Lust for easy money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and moving - I cried throughout, 8 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please read this amazing book, and have your eyes opened to a world-wide human rights issue that's going on right under our noses. I read Trafficked from cover to cover in a morning, and felt moved beyond belief. There are lots of dry text books about the economics and facts and figures of human trafficking, but this diary-style read puts you right in the shoes of a trafficking victim, and you feel the human side of this terrible crime. If you don't know much about human trafficking, and even if you feel it might be too 'heavy', please, please, I urge you to read this book and have your eyes opened. It will change your life.
Su Quinn, author of Glass Geishas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart wrenching, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an eye opener this book is to read, it's unbelievable to think this goes on all over the world, even harder to contemplate it happens in your own country.
Before reading this book I also would of assumed that these girls would of been in this situation out of choice, but not any more. These sex traffickers are nothing but sick minded monsters who have to be stopped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart breaking, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sibel Hodge
Trafficked
In reading this bookie makes me glad I was not born a female, but sick to my stomach that we men can treat another human being with such hatred.
Although this is quite a short story it hits you where it matters and I could not put it down. The story is about a young girl from Maldova being kidnapped and sold to work in the sex industry, but it could be about any of the thousands of unfortunate girls and children that are trafficked every year.
If you are looking for a heart breaking, stomach churning story then look no further. Hope you enjoy the book as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The diary of a sex slave, 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A although it only took an hour to read this it really is compelling and transports the reader into this sordid and sad world. Very very clever and makes you think so therefore serves it's purpose. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Massive eye opener, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I give this book full marks for the way it draws you in due to the diary format in which it is written. it's such a sad story,but gets you thinking about these issues more than most would before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trafficked: The Diary of a Sex Slave
Trafficked: The Diary of a Sex Slave by Sibel Hodge (Paperback - 30 Dec. 2011)
£5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews