Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to anyone's routine
Having weight trained from my early teens I would consider myself well versed in the application of weight training combined with nutritional discipline. This book has become a source of knowledge for me such that I wish I'd have had access to it when I first took up weight lifting. I can only imagine where I'd be today if this was the case.
Where ever you are in...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. M. G. Jones

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information, but could stand some organising
Make no mistake, this book is a treasure trove of useful information. And its goal of teaching you all you need to know to be able to sensibly create your own program tailored to your exact goals is a laudable one. But trying to pack so much information in and then leaving it up to the reader to apply it leaves it feeling somewhat lacking in structure and difficult to...
Published 5 months ago by Dominic Humphries


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to anyone's routine, 24 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength (Paperback)
Having weight trained from my early teens I would consider myself well versed in the application of weight training combined with nutritional discipline. This book has become a source of knowledge for me such that I wish I'd have had access to it when I first took up weight lifting. I can only imagine where I'd be today if this was the case.
Where ever you are in terms of how long you've been training or what your preferences are in terms of routines this book will enhance your scope, knowledge and form beyond that of your peers. The author does a fine job guiding the reader in simple terms from beginner to novice and beyond if your committed enough, along with providing an almost encyclopaedic amount of information and reference points that never feels overwhelming or beyond the reach of an amateur enthusiast. Everything that is of benefit to weight training routines/ gymnastics is covered fully, strength, flexibility, injury prevention, good form, endurance, leavers, nutrition and rest periods. All descriptions of specific movements are well explained and diagrams and photos are provided to help the reader fully comprehend what is required of them during exercises and gymnastic movements. My core strength has rocketed after only two months of working my way through the strength gymnastics section, which is another aspect of the book that I enjoy: you gradually build from the lower difficulty levels (which can be surprisingly taxing at first) building your strength and balance until you can progress onto to the next exercise safely and it utilises weight lifting movements to compliment/ enhance the gymnastic routines and vice versa. If you are currently weight training/body building or if you mean to start in the near future then I simply cannot recommend this book enough. First and foremost it should keep you injury free, and secondly with this book in your arsenal of tools stagnation will be a thing of the past and due to the nature of the gymnastic movements your core strength will be pushed beyond the levels of your average gym user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength (Paperback)
This is more than a book of gymnastic skills as it covers almost every aspect of strength training. From sets and rep schemes for different goals, recovery, rehab, programming and technique. It is a classic strength book in every respect.

In addition to the information in the book though the author is so accessible via the Eat. Move, Improve website that any questions you have he answers almost instantly and in depth. You can really tell the guy lives and breathes his product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information, but could stand some organising, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength (Paperback)
Make no mistake, this book is a treasure trove of useful information. And its goal of teaching you all you need to know to be able to sensibly create your own program tailored to your exact goals is a laudable one. But trying to pack so much information in and then leaving it up to the reader to apply it leaves it feeling somewhat lacking in structure and difficult to follow. An excellent book to supplement your understanding or add to an existing plan, but I think likely to overwhelm and confuse a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength (Paperback)
Great book for anyone interested in gymnastic/bodyweight training, with easily laid out progressions. It encompasses both the exercises and the scientific reasoning for different training goals. Definitely recommend this book. From someone who has been training freeweights seriously for the past 3-4 years it's a great change to my routine, and am gaining huge amounts of strength and flexibility. It can easily be integrated into a barbell routine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU THINK YOU'RE STRONG TRY THIS!!, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength (Paperback)
I've always had great respect for gymnasts and what they can do with their body's, but since buying this book i think they're super-human!

I've always thought i'm pretty strong as i've been weight training for 10 years and always been quite good at body weight exercises like pull-ups, press-ups etc. But! since buying this book and doing some of the basic gymnastic moves, i've used muscles that you can't train with a pair of dumbells and they're very hard. Gravity is one hell of a workout, because that is what you're pushing against to acomplish the routines in this book.

As the book's title says, this is a systematic approach so it starts with the basic moves and then builds up bit by bit to the advanced (super-human moves), which means anyone can bennefit from buying this book. You get detailed pictures and written descriptions of every routine, of which there are loads.

EQUIPMENT - If you want to try and replicate all the routines in the book then you will need to purchase some gymnastic rings (i got mine on amazon) a good pull-up bar - one which you can get your body over the top of and a set of paralell bars. The paralell bars may sound a bit extreme, but these arn't the olympic size ones that need to be bolted into the floor, i got some which are about 1.5 meters high and 2 meters long. I needed to purchase all these as the nearest gymanstics centre is 100 miles away and i don't have a good park anywhere with bars etc.

RESULTS - Since purchasing this book i've hardly used my weights, apart from some specific exercises which help strengthen the body to acheive certain routines from the book. Although i don't train just to look good when i'm at the beach, the results you get from bodyweight training like a gymnast are amazing. You know what gymnasts bodys are like, very ripped, amazing abs, big shoulders-(men) slim waist etc. I've been using this book for several weeks now and although i was in good shape before, i'm starting to see more definition on my whole upper body and my abs are popping out like never before! The reason for this is because alot of the routines you're engaging all your muscles at the same time in away no weights routines can emulate.

FUN - It may sound stupid but learning these routines and trying to advance to the harder routines is alot of fun, hard work and very tiring but alot of fun and much more enjoyable than pumping iron for 90 minutes.

Put simply this book is a MUST buy for anyone looking to improve their strength and conditioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average book, 24 April 2014
By 
Di Maggio Francesco "Francesco" (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength (Paperback)
I need to disagree with most of the reviews. Maybe I had different expectations, but the book looks more a collection of notes that a book. As a beginner you pretty fast get lost, the progressions are not clear at all and overall the editing of the book is very poor. There is good information in it, but you really look for it. If you are expecting a book that will guide you hand in hand.. look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for those intereted in bodyweight., 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength (Paperback)
I've been training exclusviely bodyweight for about 18 months and in that time i've been eager to learn what I can and have read quite a few books about the subject. I've gained what i thought was a fair bit of knowledge on the subject. I was suprised that i hadnt heard about this book earlier as i visit a lot of bodyweight related sites so i decided to buy it as the revies were excellent. I'm really glad i did.
I've read it once and there's a lot of detail. There are summaries too if you just want to get to putting aoutine together straight away, but this book should read and re-read because it's got so much info that just isnt present in theother books i've read. It doesnt tell you to do this excercise and here's how to it. It tells you why you should do this excercise and why it works in balance when paired with this other excercise. It takes you down a path where you understand how and why to put together a routine and how to understand the progression of bodyweight work outsso you can build gymnastic strength abilities.
The books i read previously i learnt something from each of them but i'd say that this covers everything they had to say and more.
One shortcoming is that it only deals with the upper body, it doesnt discuss legs excercise, other than that author says for strength and hyper trophy you should use weighted excercises, not bodyweight. The book also has a fair few grammatical and spelling errors, nothing that bothers me personally as it's esy to read around them. It could have been better proof read (same could be said for this review) but that's easy to overlook when it's so full of knowledge.
The book is a labour of love and at the sameprice as many inferior books it's too good not to buy. Plus on top of that the author responds to pretty much all queries relating to the book and routines directly, which is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength (Paperback)
Very in depth book. Takes a lot of thinking about and I had to read a lot of sections more than once. Very good as a reference tool and it teaches you what you need to think about and how to construct your own workout routines. A must for any level of athlete/gymnast or bodyweight training enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All that you need + more, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength (Paperback)
This book is the best book on bodyweight training. It is THE BIBLE + you can use it for different reasons (injury prevention, weight training, it helped me even with my school work), not just bodyweight training. I would recommend this book to any coach or fitness/calisthenics enthusiast out there.
That is not all. You can ask any question on Steven Low's website (Eat. Move. Improve) or on reddit and he will answer you in minutes.
It is a really great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very informative, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength (Paperback)
If you are interested in bod weight training this is a very detailed source of information which is well structured and easy to follow. Not just for the gym newbie as I have trained for a long time but decided to switch to purely body weight training and this was just the thing I needed as it includes routines and exercises etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overcoming Gravity: A Systematic Approach to Gymnastics and Bodyweight Strength
£28.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews