Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katalina Wimple VDI Detective, not to be messed with.
Katalina Wimple is a Phoenix detective but a Phoenix that has been shaped by the emergence of a portal to another world many years previously, other cities across the globe suffer their existence as well and through these portals a world of magic not technology awaits.
Katalina "Kat" Wimple specialises in missing children/women and those oppressed, she is driven by...
Published on 17 Dec 2011 by Jarrak

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars complete drivel
I ordered this to try some new authors, so glad it was free.

Couldnt even finish this story and this is a rare thing for me, i read constantly!

Perhaps it would have improved if i had kept going with it. However, once i got to the part where a rod was inserted vaginally to basically recharge something (cant even be bothered to remember what was...
Published 22 months ago by bookworm77


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars complete drivel, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Girls (Kindle Edition)
I ordered this to try some new authors, so glad it was free.

Couldnt even finish this story and this is a rare thing for me, i read constantly!

Perhaps it would have improved if i had kept going with it. However, once i got to the part where a rod was inserted vaginally to basically recharge something (cant even be bothered to remember what was recharged) i had to give up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katalina Wimple VDI Detective, not to be messed with., 17 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Girls (Kindle Edition)
Katalina Wimple is a Phoenix detective but a Phoenix that has been shaped by the emergence of a portal to another world many years previously, other cities across the globe suffer their existence as well and through these portals a world of magic not technology awaits.
Katalina "Kat" Wimple specialises in missing children/women and those oppressed, she is driven by her own early nightmares which lead her into the police force and now equipped with some of most advanced bio-tech on the planet (and still paying off the bill) she mixes her own personal and professional life in handling a spate of disappearing women and the activities of the husband of her police shrink a woman she is attracted to.
The Lost Girls (Dark Earth) is set in the same world as the original Dark Earth novel but only plays lip service to the portal element, the crimes and investigations that follow don't rely on this intruding world/people but on humanities own darkest desires and acts.
Kat herself has a solid and complex backstory and the lifestyle choices prevalent through out the story do not seem out of place, very easy for them to be titillating or come off as just a piece of narrative candy. The inclusion of the bio-tech and it's advantages/limitations adds even more depth to the story and I'll admit I was laughing a little too much over the idea of ballistic protection offered via various cup sizes of breast implants.
I'll admit I got a story not quite what I was expecting and that is always an interesting adventure, the crime/detective element was a lot of fun, the background of the characters was varied and complex enough to hold my interest and the more mature content not written too aggressively which can put you off.
The Lost Girls is an enjoyable read with the characters and narrative strong enough to at least given the book a chance, for me it was certainly good enough to look into the other Dark Earth related novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chris's review, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Girls (Kindle Edition)
Having read this I'm still not sure what time period it is set in, just confused. The heroine is a bionic women with few interpersonal skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sleezy, ridiculous story., 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Girls (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy all sorts of books but this was written by a man for men. Women don't act like the sleezy characters in his books and even with a bit of imagination it was hard to take the storyline seriously. Don't rush to read this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Girls (Kindle Edition)
Read about 20/20 pages of this and gave up not my taste. Not to say others wont like it. Different!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I gave up, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Girls (Kindle Edition)
I didn't get the story or the plot, nor identified with the characters in any way. Boring and uninteresting not recommened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Glad is was free!, 20 Feb 2013
By 
D Walmsley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Girls (Kindle Edition)
Very weird book. Lesbian sci-fi is a niche market, I suspect! I don't know what else to say about this. Confusing plot-line, odd rambling passages about messed-up girl (main character) and her musings about women she maybe likes. Or not.
And then the book suddenly ended, partly to my relief, but with a feeling that the writer has suddenly realised a dealine had arrived.
One star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bit odd, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Girls (Kindle Edition)
This is quite poor, but grew on me a little bit as I read it. It's a standard cyberpunky near future setting, with a technologically-enhanced female police officer at the centre of it. Did I mention she was gay? She does - about every other page. This and the obsession with vaginal recharging devices and bulletproof breast enhancements (yes, really) did make me wonder about the author's age. About 13, you would imagine... The plot goes round in circles for the first two thirds or so, before wrapping itself up fairly quickly without revealing anything in particular.

I did quite like the main character's approach to the world, though (world weary, but yearning for love) as well as the concept of a crossover cyberpunk/fantasy world, but although introduced right at the beginning the idea was never developed. I think it was these two things that kept me going to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for free, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Girls (Kindle Edition)
Not the most riveting read but ok for free. It kept my interest but not sure I would pay to read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lost girls, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Girls (Kindle Edition)
Pretty poor story line.i don't think I shall be reading any more.no plot just sexual novel and far fetched story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Girls: 3
The Lost Girls: 3 by Jason Halstead (Paperback - 15 Oct 2011)
£5.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews