Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and Enlightening
Having read `The book of tea' through three times so far I have to say its use of language is beautiful and its take on the west intriguing. It's a fusion of history, poetry and gives the reader a glimpse into the Japanese art of life. The book of tea offers a refreshing take on the drink and the culture; and encourages the reader to appreciate the beauty of the simple...
Published on 18 Aug. 2011 by David Beck

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content but poor quality book.
I ordered this as a gift for a friend who is a tea lover but I was very disappointed by the quality of the product I received. It is pretty much a digital colour copy of the book. The image on the front cover is pixelated because of the poor resolution. I have bought another edition of this book for £1 more which was proper print quality and included extra notes. The...
Published 23 months ago by May Kasahara


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and Enlightening, 18 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Tea (Kindle Edition)
Having read `The book of tea' through three times so far I have to say its use of language is beautiful and its take on the west intriguing. It's a fusion of history, poetry and gives the reader a glimpse into the Japanese art of life. The book of tea offers a refreshing take on the drink and the culture; and encourages the reader to appreciate the beauty of the simple and beautiful. The books age has added to its charm; would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty ritualized, 16 May 2002
This review is from: The Book of Tea (Paperback)
This little booklet, written in 1906, is still one of the absolute classics on the Japanese tea ceremony. This essay about Japanese culture as it is epitomized in the "way of tea" (chadō) also served as an apology for Eastern traditions at large to the Western world. Okakura was a practitioner, art critic and connoisseur, and a collaborator of Fenellosa and his circle, who introduced Japanese art in the United States. Although detailed technical information about the ceremony is avoided, the latter's historical background as well as its relation to Japanese attitudes, Zen, Tao, art and art appreciation are treated in a suggestive and essayistic vein. The way of tea appears as a "moral geometry" embodying particular values than a particular set of beliefs. There is, thus, a "philosophy of tea", at least in the sense that the practice of tea wholly constitutes a "form of life".
The book was written in a graceful, clear and precise English, which is in itself a remarkable feat.
Amateurs of the way of tea should combine this reading with more detailed studies such as Sadler's, Shositsu Sen's and Horst Hammitzsch's, or the academic and up to date study by Jennifer Anderson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh! What a wonderful little book..., 24 Jun. 2011
By 
Mash (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Book of Tea (Kindle Edition)
Even though this book was written ages ago, it is very relevant to our modern hectic lifestyle. Reading the book was a pleasure and it made me aware of the power of tea. Now, tea has become a major part of my life and coupled with Za-Zen gives me a lot of peace. I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars go with the flow, 8 Feb. 2012
I spotted this in passing looking for another Japanese author. Seeing the high rating I decided to give it a go, although I usually drink coffee. I read it over two evenings, a can't put down - tea cup in hand. I admit finding it a short, fascinating and succinct account about the tea ceremony, and the interplay of Taoism, Zen Buddhism and Confucianism in the early development of Japan and China. That might seem a little bland for current tastes. However the written style pulls the reader along, as though on a crest of a wave. Although written in English, it seems quite unlike the typical western literature style of a century ago. Lyrical yet concise, I suspect this flowing text a polished Taoist style; as is explained Tao is all about movement. It is never dull irrespective of the topic on the page.
Why just four stars? The artistry and individualism of the tea masters must surely have been balanced by a rigid enforced code of conformity on the part of the recipient tea drinkers. The author's pride over the artistic perfectionism of the Tea ceremony I can accept. The direct criticism of Western culture in comparison I find less palatable. In this I had an uneasy scent of cultural and religious elitism, nationalism not far away. It ultimately smacks of intolerance, or is that too strong? I would invite the author around to argue over a cup of tea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly refreshing, 25 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Tea (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book! The writing, use of language and phraseology took me on a gentle stroll through the ages with an eastern perspective. Gave me a deep respect and has encouraged me to look for the beauty in simplicity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content but poor quality book., 22 Mar. 2013
By 
May Kasahara (Central London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Tea (Paperback)
I ordered this as a gift for a friend who is a tea lover but I was very disappointed by the quality of the product I received. It is pretty much a digital colour copy of the book. The image on the front cover is pixelated because of the poor resolution. I have bought another edition of this book for £1 more which was proper print quality and included extra notes. The other edition has a brown cover with an image within a square on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book!, 23 Sept. 2011
By 
Val (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I wasn't sure what to expect from 'The Book of Tea', but I was so pleasantly surprised. It is beautifully written, and thoroughly fascinating. The author not only describes in detail the evolution of tea drinking and tea ceremonies in Asia over the centuries, but also articulately contrasts eastern and western cultures with respect to attitudes towards aesthetics and beauty. His description of the Japanese attitude towards flowers and floral displays is simply poetic.

I would recommend this to anybody who is interested in Asian religious and cultural development, or in the varying cultural perceptions of beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An inexpensive, high quality edition of a classic., 24 Aug. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Book of Tea (Paperback)
For anyone interested in Asian, and particularly Japanese, culture, this book is a must. By following the history of tea and its role in the spiritual and cultural development of Japan, this slim volume gives the reader remarkable insight into the Japanese mind. Written with a keen sense of humor, the Book of Tea is very readable and entertaining, while at the same time illustrating the Japanese passion for the simple. This version is a quality translation, and you cannot beat the price. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in Japan, Buddhism, Taoism, or tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It changed me..., 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Tea (Paperback)
First, it is written in a beautiful language, more rare these days, making you feel like you hold a treasure in your hands - and you do! Just by reading, you will sense how true is what the author is expressing. It will make you question the western world, and you will want to live simply and deeply. It is my treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond the book of tea, 24 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Tea (Paperback)
This is a most delightful book for anybody who is interested in Japanese esthetics, inherent in their traditional art of living. The text sheds light on many differt aspects of Japanese creation, sensitivity towards nature and the culminating sense of the sublime which human beings can achieve. The principles seem to have travelled trough centuries of war and catastrophies and still remain intact. A gentle yet powerful breath of air, full of awareness for human nature. The essence of the philosophies are still valid in today's Japan and are soothing in the present state of the globe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Tea
The Book of Tea by Kakuzo Okakura (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2011)
£3.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews