Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read
Very good book with background information on all of capcoms major characters from the major game franchises over the decades. The book and illustrations are of high quality, and if your a fan of capcom games and their characters this wont dissapoint.
Published 12 months ago by Kof25

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but disappointing.
Briefly put, this is a great idea, badly realised.
Not even close to being comprehensive, this book is missing many, many characters, even including ones from Street Fighter (T Hawk, Dee Jay, Hakan for example. No C. Viper? Realy?)
It also has a habit of featuring some characters from a franchise but not others (A few from Rival Schools, but over half the RS...
Published 11 months ago by Johnny Beatdown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but disappointing., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom 30th Anniversary Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Briefly put, this is a great idea, badly realised.
Not even close to being comprehensive, this book is missing many, many characters, even including ones from Street Fighter (T Hawk, Dee Jay, Hakan for example. No C. Viper? Realy?)
It also has a habit of featuring some characters from a franchise but not others (A few from Rival Schools, but over half the RS roster missing)

The book also has grammatical and factual errors, which is a shame.

A fine book for the collection to buy on the cheap and flick through, but not even *close* to an "encyclopedia" Comes across more like an unofficial fan-book.
Maybe an updated edition will be released sometime, after all, when it comes to regular updates, who beats Capcom?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom 30th Anniversary Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
Very good book with background information on all of capcoms major characters from the major game franchises over the decades. The book and illustrations are of high quality, and if your a fan of capcom games and their characters this wont dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom 30th Anniversary Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
quality, encyclopaedia of all the capcom characters, lots that i didn't even knew existed, nice to some old skool arcade characters from the 80's all the way to the most recent games, easy to just pick up and flick through, i leave the book out when i have game sessions as a conversation piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disapointing, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom 30th Anniversary Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I ordered this book for my girlfriend who is a huge Capcom fan and she was very disappointed. I'm not so much of a Capcom fan myself, but when I flicked through the book I understood and was very disappointed too.

There's only two pictures for each character (one of them is TINY) and many of them are recycled through the book. EG: Chris and Leon each share the picture of them pointing a gun at each other from Resi 6. Some of the other pictures are also very low quality: The mini pictures for Sherry and Ada are the same picture and it's impossible to even see them in the picture.

The pictures are also only from modern games and the book doesn't bother to include pictures from any older iterations of games. EG: older pictures of Ps1/older characters could have easily been included. There's also nothing like sketches of characters or anything like that. The descriptions of characters are also very basic and doesn't really included that much information on them of their throughout the franchises.

As other reviews said, there's also lots of characters missing. Even things like Dante not mentioning his makeover from DmC (which, I admit, some people make be happy about; but it should still mention it) seem fairly strange, as if this book was rushed from old and out-dated information.

I feel that this book is a cheap book mascaraing as a collector's piece. I would have rather paid a bit more for this book and have something actually decent that me and my girlfriend could appreciate, but this just seems like a very pointless publish which aims to quickly make some cash off of Capcom's 30th.

I'd really avoid this book unless you can get it dirt cheap in which case some of the pictures are nice and things like the front and inside covers are very nicely done. But other than that, avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars capcom reading, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom 30th Anniversary Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
well where to start. it has details of many the main characters from the capcom back catalogue and quite a few from lesser known titles, which does apeal for those who like the alternative games that they have made. its is very good for those that thought capcom was all about street fighter or resident evil and proves otherwise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom 30th Anniversary Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
My friend loves this book. He loves all the capcom characters and it is a good reference book of them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capcom 30th Anniversary Character Encyclopedia (Hardcover)
I had bought this as a gift.
Perfect description, exactly what is was.
It arrived well within the given due date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Capcom 30th Anniversary Character Encyclopedia
Capcom 30th Anniversary Character Encyclopedia by Casey Lee (Hardcover - 21 Oct 2013)
£9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews