Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good start
Originally released in the USA in 2003 as "Get out or Die" "Shadows in the Night is book one in the Aurelia Marcella Mysteries

The story is told as a recounting of events / a report to the Roman Governor, which in a way gives away Aurelia survival, but lets face it, who kills the hero / heroine in book 1!

In all honesty i struggled with the style of...
Published 19 months ago by Parm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars review
I liked this book I hope that there will be more in the series soon. It gives insight into the lives of the romans who seetled in Britain
Published 4 months ago by J Logan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Originally released in the USA in 2003 as "Get out or Die" "Shadows in the Night is book one in the Aurelia Marcella Mysteries

The story is told as a recounting of events / a report to the Roman Governor, which in a way gives away Aurelia survival, but lets face it, who kills the hero / heroine in book 1!

In all honesty i struggled with the style of the book to begin with, so much so that by about page 100 i nearly put it down, and then it suddenly made sense to me, the characters transformed from that 1 dimension paper thin effect that they had had to that point. Suddenly they popped off the page, and i found myself being drawn back to Roman Britain.

I had the bad guy pegged from about page 155, but every now and again the author did have me question myself, she plays the threads of the scheme out very well to keep the majority of readers guessing to the end. I'm going to be very interested to see where Jane Finnis takes Aurelia next in the second Aurelia Marcella mystery, this book was strong enough by the end to make me want to read the next but i will be looking for some growth in the characters and the dialogue which occasionally had a stilted quality.

I feel that the Machiavellian XXXX (name removed as its a spoiler) will return to bring more of his madness and mayhem to the lives of the family at Oak tree inn. This can only be a good thing, he brought a refreshing edge to the story which had the habit of getting a comfortable at times, this coupled with my biggest gripe of Aurelia's bad habit of going all alpha female again nearly destroyed the book for me. I get what the author was saying and if you want to write about about how women are just as good as men at things great, but if you set a book in Roman Britain you need to accept that it wasn't accepted back then and so some of the things she did would not have happened, would have been shut down by the male dominated society immediately. (its either historical fiction or alternate history, you have to choose).

So should you the casual observer buy this book?

Do you like a Mystery? (Yes: buy the book)

Do you like Roman books (Yes: its worth a read, its a first book and has some of the failings of that but also some great ideas and promise)

This book is Caroline Lawrence for grown ups, although i think teenagers who like a good roman mystery would enjoy this also. Think Caroline Lawrence, Ruth Dowie, Lindsey Davies,

Jane Finnis may have been around for some time, but she is new here and i think has potential to build a solid reputation.

(Parm)

Product Description

BRITANNIA, 91 AD: A raw, frontier province lying at the northern edge of the Roman Empire. Its fifty years since the legions invaded, but the land still simmers with tension, especially in the north. But in the Oak Tree Inn on the road to Eburacum, both Roman and Briton are welcome. Innkeeper Aurelia Marcella fled the devastation of Pompeii to build a new life here, and though her roots are Roman, her heart belongs to Britannia. Then a messenger is brutally decapitated outside her Inn, a crude message scrawled on his body: ALL ROMANS WILL BE KILLED. GET OUT OR DIE. An act of rebellion, or something more sinister, something more personal? Amid shadows and deception, Aurelia will have to face the possibility that someone she knows and trusts her and her family dead...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A snip at 0.59p, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author sets the novel in 91 AD, almost 20 years after the first Lindsey Davis, 20 years before the first Ruth Downie and almost 100 years before the first Rosemary Rowe, my own favourite author of Roman Britain mysteries. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel, the plot, characters and the detail, my only quibble being the length - it dragged a little in the middle. My only doubt was which side should I be cheering for, the Brigantes or the dastardly Romans? As someone once famously asked, "What have the Romans ever done for us?" I shall look forward to reading more of Aurelia and friends. I think it is a good idea to promote new series at a low price, especially the first in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally absorbing read, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the style of this book from the first page. The characters are well drawn, believable and engaging. The plot motors on at a cracking pace, with plenty of twists and turns and an unexpected ending. The milieu is clearly painstakingly researched. Very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what a good read., 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written account of the times. Story line keeps you hooked to the end. Can't wait to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars review, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this book I hope that there will be more in the series soon. It gives insight into the lives of the romans who seetled in Britain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice, easy to read book. Very easy to get into the life of the time. Good historical remarks. Looking forward to read the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an easy read, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story rolls along at good pace and I enjoyed it. It didn't leave me spellbound but I will definitely read the next book in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good plot and characters, history brought alive, thoroughly enjoyed it., 12 Jan 2014
I enjoy a good historical murder mystery and this one ticked all the boxes. Very atmospheric and I was reluctant to put it down once I started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it was ok, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the story and the overall feel of the period very good,but why just ok? Well it is hard to define, and to be fair it could easily have been me the reason for OK,so keep that in mind.So the main reason for the confusing review was I found it at times to long and find that I will not be reading further adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a discovery!, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Bucsa Oana Maria "Seasin" (Sofia, Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dear Ms. Finnis,

What a lovely thing, discovering a new author with a great tale to tell, and a beautiful way of telling it. There is very little written about that time of the Roman presence in Britain, and as a big fan of all things Time Team, it was wonderful to see the world they dig out in the fields of England come to live with such a well written, breath-catching, clever story. I also enjoyed the second book of the series, and purchased the other two. Can't wait to read them and please don't stop!
Dear readers,
This is a great "historical crime" little gem. Reads beautifully, keeps you entertained and interested until the very last page, quite unpredictable and fun. Luckily, there are more of them out there. Enjoy reading, it's a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadows in the Night LP
Shadows in the Night LP by Jane Finnis (Paperback - 5 Oct 2011)
Used & New from: 28.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews