Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some interesting insights
A lightweight tome, with what i'm sure would have been some fascinating family background edited out by his son, but a good insight into Charles Darwin's background, how he arrived at where he did and how he felt about the way his work was received
Published on 4 Dec. 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
okay book, quite a tiny book
Published 7 months ago by Vish Bhattacharya


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some interesting insights, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lightweight tome, with what i'm sure would have been some fascinating family background edited out by his son, but a good insight into Charles Darwin's background, how he arrived at where he did and how he felt about the way his work was received
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and educational, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having studied Darwin's the theories at length I thought to discover the man. A great read.
Once I started I didn't put this down until it was finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly readable!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I downloaded this to my Kindle after a visit to Downe House and was surprised and pleased to find how easy a read it is... Darwin is extremely likeable and I warmed to him instantly, although those not of a scientific persuasion may get a little tired of his ramblings about plant life...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential and brilliant., 4 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating insight into the great man's early life. Offers great encouragement to late starters everywhere. An unexceptional Cambridge undergraduate goes on to write the most important book of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy going insight, 1 May 2015
By 
J. Leedham (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite worth reading actually, it shows a little behind the name we all know so well.

The theories behind "origins of species" is so well known, and publicised now as a matter of course there is nothing new in that Tome, this was quite interesting although it really only dealt with his professional life, it seems some family details have been omitted, which is a shame really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well worth reading - not to be missed free on Kindle, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was written by Darwin for his own family to read rather than you and me. It is therefore, remarkably personal and intimate. You can hear his 'voice' through the pages. You can feel his humanity. He becomes almost alive. It is worth reading for this reason alone, It is, of course, full of facts about his research and books. It is free on Kindle, it is only a little book and surprising easy to read. Give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charles Darwin, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
well written - wonderfully interesting person - .who changed the world in thinking about the "our origins" - the univeerse and our thoughts about God -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insights into one of our most famous naturalists, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Douglas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a biologist of any kind then evolution is backbone of modern science and a read of "Origin of Species" is a must. However, Darwin wrote many books detailing his travels and they are very interesting to read. Being free on Kindle makes it easy to read for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... enjoyable - a glimpse into the workings of a great mind., 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable - a glimpse into the workings of a great mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Charles Darwin and this is great and full of details
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Autobiography of Charles Darwin
The Autobiography of Charles Darwin by Charles Darwin (Paperback - 3 Aug. 2011)
£5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews