Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take A Wild Ride With Gertie
It's a hair-raising ride when Gertie Johnson gets behind the wheel, and readers will enjoy the trip. Unique characters, headed by Gertie, drive the action when her neighbor is found dead with a bullet hole in the head, fired from his own gun. Gertie believes it was murder, but the local Sheriff (her own son) thinks Gertie is out of her mind--and the tries to prove it...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by Western NY Reader

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really that good.
Quite a good read but I found this book quite difficult to follow and it had a silly sort of ending.
Published 16 months ago by Caz


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take A Wild Ride With Gertie, 17 Jun 2011
It's a hair-raising ride when Gertie Johnson gets behind the wheel, and readers will enjoy the trip. Unique characters, headed by Gertie, drive the action when her neighbor is found dead with a bullet hole in the head, fired from his own gun. Gertie believes it was murder, but the local Sheriff (her own son) thinks Gertie is out of her mind--and the tries to prove it. Sometimes Gertie's her own worst enemy, but that also drives the humor as she somehow manages to wriggle out of one uncomfortable situation after another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A trio of elderly ladies trying to solve the mysteries surrounding their town, and mostly solving them through luck, with lots of scrapes on their way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really that good., 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite a good read but I found this book quite difficult to follow and it had a silly sort of ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gertie Johnson, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another book in the genre of Agatha Christie where the older person is the ideal one for solving crimes that younger people can't seem to manage. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller read, 24 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read. I found I got very fond of the characters. A nice easy book that make you feel good when reading it. What more can you ask for. Deb Baker is getting better every book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ok book, 13 April 2014
By 
Wendy (stratford upon avon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It took me ages to read this book, It just didn't excite me as much as other books I've read . It seemed to me that the story was all over the place. But that's probably just me lol. It's free so go ahead an give it a go, you can't lose anything by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars female last of the summer wine, but with more blood, 29 Mar 2014
By 
A joy! Very human characters drawn so clearly and all believable. And very funny. I started off thinking this wouldn't be my kind of book, but being unable to leave a book before I've read how it finishes, I though I could skim through it missing wodges of pages to get to the end quickly. I read every word. Have already bought the others in the series so that I didn't get depressed finishing this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gertie Johnson sets out to find a killer. On her way she gets 'dumped' with two of her friends all three of them are on the elderly side. Gertie gets warnings she should keep her nose out of things including an attempt on her life. Her son who happens to be the sheriff is useless and tries to prove Gertie does not have all her own 'marbles'.
It gets really unbelievable and silly at times.
It is a book you do not have to think about the plot as it leaves nothing for you to ponder as to who is the murderer and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun read, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written in the first person is not everyone's cup of tea but makes a good read and several laughs at what Gertie gets up to with her family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Different!!, 19 Feb 2014
By 
James Bennett (Birkenhead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Goes along at a good pace and has characters you care about.The plot is simple but clever enough to keep the reader interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1c1b4c)

This product

Murder Passes the Buck: A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery
Murder Passes the Buck: A Gertie Johnson Murder Mystery by Deb Baker (Paperback - 29 Jun 2011)
7.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews