Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars43
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 March 2014
I teach Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) in London and elsewhere and I've often referred those course participants who suffer from depression to the authors' previous title: The Mindful Way Through Depression. This new book now takes that one very valuable step further: laying out a step-by-step practical self-guided course. The authors' Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy for Depression, now in its second edition, was a ground-breaking development in the field, enabling the mindfulness-based approaches to enter the mainstream of psychological therapies. But that was written for clinicians. This new practical guide is very definitely devised for a readership who personally suffer from depression. Clearly written, simple and systematic, it has the capacity to be immensely helpful to anyone who follows the the guidance it lays out.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
This book is fantastic, I've suffered from depression and anxiety for over 10 years, and this is the first time anything has had any impact on the anxiety and panic attacks. If you are really struggling with these issues I recommend this book but as it says at the front, take off the deadlines! There are exercises to do each week, but when you are feeling low, just do them at your own pace, till you are ready to move on to the next set, they still help.

The CD that comes with the book is an MP3 CD, this is mentioned in the description but unless you have a new player, it won't play on regular/older CD players. You can put the disc that comes with the book on to your computer and play them that way or the book also links to a website where you can download the tracks to your computer or other portable device, so you can still have access to them.

There is a particularly useful track on the CD for 'Sitting with Difficult emotions', and as someone who is recently bereaved this book and meditations that come with it REALLY help.

Superb book, I took ages to buy it given the cost, but 'If the drugs don't work' as the song says, and you or someone you know is struggling, get this book, it could change your life!!

Get this book if you are feeling stressed and don't want medication, just to learn ways to relax and look at life in a different way. Even the simplest of things it suggests make massive differences.

I highly recommend it and wish it had been around 10 years ago!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I would recommend that for any practitioner/therapist who wants to add further information and research to their competencies, knowledge, and skills, read and use this workbook, its gives more in depth research and outlines to the practice of Mindfulness.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
I love this workbook because it provides a structured and graded approach to building up and practicing mindfulness whilst also giving you practical information and tips from people who have been on the 8 week training course to become practitioners. It gives guidance to those who are practicing as well as practical resources for those teaching mindfulness to others.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
easy to follow well planned work book. exercises for everyday use, no special equipment required. accompaying CD help to get in the zone.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
I work in a mental health setting and have seen how much benefit people get from participating in a mindfulness group. However, it's not always possible for individuals to get on a programme and for a long time now I have been looking for a resource that I can use with people on a one to one basis. This workbook ticks all the boxes and I love the fact that as it goes through the 8 week programme step by step it answers all the questions/problems that come up in a group setting for the individual working through this on their own. I have used this now with several people and it has always met with a positive response. It has helped me to structure therapy sessions and although I still think groups have something unique to offer I no longer feel as though individuals who can't access them for whatever reason are missing out!
11 comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
It is easy to follow. Easy to read og there is so many god advices to follow.
I give my best recommendation to it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
It would appear that although the advertised product notes includes CD. This is in fact not the case with the e book. I live abroad and ordered this book. After repeated enquirers as to CD download. I was advised to look for reference within the book. This reference requested I write( not email) the publishers directly to ask for permission the listen to the CD content. It's not clear or efficient that this is the case on purchase. However amozon has been very clear to only invoice for the actual book. Very misleading to customers. Buy this book direct from publishers.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Do not buy the kindle version as the vital 14 meditation audio files do not come with it. No-one at Amazon could help despite spending nearly 2 hours online chat and at least 4 or 5 different customer service reps who each spoke to on the phone and none of them had been told correctly by each previous rep what the issue was. I gave up in despair! Complete waste of money.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
I am a counsellor and this book has helped a lot of my clients
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)