Customer Reviews


15 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collection of arrangements, 15 May 2012
By 
H. Thomas (Mid-Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook) (Paperback)
I can do little more than support Longshaw's very favourable review. I have derived great enjoyment from playing the easier pieces, and trying to play the harder ones. My favourites are the Dowlands, and it is intriguing to see how Mizen has fitted music written for a 7 or 8-course lute into a 4-string instrument.

The cd included with the book makes you realise what the uke is capable of - it's really a little guitar capable of very sweet sounds.

The arrangements are made for the re-entrant tuning, whereas I mostly play with a low G, so I have had to do a bit of tinkering with the fingering when the melody is on the 4th string. It all adds to one's interest and understanding.

I hope that this book is as successful as it deserves, and that more will follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not "When I'm Cleaning Windows", 11 Feb. 2012
This review is from: From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook) (Paperback)
This book is the perfect antidote for those who are fed up with the relentless question - can you play "When I'm Cleaning Windows?" Simply blow them away with some early lute music!

This is a superb book, which elevates the ukulele to a `proper' instrument. Who would have thought that it could sound this different or this good.

While the book is not for beginners, it does start off with some easy pieces and finishes with some advanced numbers. The music is written in both tab and traditional format, and suits the high G particularly well. It is worth buying this book just to listen to the CD alone.

More please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook) (Paperback)
This book was recommended by a friend and, as I wanted to play fingerstyle, I went for it. The tunes are simple arrangements in both TAB and manuscript form, that begin easily and get progressively more adventurous and complex through the book.

The CD that comes with it is well played by the author and is useful to know how the tunes ought to sound.

The only reason that I haven't given it 5 stars is that I would like to have seen some playing and performing notes for each piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Uke music, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. S. V. Rowe (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook) (Paperback)
This is a great book. It has both musical notes and tabs and a cd to show you how it should sound. Ive mastered the first tune,though Im not up to the speed on the cd and looked at the second tune, The music is beautiful, and eventually I hope I will be able to play some of the more difficult one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook) (Paperback)
I was thinking of getting a lute as I love early music but was advised that a ukulele is cheaper and easier to learn. The uke can sound very lute like and this publication is just right for me as I am just starting out. I also have The Baroque Ukulele by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 22 April 2013
By 
J. Lloyd "Guitar Player" (Warwick) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook) (Paperback)
Beautifully put together collection of easily playable tunes. Proves you can play anything on ukulele! More needed selections please, and quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From lute to uke, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook) (Paperback)
I was very surprised when I satarted to play this selection of variated music pieces, how well it sounds on uke. Pure joy to play and relaxing beautiful music. Very well assembled and transposed to uke makes the playing on the uke a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lute to Uke excellent, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook) (Paperback)
Book matched my expectations and requirements. and indeed, what more is there that needs to be said about any instructional book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lute to Uke, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook) (Paperback)
These are very good to start off with as the melodies are very simple so I think these are suitable for a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward but really effective, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
M. J. Millar (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook) (Paperback)
I found this a most useful book. The early tunes are very straightforward to play and this encourages you to progress. The transcriptions are sensible and the whole thing just works. Excellent book which I can't recommend highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Lute to Uke: Early Music for Ukulele (A Jumpin Jim's Ukulele Songbook)
£16.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews