Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good tussle with the law of diminishing returns
The 7 Habits was magnificent. The Power of the 7 Habits was somewhat of a 'cashing in' from a public hungry for more. At first listen I thought the 8th Habit was more of the same.
Certainly Covey uses more sales pitch, repeatedly reassuring people that others have found this stuff useful. The 7 Habits stood on it's own two feet and this initially appeared to...
Published on 8 Mar 2005

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Inspiring Summary of the Book
Stephen Covey's book "The 8th Habit" contains a lot of very good ideas but is rather padded. This audio CD provides a very useful summary of the key points in the book. Although it is still a bit preachy at times, it does avoid most of the homely self-indulgent anecdotes of the book. The audio CD though, has one major weakness in my view - it doesn't spend...
Published on 11 April 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Inspiring Summary of the Book, 11 April 2006
By A Customer
Stephen Covey's book "The 8th Habit" contains a lot of very good ideas but is rather padded. This audio CD provides a very useful summary of the key points in the book. Although it is still a bit preachy at times, it does avoid most of the homely self-indulgent anecdotes of the book. The audio CD though, has one major weakness in my view - it doesn't spend enough time on what I feel is the most important feature of the book - the 4 Roles of Leadership. Barely 10 minutes of the CD covers this vital development plan for 21st century leaders(and that coverage is fairly poor). So read the book, reinforce the key points with the CD, and skim the book again focussing on the leadership aspects. That should help you get to grips with the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rehash and mish-mash, 21 Mar 2005
This is basically a rehash of previous material with a few bits and pieces thrown in from other authors like Jim Collins et al.
Stephen Covey has had one great idea, the 7 Habits, which he has capitalised on for some time this book adds a bit of substance to that idea but it is poorly written, repetitious and makes some sweeping statements with little evidence to back them up. Covey is fond of saying things like, "the research shows..." but he rarely ever lets you know which research. Stephen Covey has continually advocated principle centred leadership, however his material is vague on how, specifically, one should put this into practice the eight habit adds little by way of clarification.
My recommendation is that if you want a good book on leadership try The Leadership Challenge by Kouzes and Posner, Good To Great by Jim Collins or Situational Leadership by Ken Blanchard.
One can't help but wonder if Stephen Covey lived for another twenty years would we see a ninth and a tenth habit. Just when I thought I was doing well with seven he comes along and introduces and eighth, bummer, its like learning to drive all over again - help someone, I need a programme to help me kick these crazy habits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 9th Habit - Be Concise and Get to the Point, 14 Dec 2005
By A Customer
I've been through the 7 Habits and First Things First, now I'm on the 8th Habit. Boy—is this dull! This is mostly a re-hash of the 7 Habits with more of a focus towards teams, leadership and businesses. As someone who works mostly on my own and not in a team, this book did not seem overly relevant to those in a similar position.
There are a few new ideas in here but not many. The short films are a nice touch which helps to break things up a little. I listened to this while out walking so couldn't just stop and watch them when instructed.
Ironically for a book about “finding your voice,” I found Mr Covey's voice extremely dull, lifeless and uninspiring—not a patch on Tony Robbins’ level of excitement—I often felt myself wandering off into a daydream while listening and then having to rewind to see if I had missed any astounding revelation (which for the most part, I had not).
A manual for greatness, this is not—a cure for insomnia, quite possibly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good tussle with the law of diminishing returns, 8 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 7 Habits was magnificent. The Power of the 7 Habits was somewhat of a 'cashing in' from a public hungry for more. At first listen I thought the 8th Habit was more of the same.
Certainly Covey uses more sales pitch, repeatedly reassuring people that others have found this stuff useful. The 7 Habits stood on it's own two feet and this initially appeared to flounder. After the second and third listen however I started to be able to get into the material. The message of this book is more complicated and therefore the sort of catchy sound bites of the 7 Habits were harder to generate. A number of the concepts are articulated with such clarity and economical use of words so as to be very impressive in context.
The tone of this is more overtly evangelical than the earlier work. The final sentence has an undisguised religious message which IMHO weakens the non affiliated altruistic humanism that runs through his earlier work.
The message of the 8th Habit deepens (to use a 'Covey' word) the understanding of the 7 Habits concepts but almost by necessity the 8th Habit cannot propel your thinking forward in the way his previous work did.
Most people who might be considering getting this audiobook will be 'knowledge workers' and some will be at a crossroads trying to make sense of their place within their workplace. For those I couldn't recommend this highly enough. As someone who works as an executive coach this offered me insights and new paradigms that I hadn't previously understood as well as I do now.
Impressive as it is though, the brilliance of the 7 Habits makes this excellent audiobook seem ordinary in comparison. Get the 7 Habits first. Get to know it and after several listens get the 8th Habit.
Finally, unless you walk the walk suggested this stuff is just fancy talk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Whats new?!, 17 Feb 2005
By 
Edward Allen (Edmonton Alberta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this guy and am a huge fan of his earlier works, but I can't help feeling he's just running out of steam, and is repeating himself now.
Its like listeneing to "that difficult second album" of your favourite band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work on Leadership, 11 Feb 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is 15 years since Covey produced the 7 Habits, now he builds on that work with this learned and readable book. His focus now is leadership and for me, the main lessons of the book are the 4 roles of leadership - pathfinding (vision), modelling, aligning and empowering. There is a lot more in this book too and it makes fascinating reading. There are problems with the book - Covey covers so much ground that sometimes it feels like it lacks focus; also it is a little preachy at times (with a few too many stories about loyal wives staying at home to support their husbands). Overall though, this is a fine book and well worth reading for anyone interested in leadership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some valuable cherries of wisdom in this fruit cake of a book, 27 Jun 2008
By 
John Joyce "Author - Masterpiece" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having found Stephen Covey's "Seven Habits of Highly Effective People" an extremely useful tool for organising my life, I really looked forward to what might lie in store with this "8th Habit" volume.

In many ways, I found reading it very much like eating a fruit cake - insofar as the pearls of wisdom and practical advice that were so densely packed in the "Seven Habits" - (I have my MS Outlook organised into Covey's "Urgent and Important, Important and Not Urgent . . ." system) were still there, but they were mixed more thinly through the dough of the fruit cake.

The subtitle of the book is "Finding Your Own Voice and Teaching Others to Find Their's" and indeed it does have some extremely valuable lessons to give about empowerment and about delegation. But perhaps it's most important message is that we are now in the age of the "knowledge worker" in which everyone, from the most menial worker to the highest paid executive, is an expert in their own field and must be treated with the respect they deserve in order to get the best results.

For me, that insight, and the change it has brought to my own work practices, is easily worth the price of the book and therefore I have no problem in recommending it as an accompanying volume to Covey's other excellent works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fundamental book for a Balanced whole life., 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read for anyone, who really want to take his/her game to another level.

Of course you should really implement it. And re-read it several times. Not a quick fix book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, vague, meandering, 9 Jun 2009
It's hard to believe this was written by the same man who produced the 7 Habits. While the latter was in some ways ground breaking, the 8th Habit is dull and turgid. It's interspersed with meandering and ponderous case studies that fail to inspire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing overview of most personal development ideas, 19 Jan 2005
By 
Karen Cordingley (Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been studying personal development for nearly 20 years and having put ideas into action am thankful that I have a very happy succesful life
This new book by Covey is easy reading where every page resonates with wisdom
I highly recommend this title
It really makes sense- good luck take action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 8th Habit: From Effectiveness to Greatness
The 8th Habit: From Effectiveness to Greatness by Stephen R. Covey (MP3 CD - April 2012)
£14.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews