Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombies + Austen + Ninjas = Good Thing
The final novel in the Pride and Prejudice and Zombie trilogy is published today. Dreadfully Ever After by Steve Hockensmith picks up the story four years later. Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy are now happily married and living at Mr Darcy's country estate, Pemberly. Elizabeth has hung up her flintlock and katana, as it is improper for a married woman to be...
Published on 6 April 2011 by Pablo Cheesecake (The Eloquent...

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time to live dreadfully ever after
First, we had "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies." Then we got a prequel, "Dawn of the Dreadfuls."

And finally we have a sequel to round out this warped Regency romance-with-zombies trilogy: "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dreadfully Ever After." This time Steve Hockensmith whacks the Darcy-Bennett families with a threat much closer to home, and it's an amusing...
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by E. A Solinas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombies + Austen + Ninjas = Good Thing, 6 April 2011
By 
The final novel in the Pride and Prejudice and Zombie trilogy is published today. Dreadfully Ever After by Steve Hockensmith picks up the story four years later. Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy are now happily married and living at Mr Darcy's country estate, Pemberly. Elizabeth has hung up her flintlock and katana, as it is improper for a married woman to be involved in dealing with 'the stricken'. Everything should be perfect, she has the man of her dreams and leads the life she has always wanted but instead she feels unease with her life. She is unsure if she wants to start a family and misses her warrior lifestyle.

During a long country walk Darcy is attacked and bitten by a zombie and the death of Elizabeth's husband seems all but inevitable until Darcy's aunt, the formidable Lady Catherine De Bourgh arrives. She has heard rumours of a possible cure but before Elizabeth can investigate further Lady Catherine demands Darcy is placed in her care. It falls to The Bennet clan to try and locate the key to Darcy's salvation. Meanwhile Darcy is to be looked after by his aunt and cousin, Anne, both of whom appear to have their own reasons for wishing to help out.

The book then splits so we have alternating chapters following the Bennet's adventures in London and Darcy trying to stave off his conversion to a flesh eating zombie.

In my review of Dawn of the Dreadfuls, the Pride and Prejudice and Zombies prequel novel, I thought the text was missing some of the verbal flourishes you would expect when reading a book based on Austen. In the case of Dreadfully Ever After I am pleased to report I have no such quibbles. As a direct sequel to Pride and Prejudice and Zombies this is exactly the novel I was hoping for. This final book ties up all the loose ends of the trilogy very nicely.

It was great to get further insight into the characters of Mary and Kitty Bennet. Kitty in particular goes on quite a journey as she has never really been free of her sister Lydia's shadow. As Lydia is not in this novel, having already found happiness in Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, it is Kitty's turn to shine. Other characters that have appeared before are brought back from both of the two prior novels, and in some cases given their own shot at redemption.

Once again there is some fantastic zombie dispatching methods. We finally learn what drives the zombies to behave as they do and there is a rather inventive aside that details an attack seen from the dreadful's perspective.

I would be happy to recommend Dreadfully Ever After. The author seems much more comfortable writing about an alternate regency England this time out and splitting the action between the countryside and London allows for some great contrasts. The reader gets a real sense of how the ongoing problems with the undead have affected the nation's capital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time to live dreadfully ever after, 25 Aug 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
First, we had "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies." Then we got a prequel, "Dawn of the Dreadfuls."

And finally we have a sequel to round out this warped Regency romance-with-zombies trilogy: "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dreadfully Ever After." This time Steve Hockensmith whacks the Darcy-Bennett families with a threat much closer to home, and it's an amusing little ride with a very slow middle section.

After four years of marriage, Elizabeth and Fitzwilliam Darcy are taking a leisurely walk when Darcy is attacked and bitten by a little dreadful boy. Despite her training, Elizabeth's love for Darcy stops her from beheading and burning him; instead, she appeals to Lady Catherine for a cure. Lady Catherine reveals that a London scientist named Angus McFarquhar (hee hee!) has the cure, and she has a plan for getting it.

However, the plan involves Elizabeth leaving her infected husband at Rosings, and setting out to seduce the serum out of the scientist. Soon Lady Catherine's diabolical schemes pull the Bennett family to London, leading to a gruesome race against time involving a sexy ninja, a rabbit, a mystery man in a box, a bunch of dandies and the increasingly sinister Anne de Bourgh! Can Lizzy cure Darcy before he becomes an undead horror?

"Dreadfully Ever After" isn't quite as entertainingly tongue-in-cheek as the original "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies," though it is fun to revisit Jane Austen's characters after four zombie-strewn years. And as anyone would expect of a "P&P&Z" sequel, there's bloody flesh-tearing gore aplenty.

And Hockensmith has plenty of fun mingling Regency mores (a gentleman's wife simply doesn't carry weapons!) with lots of ninjas, zombies, and martial-arts-filled scuffles. He also comes up with a clever resolution to the whole problem of the dreadfuls, which fits in nicely with the attitudes of the British during the Regency period.

The main problem is that middle section is far too saggy -- lots of people scampering around not getting anything accomplished, while Darcy dribbles around Rosings being depressed.

And Lizzy feels... off as well. I mean, would the spirited and deadly Elizabeth Darcy just agree to EVERY PART OF Lady Catherine's obviously evil plans? No, I say! But this is somewhat compensated for with Marry and Kitty Bennett, who are usually shoved to the side in "Pride and Prejudice" tales. They each get their own adventures in London, and some romantic interests as well.

"Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dreadfully Ever After" has some gaping holes in its flesh, but it's an amusing little sequel to the novelty hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the Bennett Sisters, Please!, 10 July 2011
By 
Ursula K. Raphael "AstraDaemon of The Zombiep... (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Four years have passed since Elizabeth married Darcy, and she is no longer allowed to carry weapons. During a walk back home, Darcy is bitten by an unmentionable. Elizabeth must swallow her pride, and cast aside her honor if she is to receive help from Lady Catherine, who has made at least one assassination attempt on Elizabeth since the wedding. Mr. Bennett and Kitty are drafted to help Elizabeth by pretending to be a family of rich foreigners (loved that Elizabeth uses the name "Ursula" heh heh) to root out a possible cure being kept secret from the general public.

The story is told through several POVs, but Elizabeth is surprisingly not the central figure. More attention is given to Darcy's and Kitty's perspectives, and I enjoyed the character of Kitty very much this time around; she has grown up quite from the silly girl in Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. In contrast, another of the Bennett girls, Mary, has become quite outgoing, and her character was another favorite of mine in this sequel. In fact, I found Elizabeth to be extremely boring compared to her sisters. (I am even hoping that Kitty and Mary might have their own adventure, if Hockensmith is up to writing just one more!)

Darcy's cousin Anne is portrayed in a rather sinister manner, and when it is revealed what has happened to Anne during her time under the thumb of her mother -Lady Catherine- she was a formidable character, as opposed to the meek girl she once was. In addition, the source of the possible cure is horrific and repulsive, showing how desperate the English have become. Interestingly, we learn a bit more about the nature of the zombie virus that has ravaged Britain since Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dawn of the Dreadfuls.

Out of the Hockensmith books, this was by far my favorite, especially because Elizabeth takes a backseat to the actions of her sisters, Kitty and Mary. The storyline flowed effortlessly, and included a few behind-the-scenes details from the first two books that the characters were unaware of themselves, until several secrets are revealed to them. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first - Pride and Prejudice and Zombies - and this was also v good but the joke was wearing a bit thin by the end. Would still recommend, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best out of them all, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
after reading the first 2 pride and predujuce and zombies, I thought it only fitting to read the last one, and by far is this one the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Appeals to the darker side ........, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I get stumped trying to find a suitably interesting birthday present for my youngest but this series of books seems to fit the bill. She loves them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars want to start again, 18 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly i brought the comic Pride and Prejudice by quirk classics, found that i was totally hooked on the fact that it works so well zombies and period drama, both my favourites and ties in very well with my sense of humour.
Then i brought Dreadfully ever after, great and now just finished reading this one, all fantastic and would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dreadfully Ever After
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dreadfully Ever After by Steve Hockensmith (Audio CD - 22 Mar 2011)
17.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews