Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read once it got going.
Enjoyed this Pendergast novel once it got going and he fully joined the storyline. While refreshing to have Corrie as his main sidekick again her crassness was a bit too much at times and the plot needed the sophistication of Pendergast to flow smoothly. Good plot with nice twists though a couple of bits that needed more fleshing out near the end. Kept me well entertained...
Published 14 days ago by Rugbybrad

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars `If she was going to play the game, she was going to play it well.'
Corrie Swanson, Pendergast's protégée, is studying at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice, where she's trying to put together a thesis proposal. After a couple of rejections, she gets approval for a thesis topic `A Comprehensive Analysis of Perimortem Trauma in the Skeletons of Eight Miners Killed by a Grizzly Bear, from a Historic Colorado Cemetery'...
Published 7 months ago by Jennifer Cameron-Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars `If she was going to play the game, she was going to play it well.', 22 Jan 2014
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Fire (Pendergast) (Hardcover)
Corrie Swanson, Pendergast's protégée, is studying at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice, where she's trying to put together a thesis proposal. After a couple of rejections, she gets approval for a thesis topic `A Comprehensive Analysis of Perimortem Trauma in the Skeletons of Eight Miners Killed by a Grizzly Bear, from a Historic Colorado Cemetery'. As she writes to Pendergast, she learned about the grizzly bear killings from the diary of Arthur Conan Doyle.

So Corrie Swanson travels to Roaring Fork Colorado, where approval to examine the remains of the miners is not quite as easy to obtain as she'd hoped. Still, Corrie is not one to take no for an answer and her impulsive actions quickly get her into trouble with the police.

Enter Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast to the rescue. Carrie has made an interesting discovery while examining the bones of some of the miners, but at the same time the town's attention is focussed on an arsonist who is burning down occupied multi-million dollar houses. Pendergast is involved in the investigation of the arson attacks while Corrie is keen to investigate the story behind the deaths of the miners. Can there be any connection between the historic deaths, Arthur Conan Doyle, and the present arson attacks and murders? In the meantime, Roaring Fork is snowed in, and it appears that Corrie's life may be in danger.

It's fast moving story, and while I worked out some of the connections, I still had a couple of surprises. While it's possible to read and enjoy this novel as a standalone, it will make more sense to those who are familiar with Aloysius Pendergast from the previous 12 novels in the series. While I didn't enjoy White Fire as much as some of the earlier novels I still find Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast intriguing. An enjoyable escapist read.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read once it got going., 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this Pendergast novel once it got going and he fully joined the storyline. While refreshing to have Corrie as his main sidekick again her crassness was a bit too much at times and the plot needed the sophistication of Pendergast to flow smoothly. Good plot with nice twists though a couple of bits that needed more fleshing out near the end. Kept me well entertained though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good idea for a plot, but a disappointing read from otherwise good authors. Have read most of their books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thriller, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An average (if maybe a little above) crime thriller. A read that didnt require much thought.
Perfect read for someone who just wants a little break from a heavier read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An intelligent thriller with plenty of action. It reads well and holds the tension throughout. No gratuitous violence either!
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars White fire, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read, a real page turner. This is the first Preston and Child thriller I have read but it won't be the last
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A little pretencious., 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From the reviews, I expected a much more finished style of writing. The cop out of solving the crime by communing with past events by meditating, left me cold. Perhaps I am not spiritual enough. I did finish the book, but wouldn't recommend it. I suppose this is why it's called fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, loved this book!!!!, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast-paced, thrilling story. I loved the characters & couldn't put this book down. It would make a brilliant film. Congratulations Preston & Child great collaboration look forward to reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fabulous read, 5 April 2014
By 
D. Slater "Book bug" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these two authors and this book did not disappoint! Another rollercoster of a thriller with FBI agent Pendergast. If you have never read any of their books you should!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertaining stuff, 4 April 2014
By 
V. Morgan "A Sad Boring Pedant ..." (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good thrilling read. Not too demanding but interesting and well written. Being fair you can't ask for more than that now can you?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Fire (Pendergast)
White Fire (Pendergast) by Lincoln Child (Hardcover - 12 Nov 2013)
15.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews