Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book was full of useful facts given by by a man at the top of his profession. It is exactly what I needed to know. thorough
I liked everything about this book. As a member of the public it gave me all the tools needed to upgrade my diet in a sensible longterm way in order to keep a clear brain. Tells you the best nutrition for optimum health in today's climate. Even helps out with recipes. Absolutely recommended reading for anyone who takes nutrition seriously.
Published 17 months ago by jill graves

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful
Some useful information, especially on familiar medicines that may be harmful. Recipes disappointing, Many are very American and not really appealing to English taste.
Published 10 months ago by Marianne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book was full of useful facts given by by a man at the top of his profession. It is exactly what I needed to know. thorough, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Foods for the Brain: An Effective 3-Step Plan to Protect Your Mind and Strengthen Your Memory (Hardcover)
I liked everything about this book. As a member of the public it gave me all the tools needed to upgrade my diet in a sensible longterm way in order to keep a clear brain. Tells you the best nutrition for optimum health in today's climate. Even helps out with recipes. Absolutely recommended reading for anyone who takes nutrition seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Eating and More Mental and Physical Exercise for a More Effective Mind and Memory, 18 April 2013
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Power Foods for the Brain: An Effective 3-Step Plan to Protect Your Mind and Strengthen Your Memory (Hardcover)
"Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy--meditate on these things." -- Philippians 4:8 (NKJV)

Most books about eating and living healthier have obvious flaws. Typically, that's because the author focuses on one aspect of health at the expense of other important ones. While by its title Power Foods for the Brain might seem vulnerable to such bias, Dr. Barnard has mostly avoided it. I was impressed and pleased.

The other problem I have with many such books is that they contain only information that I have already read elsewhere. Again, Dr. Barnard taught me quite a few new things. Depending on what you already know about brains and health, your surprises and new information may come in different areas.

While the book clearly aims to help with all aspects of brain health, much of the best information is drawn from Alzheimer's studies. If avoiding that dread affliction is a concern for you, you'll be pleased to see how much is being learned.

While I cannot in this space do justice to the book's key lessons, let me share a few:

1. Copper, iron, and zinc seem to be clearly toxic to the brain. While it's not clear about the risks from aluminum, why take chances? If you are careful, you can reduce these risks a lot. Many "healthy" choices in terms of food supplements and enriched cereals actually can accelerate your risk of Alzheimer's. When I shared this information with my wife, she quickly determined that she was receiving toxic doses of iron every day by consuming "healthy" choices. She found better choices and I'm glad she did!

2. Vitamins E, B6, B12, and folate are going to be important to increase for many people.

3. Mental exercises are very helpful for expanding mental capacity and keeping memory effective.

4. Physical exercise can actually reverse the gradual shrinking brains normally associated with aging.

5. Sleep can do great things for memory. Get more of it!

There are also some healthy perspectives on food choices. For example, the more vegetables you eat, the less likely you are to build up toxic metals in your body.

I'm not enough of a cook to comment on the recipes, but for those who like to find ideas for healthier food preparation these should be of some value. There aren't enough to totally revise your eating.

As the son of a parent whose mental capacity sadly failed late in life, my only regret is that I didn't know these things in time to share with my mother.

Tell others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get the grey cells working!, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Foods for the Brain: An Effective 3-Step Plan to Protect Your Mind and Strengthen Your Memory (Hardcover)
I found this book extremely informative when planning a long term eating plan. Both my parents suffered/ are suffering from Alzheimers and I realised it was time to do as much as possible to prevent going down the same route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Foods for the Brain: An Effective 3-Step Plan to Protect Your Mind and Strengthen Your Memory (Hardcover)
Brilliant!!! Just so interesting! Well written and gives an incredible amount of info and suggestions. Interested in the brain and/or nutrition? You want this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear info, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Foods for the Brain: An Effective 3-Step Plan to Protect Your Mind and Strengthen Your Memory (Hardcover)
Good clear info back by many worldwide studies. Being a vegan seems to be the best way to go to improve health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Foods for the Brain: An Effective 3-Step Plan to Protect Your Mind and Strengthen Your Memory (Hardcover)
Some useful information, especially on familiar medicines that may be harmful. Recipes disappointing, Many are very American and not really appealing to English taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reference book, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Foods for the Brain: An Effective 3-Step Plan to Protect Your Mind and Strengthen Your Memory (Hardcover)
I pick this book up and review various chapters from time to time. Its one I shall keep for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not interesting, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power Foods for the Brain: An Effective 3-Step Plan to Protect Your Mind and Strengthen Your Memory (Hardcover)
Expected more although after reading first chapter and skipping through rest . Might be better if it was read proprly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews