Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Blues fans, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Buddy Guy, along with B B King is probably the last connection with the Blues greats of the post war era. When I left Home is written with honesty and in way one would imagine Guy telling you the stories over coffee. It is not a sex and drugs story that many musicians bios have turned into but a captivating story of the life of poor sharecroppers and a burning desire to play the Blues, a journey to Chicago, the stories of the Blues greats who played there and eventually the success this great Bluesman deserved. A must read for Blues fans but also a very enjoyable story of the man and his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues to the Core, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Buddy Guy is one of the greatest Blues artists of the genre and one of the true legends of modern music. When I Left Home also proves he is one amazing human being, a God given talent combined with a God given humility that restores one's faith in human nature and the cult of personality.
This is by some distance the finest music book I have ever read, it is so far above the formula sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll stories that populate the majority of biographies and autobiographies about musicians. This is the extraordinary journey of a young man from cotton fields through to standing toe to toe and trading licks with all the true blues legends. Guy paid his dues and then some, his dedication to his art is nothing short of remarkable and told in such an honest way as to truly move you.
When I Left Home for me has all the ingredients of a best selling novel; really well written, great but true characterisation, unique plot lines, pathos, humour, emotion, truth and hugely thought provoking. It is also like a 'Who's Who' of the Blues from the early legends through to Beck, Clapton, Mayall, The Stones and the chemistry between these dudes just pours from the pages.
A huge thanks to Mr Buddy Guy for his music and now his lifestory and what a story!
Love music, love The Blues!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy Guy - how it was ... and is, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No hesitation in recommending this book to both Buddy Guy and blues fans alike.

When I Left Home: My StoryAs a Buddy Guy fan, I was keen to read his bio; so, there's the bias. Never mind that: if you're interested in how Chicago blues developed, this is as good as it gets; the story, from the ground. Buddy talks about the gunslinger guitar players, and how BB King and Muddy Waters encouraged younger players like himself. All kind of first-hand recollections, told in the vernacular; it's infectious and very 'readable'.

I won't spoil the read for you; suffice to say that Buddy covers off his (brief) relationship with Hendrix, playing on the '69 Canadian Festival Express with Joplin, Grateful Dead, The Band, etc. But the best parts of this story (for this reader) are his relationships with the blues legends - Guitar Slim, John Lee, BB - you name it - and of course Muddy.

Highly recommended, as a first-hand record of how Chicago blues players operated, from the fifties on, plus an insight to the (all-too-often modest) blues guitar player, Buddy Guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem of a book, 9 Feb 2013
By 
Robin Webster "Robin" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Buddy Guy is one of the most influential guitarists to come out of the blues. Eric Clapton, Jimi Hendrix, Jeff Beck and many other guitarists were influenced by him. As well has having a very successful solo career, he has known and played with a number of the great blues legends: like Muddy Walters, Howling Wolf, John Lee Hooker, plus many others. Despite now entering his mid to late seventies, he still plays the guitar with an energy, depth and enthusiasm of someone half his age. By opting for David Ritz, Buddy Guy really did pick the right man to collaborate with him on this biography. They obviously were very much at ease with each other. For anyone who is interested in `the blues' this biography has a great feel to it. Reading this biography is like sitting at a bar with him while he tells you stories in his own relaxed and casual way. They are stories of being raised by a loving family of sharecroppers in the Southern States of America in the 1940's and lots of interesting stories of his time playing with the great blues legends and his musical partnership with Junior Wells. In my humble opinion, I think this book is a must for anyone interested the Chicago blues scene in the late 1950's to early 1960's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read too short!!!, 24 Jan 2014
By 
T Ransom (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I Left Home (Paperback)
Buddy Guys autobiography is a great read,for anybody interested in Blues music it is a must,and gives a fascinating insight into his life and the Blues scene in Chicago at the time when it was at its peak.It also gives a fascinating look at the characters in the scene at the time.Perhaps my only criticism is that the book isn't long enough and i would have liked to learn a bit more about his time spent playing with the greats,in particular Junior Wells and Howlin' Wolf.As for Buddy Guy he is an inspiration to anybody with what he's achieved with his talents,and his gratitude to the people who helped him along the way is quite moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Life, 4 Aug 2013
By 
M. Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When I Left Home (Paperback)
A wonderful book!

If like me you are a big fan of Chicago Blues, then you'll love this insider story of life in Chicago at the height of the blues scene. Here are all the greatest characters in Chicago Blues: Muddy Waters; Howlin' Wolf; Junior Wells; BB King, Little Walter; and of course, Buddy Guy himself. It's a wonderful insight into the daily lives of men who are legends in their field, but who had to struggle to survive on a day to day basis.

If I had one complaint about this book, it would be that I wish it was longer, but that's only because I never wanted the book to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good read by the one and only buddy guy a must for all fans of the great blues man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 13 Dec 2012
By 
Stuart J. Keir "Stuart Keir" (Cambridge , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting read into the life of one of the last true greats of Blues music. You really get a feel for how tough life was for a young Buddy Guy and what a wonderfully down to earth real person he is. I couldn't put this book down and have read it several times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUDDY GUY-WHAT A STORY , AN ABSOLUTE BLUES LEGEND !, 25 Sep 2012
By 
pete clack - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can't talk about the blues or Chgicago without mentioning this simply amazing and wonderful man. He is along with B.B.King the last of the blues greats,and thankfully still playoing both at the top of their game.Buddy has alwways been Eric Clapton's biggest inspiration.He has been the inspiration and encourager of so many playing today. Live he's the life and soul of the party,always full of fun and great string pulling licks that could strip the wallpaper off the wall.
This dear friends is his story and what a story it is, written in a style that's like having him sat in a chair beside you and telling you it.It's a warm and enjoyable read,from the morning shopping for hos cooking that day,of visiting his Chicago club Legends run these days by his daughters.How he, when not touring sits by the bar and just enjoys the atmosphere.His amazing career, the people he's played with, the sessions,the travelling,it just ooozes life and appreciation of the life he has.There are not many books about music as infectious as this one because he clearly is a man who cares,who enjoys life to the full and even through the tough times has bounced back.Now well into his seventies still tours the world,makes great records, and plays the guitar that leaves the rest tired and trying to think of ideas to stay on board with him.The storey in his own words by a wonderful artist, and a man who's given so much to the blues,no in music altogether.Utterly unmissable book, you'll read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating stories of the Chicago blues scene!, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely loved this book and wanted it to go on and on. Buddy Guy is a true old style gentleman of the blues and his stories of the great Chicago bluesmen and his own adventures fascinate and entertain. The book is written in the most down to earth and completely unpretentious fashion that makes it the most compelling and pleasurable autobiography that I have read. Loved the book and love the man and his music, especially the acoustic stuff with Junior Wells. I had the pleasure of seeing Buddy live at the Royal Festival Hall about 10 years ago, polka dot Strat and all, and he came across just as he does in the book, polite, humble and an extraordinary entertainer. Ordinarily I would never dream of paying over 11 for an ebook but in this case, as it's Buddy, I parted willingly with the dosh and am pleased that I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When I Left Home
When I Left Home by David Ritz (Audio CD - 8 May 2012)
Used & New from: 10.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews