Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource
Lots of imaginative fonts and styles of lettering. Provides loads of inspiration and detailed guidance on developing technique. An excellent investment.
Published 15 months ago by Ms. Stella R. Fry

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed..
Hmm.. I'm disappointed with this book.
The examples and works from the preview pages are what I expected.
But there are not much things like that in the book.
Some are just 'calligraphy' ..not that creative lettering per se.
I tried to like like it, but after 2 times of reading it, I found myself trying to sell it on internet.
Published 11 months ago by juli


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource, 26 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Lettering (Paperback)
Lots of imaginative fonts and styles of lettering. Provides loads of inspiration and detailed guidance on developing technique. An excellent investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.., 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Lettering (Paperback)
Hmm.. I'm disappointed with this book.
The examples and works from the preview pages are what I expected.
But there are not much things like that in the book.
Some are just 'calligraphy' ..not that creative lettering per se.
I tried to like like it, but after 2 times of reading it, I found myself trying to sell it on internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Lettering (Paperback)
Shows a well-illustrated range of different lettering styles, & some interesting techniques for creating certain effects.
A good book if you're seeking some inspiration....

Be warned, though - to achieve these ideas, you will have to time travel, & actually use strange & archaic materials known as: 'Inks' , 'Paints' , 'Brushes' , 'Pens' , 'Tin Cans' .... & put them straight onto something called 'Paper' .
With your own hands. Quite refreshing in the Age-Of-A-Million-Fonts..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiration for smash book/art journal, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Lettering (Paperback)
This book has lots of ideas, inspiration & instructions to help you create beautiful lettering for your artwork. There are various styles from v modern & funky to classic, grungy etc. There are also web addresses so you can see further work by the different artists. Only drawback is that it should be ring-bound as you will want to have this book open to work from...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Stimulating Book, 23 Feb 2014
By 
A M Reeves (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Lettering (Paperback)
This collection of work and advice from differing artist will have you reaching for your sketchbook. It is a beautiful book to look through. Where it really scores is in the variety of work on display. You just can't help wanting to try some of the lettering and develop it. A really good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Birthday gift, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. S. V. Hancox (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Lettering (Paperback)
I bought this for for my artist daughter in law for her birthday and she is delighted with it as she loves to experiment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best lettering art books i've seen, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Lettering (Paperback)
i think this is one of my best purchases of lettering art/hand lettering books i have made. it didn't disappoint on content, inspiration, ideas, projects, and in its easy to read format. i'd highly recommend this for anyone interested in lettering by hand, or papercrafters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Lettering (Paperback)
Full of inspiration and great tips for lettering. I would recommend it to anyone interested in this sort of thing, I love Jenny Doh too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good visual reference, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Lettering (Paperback)
The main thing I like about this book is the visual aspect and the fact you can read little snippets of information along side the images rather than whole pages of text so it makes for a pretty good visual reference book and this is what I wanted it for-as an inspirational book. If your interest is learning "how to" then you will also find step by step pages and hear from the artists on how they are inspired and the tools they prefer.
It would have been nice to see a few more examples of creative lettering throughout the book and that's why I give it 4 instead of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creative Lettering
Creative Lettering by Jenny Doh (Paperback - 7 Mar 2013)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews