Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all crochet fans
This book is a must have for all the crochet fans out there who, just like me, just want the pattern for the lace, not the clothing itself. I've yet to find a book to have such a large amount of lace patterns, it's amazing. It's lovely that the instructions are in chart and written form, so the book suits everyone. For me it's impossible to crochet from written...
Published on 20 Mar 2011 by Julle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Stitching review
Although many "stitches" are in the book there are many multiples of the same with little variation.
The sections are divided well and the written and graphs well done.
I found that most of the stitches are much the sameish so disappointed.
Published on 6 Sep 2011 by Lady Athena


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all crochet fans, 20 Mar 2011
This book is a must have for all the crochet fans out there who, just like me, just want the pattern for the lace, not the clothing itself. I've yet to find a book to have such a large amount of lace patterns, it's amazing. It's lovely that the instructions are in chart and written form, so the book suits everyone. For me it's impossible to crochet from written instructions, and the charts in the book are very clear. The only problem with the book is the quality of the pictures, or to be more exact the type of yarn used in the pictures. It is hard to distinguish the pattern, because of the yarn, but the pattern can easily be figured out from the charts, it just would have been nice and easier, from the pictures. With better pictures, the book would have deserved five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Book; Shame about the Photos, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very inspirational for those who want to design their own items, the book lists 500 different crochet designs complete with written and chart instructions. I personally find charts much easier to use than written instructions, so I was delighted to see them included.

However: a slight niggle, which is why I haven't given this book 5 stars. What a shame the yarn used for the photos is a bland oatmeal colour; it really doesn't show some of the stitches very well, particularly where a pale background has been used. Compare with Betty Barnden's "Essential Handbook of Crochet Stitches", which has excellent pictures:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Essential-Handbook-Crochet-Stitches/dp/1844485110/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1294321520&sr=8-1

Still, I am pleased with the book: well worth the money, and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to fellow crocheters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of beautiful stitches to creat your own thing., 19 Feb 2011
This book is lovely and I use it often. It has a variety of stitches, from simple to complex, from lacy to textured. Its a lovely book to have so you can refer to it and find new stitches to give you new ideas. Armed with a basic pattern and this book you can do all sorts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 10 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All the possible variations of crochet stitches in one book. The book begins with instructions on all the basic stitch techniques and then shows you how to use these to create all the many different designs. The instructions are very clear and very well illustrated. There is a section on international crochet symbols which, again, is well explained. Each of the 500 designs are explained with a colour photograph, text instructions and a symbol diagram. The terms used are US terminology but this is not a real problem since this is consistent throughout all the instructions. If you prefer to use UK terms a seach on, say, Google for 'crochet conversion table' will give you access to a simple list of the matching terms. [If you also buy the companion book to this on crochet borders, there is a conversion table included]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 28 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an really inspirational book. So far the bits I have tried have worked well. The patterns and pictures whch accompany the written instructions are very helpful. My only additional "want" was for it to have also showed the patterns made in the round, with suggested stich increases. But that is just me being lazy.

I still cannot decide if the author's introdutory confession, that she had come back to and relearnt crochet after a number of years to do the book, inspired confidence or doubt in me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Crochet Stitch Designs, The (Paperback)
All of the patterns and insrcton that you ould every need are here. I am relly pleased with this and wll recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crochet, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Crochet Stitch Designs, The (Paperback)
Super crochet pattern book with easy to follow diagrams, a super little book ideal for a complete novice like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Book of Crochet Stitch Designs, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Crochet Stitch Designs, The (Paperback)
My daughter loves this book. Has all the crochet stitches you could want. Well illustrated and informative.
Would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., 3 Feb 2014
By 
Marie (Doncaster, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Crochet Stitch Designs, The (Paperback)
A lovely book of crochet stitches ideal for a visual learner like me who just started learning to crochet. It's a great help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast delivery, good packaging, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Crochet Stitch Designs, The (Paperback)
I was happy with the delivery, the packaging. I wasnt really happy about all the patterns because I didnt find the ones I was looking for, I hoped this book will contain all the stitches as it says,but i didnt regret my order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Book of Crochet Stitch Designs, The
Complete Book of Crochet Stitch Designs, The by Linda P. Schapper (Paperback - 7 Jan 2012)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews