Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to know how to back-light a herd of African Buffalo?
This book contains top tips from an acknowledged expert and, as is mentioned on the book's back cover, includes just about everything from photographing large icebergs to a tiny Fiddler crabs.

I have long admired the work of Heather Angel and have even attended two of her teaching seminars. For me, her two most important qualities are; not only does she know...
Published 21 months ago by Ned Middleton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I'm not a photographer but my husband is (experienced amateur) and I bought this book for him having seen a review in a wildlife magazine. It's got a lot of commonsense advice, plus a bit more and some lovely photos as you'd expect, but the information is probably already available - and in greater detail - elsewhere.
Published 19 months ago by Lancashirelass


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to know how to back-light a herd of African Buffalo?, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Outdoor Photography (Lark Photographic Book) (Paperback)
This book contains top tips from an acknowledged expert and, as is mentioned on the book's back cover, includes just about everything from photographing large icebergs to a tiny Fiddler crabs.

I have long admired the work of Heather Angel and have even attended two of her teaching seminars. For me, her two most important qualities are; not only does she know what she is doing, she is also able to impart her knowledge through sound teaching techniques.

Such is the high standard of photography selected to demonstrate her craft, most photographers would be delighted to have taken any `ONE' of the many outstanding photographs found inside this book. From the larger subjects of buildings lit at night-time and mountain tops down to the Hummingbird Hawk Moth and droplets of water, each image leaps from the page to say; "This is what you should be aiming for and this is how it is done!"

Altogether, we have 101 tips on every aspect of outdoor photography. Covering everything from planning, equipment, supports, metering, composition, lighting and much more besides, this extremely well-laid-out book is as essential to any photographer working out-of-doors as the camera itself.

Some of those tips are so basic you will wonder why you never thought of them yourself - such as spreader plates (as they are called in the building trade) to prevent your tripod from sinking into the snow. In an earlier version of this book I learned of the existence of `tubular camouflage sleeves' for covering long lenses whereas in this digital version I now learn of other similar equipment and the existence of a company specialising in such items. I am now one of their customers!

Throughout the work, not only do we find examples of the right and wrong way to take a particular shot but also the different ways in which the same image can be portrayed. Elsewhere, we also have examples of how two images from the same location can be merged by hand so that they reflect the different exposures required for each. In short, this book is full of the sort of ideas which stimulate additional ideas in the reader.

Altogether, I rate this as a most outstanding work and certainly one which will teach a great deal to anyone who wishes to improve their craft.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Outdoor Photography (Lark Photographic Book) (Paperback)
good book lots of info to get you going in the right way from the first time you pick it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Digital outdoor photography, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Outdoor Photography (Lark Photographic Book) (Paperback)
Pretty good but not up to the standard I required, RSPB digital photography book was technically better, but still a good book for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book to have around, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Outdoor Photography (Lark Photographic Book) (Paperback)
Quite a handy book has tips tricks and recommendations in. Has some good images too. It's easily laid out and easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Outdoor Photography (Lark Photographic Book) (Paperback)
I'm not a photographer but my husband is (experienced amateur) and I bought this book for him having seen a review in a wildlife magazine. It's got a lot of commonsense advice, plus a bit more and some lovely photos as you'd expect, but the information is probably already available - and in greater detail - elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Photography, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Ms Cook "jancookie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Outdoor Photography (Lark Photographic Book) (Paperback)
accompanies good down to earth advice from Heather Angel. Ms Angel imparts her hugely successful photography experiences in a modest and understandable format whether the reader is advanced or a beginning photographer. In fact the images are sufficiently attractive to stand alone to be enjoyed by non-photographers. I love the practicality of the advice - Ms Angel confides that she opts for a plain old shopping trolley to cart her gear around - this is something I have had to resort to after getting tangled up with walking sticks, essential seat, tripod and all the other paraphenalia, and felt embarrassed about. Now I can push my trolley with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Digital Outdoor Photography (Lark Photographic Book)
Digital Outdoor Photography (Lark Photographic Book) by Heather Angel (Paperback - 7 July 2012)
12.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews