Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great for Adults too!
Im 37 years old just bought my first sewing machine and am clueless so decided what the hell i'll buy this book. Yes it's written for kids but its a brilliant book for beginners. Its simple to follow the pictures are super clear to follow and there are some really cute projects in the back to get you started. In addition it even has pages you can photocopy and use to...
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by autumnchilde

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Learn to sew???
Disappointing. I expected a lot more content for the money. I thought the package that arrived was empty, the book was so small and thin.
Published 7 months ago by Enid


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great for Adults too!, 13 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Im 37 years old just bought my first sewing machine and am clueless so decided what the hell i'll buy this book. Yes it's written for kids but its a brilliant book for beginners. Its simple to follow the pictures are super clear to follow and there are some really cute projects in the back to get you started. In addition it even has pages you can photocopy and use to practice doing straight lines and waves and turns. I like it because it isn't bogged down with lots of technical mumbo jumbo and unnecessary info for complete beginners it just gets you to the nitty gritty so you can get started sewing straight away. Would definately recommend and don't be put off that its for kids its great for any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 10 Jan 2012
My daughter loves this book - she got her first sewing machine for her birthday yesterday and had already read it cover to cover and tried out most of the practice stitches in it. It's bright, colourful and easy to understand. To explain to an 8 year old how to thread a sewing machine is not an easy thing to do but this book give directions simple enough for children to follow and she can't wait to begin making the bag and the cushions. It would be as effective for an adult learner as well as although it simplifies it doesnt patronise. Would recommend it to anyone learning to use a sewing machine of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present for my granddaughter, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My granddaughter would like a sewing machine and I thought this would complement the gift very well. Very good first book for those that have never used a sewing machine before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic sewing book for beginniers, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a lovely book to give to a teenager just starting out with a sewing machine. I bought it for ideas to use with my year 7 and 8 at school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 19 Jun 2012
By 
Julie A. Elder "Joolz 1965" (Stockport UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my 8 year old daughter's birthday along with a mini sewing machine. Great for her as easy to understand and very straight forward. Some easy projects in there as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars get sewing, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book is ready for a Christmas press y, looks interesting,arrived very quickly,a good book to get started on sewing with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for young and old, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my 7 year old and the whole family loved it. With very easy instructions to follow for practice pages, and easily achievable projects, it makes it the perfect beginners guide. It also explains the workings of the sewing machine too. All in all a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great First Book, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just received this book and think it looks great. Yes Im an adult but a total newbie when it comes to sewing, so I need a very basic step by step guide, which this is!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for beginners, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to go with a sewing machine for my 10 year olds Christmas present. The practice sheets at the front are a good idea for first timers and my daughter is looking forward to making the simple skirt at the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First sewing book, 13 Feb 2013
By 
C. A. Whittle (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a gift for my grand daughter who is just learning to use a sewing machine. It has clear instructions and details of some simple and interesting projets. I would recommend this book to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My First Sewing Machine Book (Learn to Sew: Kids)
My First Sewing Machine Book (Learn to Sew: Kids) by Alison Mcnicol (Paperback - 26 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: 3.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews