Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God's obsessive-compulsive disorder to kill., 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
According to Jesus (or whoever wrote his script), we must love God with all our heart and mind and always be like him, who is perfect (Matthew 22:37-38, 5:48). Well, this is utter nonsense, for as this book convincingly demonstrates, the God of the Bible is impossible to love or admire, and to be like or to copy his behaviour, would be sheer madness.

It was in his blog, Dwindling in Unbelief, that Steve Wells began documenting God's killings in the Bible. There he wrote a post for each killing event and kept a running count of the number of victims as he went along. This shockingly informative book is the end result. Wells thinks such a record of God's killings has not been done before, and says (in his introduction) it ''is a shame since God is so proud of his killings,'' and quotes Deuteronomy 32: 39-42 to make his point: ''I kill... I wound... I will make my arrows drunk with blood, and my sword shall devour flesh'' (NRSV). Such satire by the author is used throughout and is a welcome light relief considering the book's dark subject matter.

In revealing God's killings, or this deity's appalling crimes, the author is doing a profoundly honest service indeed. This is in sharp contrast to the strategy of Christian apologists, who continue to con us into believing God's an wonderfully loving, merciful, and just being. Contrary to what they would have us believe, and what this book does so well, the Bible is in fact God's worst enemy. It's betrayal of God can only be described as horrible. As the late C. Dennis McKinsey points out: ''The God of the Bible is one of the most disreputable beings to have ever emerged from the pages of literature. The dossier of his bad acts would put any criminal to shame'' (p170, The Encyclopedia of Biblical Errancy (Prometheus Books, 1995). How true!

The bible's real villain is certainly not Satan. He has been wrongly castigated by believers and made into the bible's scapegoat. It wasn't Satan who killed everything ''on the face of the earth'' except for Noah and his family, eight people (Genesis 6-8; 1 Peter 3:20). It wasn't Satan who killed every Egyptian's firstborn child (Exodus 12: 29-30). It wasn't Satan who turned Lot's wife into ''a pillar of salt'' (Genesis 19: 26) because she looked back at the place she had lived all her life. It wasn't Satan who had a blasphemer stoned to death (Leviticus 24:10-11,23) and another for gathering sticks on the Sabbath day (Numbers 15:33-36). It wasn't Satan who told his followers to, ''Go and attack the Amalekites! Destroy them and all their possessions. Don't have any pity. Kill their men, women, children, and even their babies. Slaughter their cattle, sheep, camels, and donkeys''(1 Samuel 15:1-3). It wasn't Satan who burned people to death for complaining (Numbers 11:1-2). It wasn's Satan who killed Israelites with a plague (Numbers 11:33). Nor is it Satan who has Jesus coming back to kill the millions of non Christians, as the book of Revelation has it, and then having them tormented forever in Hell, etc. No, Satan's not the bad guy that we've been lead to believe.

Wells says at the start of Drunk With Blood,''If the killings described in this book actually happened, then the God of the Bible is not the kind of God that believers pretend him to be.'' I couldn't agree more! Those who worship this God do so out of indoctrination and wilful ignorance and downright fear. Certainly no one in their 'right mind' would want anything to do with such a loathsome, hypocritical bully. Why worship a child killer? And if Jesus is the God of the Bible, as most Christians believe, it's him who's the moral monster with a 'obsessive-compulsive disorder' to kill. Yes, Jesus! Those who would doubt that the biblical God is such a nasty character, should read Drunk With Blood. It's a real eye-opener for those who have the courage to think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An often ironic critique of the "God of Love" as arrogant mass murderer, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steve Wells has delved into those areas of the Bible that the various monotheistic churchmen prefer to ignore. Indeed one of the main contentions in the book is that most of those who believe in the absolute truth of the Bible have never actually read it! Instead they are content to chirrup the mindless (but comforting!) catchphrases and sound-bytes provided to them by their religious leaders. It might help (but certainly not comfort) them to look at the other side of the coin and begin to realise that this monster they worship has always been capable of exercising a mindless and immoral brutality that would make Hitler and Genghis Khan look like sweet little girl scouts by comparison!

The book casts its net wide within the Bible and includes incidents which most of us will have either ignored, glossed over, or missed completely in our reading. Even those sections we may have thought we knew well (like the story of David) have dark and nasty aspects that should demand our closer examination. Steve Wells is quite relentless in his pursuit of this demon God, so the coverage is extremely comprehensive. At times his exasperation shows through and the irony, as well as the language, can become less incisive and more repetitive; but overall it makes an enjoyable, if uncomfortable, read. Adding up the death toll on the way along is a really nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eye-opener. Most Christians don't know their own religion, 1 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. T. P. Ryan "HALman_3001" (Portishead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Full of hate, murder, misogyny and inconsistencies - the bible is the perfect example of why religion is a fallacy, and following one is a foolish endeavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God is love!!!! no way., 30 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book, I wish all believers in "god" would read this. Im an Athiest and proud to be one, especially after reading
this enlightening book. The number of killing's that HE was responsible for make him the worst Serial Killer in memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2.4 million killings and counting, 5 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drunk With Blood: God's killings in the Bible (Paperback)
An excellently written book very easy to read delivering facts and humour.
If you ever wondered how extremists find it so easy to use the bible to support their views you need to read this book. When murder, rape,genocide and child killings are every day activities for their god is it any wonder the world is messed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book. Most highly recommend., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drunk With Blood: God's killings in the Bible (Paperback)
It really opened my eyes about the Bible and the Biblical God. God is neither love, nor loving, nor fair. God is either imaginary or evil and in either event, totally unworthy of praise and worship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Biggest Serial Killer ever, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an enlightening book that shows the "god is love" myth in its true light. It should be compulsory reading for all secondary school children (I don't think the younger children should be faced with the sadism displayed by the so called "all mighty") but they should be taught about the true cost of some of the fairy tales they are introduced to at an early age. All people should be encouraged to think - especially those who believe these stories as true!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The God of Love? Maybe not., 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everyone, believer and non-believer alike, should have the chance to have the 'Revelation' of the darker side of the Lord this book gives you. It's interesting that on the many occasions I've attended a church service of any denomination that this kind of stuff has never come up in the preachings from the pulpit about the God of Love. This book has opened my eyes to his dark side. Get your own bible out and read these passages. You should be astonished, if not angered that we should be expected to give grace and favour to believers of this stuff. I'm pretty certain that most believers are unaware, as was I, of the Lord's blood lust. To those in the pulpit who should be and in all probability are aware of this stuff I can only say that I'm ashamed for you. Reading this might help you understand why we continue to have terrorist atrocities happening in the 21st century - carried out of course by the Lord's most ardent believers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Enjoyable, Hilarious Read., 17 Dec. 2014
By 
H. A. Weedon "Mouser" (North Somercotes, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When reading this work it's important to realise that it's about God's killings in the bible. It does not include all the other nasty things God is recording as having done and the bad behaviour of many of his followers. The plain truth is, the bible doesn't seem able to get anything right. Over and over again it has been proved to be historically inaccurate with a propensity for preferring myth and legend to truth. If the tales reviewed in this work had appeared any where else other than in the bible they would have been assigned to the realm of folk lore concocted by imaginative story tellers.

Fortunately, I am familiar with both the bible and the apocrypha, which means that I already knew the legends reviewed in this work. What I really enjoyed about Steve Wells' book is the humour. It's such an hilarious read. When we look back over the past two thousand years and reflect on all the pain and suffering religion and religious strife has brought upon the world and countless numbers of innocent people in it, we can only feel deep distress at the complete absence any any sense of humour when it comes to the assessment of so called 'sacred writings'. That's to say, the lack of it on the part of so called 'scholars'. There's plenty of evidence to show that 'common people', through the ages, have seen the funny side of it all.

Having known quite a number of clergy in my time I'm well aware that more of them than may be realised have serious doubts about the bible, which is why they are very selective when teaching from it. However, as this delightful work reveals throughout, this is not how the bible sees it. Whilst people may have to 'toe the line' God can do just as he likes, torturing and killing people according to his whimsical will. In fact, he is exposed here as vengeful, petty-minded, sub-human tyrant.

This work makes us think about pigs.* Why? Because pigs, which are condemned in the bible as unclean animals because they don't chew the cud, are actually cleaner and better behaved than the god who is supposed to have dictated the first five books of the Old Testament to Moses, which is a miracle in itself because, if true, it means that Moses describes his own death. Pigs build nests for their babies to be born in, they never foul their living quarters, always defecate well away from where they are feeding, are extra-careful about their body hygiene and they simply don't engage in the outrageous cruelty along the lines exposed in this very readable work.

When we read this book I've little doubt that quite a number of us will wish we had thought of researching and writing something similar. Best of all, as any honest historian will tell you, hardly any of it is true, which makes it all quite hilarious, if it wasn't so sad that so many people still believe in it all. Anyway, it's a great read filled with a delightfully infectious sense of humour.

* Did you know that the bible says we can eat hares because they 'they chew the cud', which, of course, they don't. If God had actually created all the animals you'd think he would know that hares don't chew the cud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb and rivetting book!, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
I. Turner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you need 'ammunition' to fight off the god-botherers... this is IT! I have been an atheist for almost 50 years and this book reminds me why! No Abrahamic theist could still support the god of the bible after reading this one! If you are such a theist, remember, this is just the list of the killings done by *your* god as written in *your* bible! If this portrays the true 'morals' of this 'god', then it is the most evil entity in all literature. His kill-count is in the league of Stalin, Hitler and Pol Pot: he's up there with the big ones alright! Oh.... and the book is funny, too..... once you realise it's all myth! The book compares a head-count of the deaths by god and by satan, The totals are simply staggering: by comparison, satan is only a serial killer: god, on the other hand, performs genocide, repeatedly. For example, he kills every-single Amelekite (men, women, children and babies plus all their animals) not once, but *three* times! From where did they keep coming? Clearly, god doesn't like Amelekites... Buy this book, if only to read the total... it's a killer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drunk With Blood: God's killings in the Bible
Drunk With Blood: God's killings in the Bible by Steve Wells (Paperback - 17 July 2010)
Used & New from: £58.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews