Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing bugs me about this, a true classic.
I read something by Ricky Gervais about this book (of which I'd never heard of before) and thought I'd give it a go. Its the first book I'd ever read in the 'absurd fiction' category and I absolutely loved it.
Published 15 months ago by Glen

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cartoon Edition!
Downloaded this and found that it was a cartoon edition! This was not mentioned anywhere and the small excerpt available did not reveal such.

Returned for refund.
Published on 24 Sep 2012 by Tariki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cartoon Edition!, 24 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Metamorphosis (Kindle Edition)
Downloaded this and found that it was a cartoon edition! This was not mentioned anywhere and the small excerpt available did not reveal such.

Returned for refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Humorous with a dark undercurrent disguised by metaphor, 26 Feb 2014
By 
N. Miles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Metamorphosis (Kindle Edition)
A fun premise, written in a matter-of-fact tone which emphasises the humour of the strange situation. My copy wasn't terribly well translated - which unintentionally added to the humour at times or made it (minutely) confusing at other times - and the end seemed abrupt and inconclusive, but it was an interesting read.
Gregor's sudden metamorphosis may be considered a metaphor for long-term illness (physical or mental) and how that affects the way people around may view the invalid: first with kindness and consideration which turns to fed-up contempt. I believe that is the point Kafka is making underneath the humour of the literal ridiculous situation. And the ending (whether you look at the story literally or metaphorically) is bittersweet. It feels like a sad breath of guilty relief.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointing, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Metamorphosis (Kindle Edition)
The writing is clear and flows but I found the characters flat and the plot slow and obvious. Overall I was disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 11 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Metamorphosis (Kindle Edition)
Metamorphosis is the story of Gregor Samsa who wakes one day to discover he has changed into an insect. Mostly written from Gregor's point of view, the story follows the impact of this change on Gregor and his family.

It is possible to read all sorts of metaphors into the story along the lines of alienation or objectification. To me it suggests that Gregor was never truly loved for himself, but for what he could bring to the family by way of his income as a travelling salesman. That this makes for a toxic relationship is clear at the end when, forced to support themselves and free of their dependence on Gregor, the other family members begin to bloom.

An odd, disturbing and thought provoking study of a family by a superb writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing bugs me about this, a true classic., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Metamorphosis (Kindle Edition)
I read something by Ricky Gervais about this book (of which I'd never heard of before) and thought I'd give it a go. Its the first book I'd ever read in the 'absurd fiction' category and I absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Weird, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Metamorphosis (Kindle Edition)
Again, didn't understand this book. Found it confusing and couldn't make it out ! Perhaps there is hidden meanings but I couldn't fathom them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A weird and thought-provoking book, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Metamorphosis (Kindle Edition)
Much has been written on this classic I'm sure. It is a short book that is a quick, absorbing and easy read but what does it all mean? It is about a man who wakes up to find himself an insect and it follows the effect this has on his family and how he comes to terms with the change and adapts to it. Without having read any text studies on the book, I am assuming it is about feelings of alienation and being 'different' - this can be experienced in many ways, eg the emotional difficulties of being a teenager, or the lack of acceptance that a person might feel if they are homosexual. Gregor is disenchanted with life also, in a job he hates and feeling he is responsible for his family, this too provides a theme of being trapped in a life from which there is no escape. Many questions are left unanswered. Although an easy book to read, it is not an easy book to analyse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe expecting too much?, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Metamorphosis (Kindle Edition)
It's a longish story about exactly what it says, metamorphosis. It presents a pretty grim view of human kind with close family moving away after the protagonist suddenly transforms into an insect. The story somehow reminded me of death, and how family cope with dear departed. Slowly over a period of time life returns to normality as the living slowly fill gapes left by the departed. Frankly I did not find this particular story so stimulating. I also noticed that there was no mention of any faith, which may explain Gregory's predicament. Faith can prove to be a great check in times of great depression. Wonder why Kafka missed throwing faith in the mix?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hidden meanings, 13 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Metamorphosis (Kindle Edition)
Feel there is many hidden messages that have been missed. Will have to read again. Makes u think about some real world situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Novel good, edition not!, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Metamorphosis (Kindle Edition)
The novel itself by kafka was great but this kindle edition missed the last page of the book! Not happy at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Metamorphosis Edition: First
The Metamorphosis Edition: First by Franz Kafka (Paperback - 2010)
Used & New from: £5.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews