Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is a fascinating book. Freud talks about how the mistakes we make give clues about our subconscious thoughts and motives; he describes the different types of errors we make and what they say about us, giving many interesting examples of each type, including slips of the tongue and forgetting. It is written in a simple style, and the use of examples really helps get...
Published on 5 Oct. 2008 by S. P. Ramsey

versus
12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tiresome
I had to read this book as it is required reading of the hypnotherapy course that I am following. Had I not been forced to read it I would not have got past the first chapter. Freud gives seemingly endless examples of how slips of the tongue, pen, etc. reveal our inner thoughts and desires. Perhaps these were interesting and amusing a hundred years ago, but I found them...
Published on 26 May 2012 by Peter Hall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Oct. 2008
By 
S. P. Ramsey "themightyrambo" (Bath, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fascinating book. Freud talks about how the mistakes we make give clues about our subconscious thoughts and motives; he describes the different types of errors we make and what they say about us, giving many interesting examples of each type, including slips of the tongue and forgetting. It is written in a simple style, and the use of examples really helps get the point across- overall a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best introduction to Freud, 5 Jan. 2012
The inconsequential events of everyday life - forgetting names, accidents, slips of the tongue - are given Freud's psychoanalytic treatment in this volume. Freud displays his interpretive genius here more than in any other of his works (even more so than in his 'Interpretation of Dreams', the book most revered by Freud himself and his orthodox followers). Showing a keen eye for spotting the pervasive influence of the omnipotent unconcious, Freud gathers examples from his life (which are of endless fascination with those interested in his life as well as his theories) and in literature in which repressed unconcious desires find expression in the contrivences of everyday life. This book remains for me possibly the most concise, thorough and easy-going introduction to the writings of Sigmund Freud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent book and easy to understand the subject and can help self or others. great value for money. i would recommend this book for reading .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is what it is. A good account of what I needed for study. I shall use this as a referrence/guide for my work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Psychopathology of Everyday Life (Paperback)
Fantastic! Bigger than anticipated, but no regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great reference bool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tiresome, 26 May 2012
By 
Peter Hall (Co Kerry, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had to read this book as it is required reading of the hypnotherapy course that I am following. Had I not been forced to read it I would not have got past the first chapter. Freud gives seemingly endless examples of how slips of the tongue, pen, etc. reveal our inner thoughts and desires. Perhaps these were interesting and amusing a hundred years ago, but I found them exceedingly tiresome. To give one example of each type of parapraxis would have been sufficient, but Freud gives many of each and then goes into an extremely detailed explanation of what he believes was the motive behind the slip.
Personally I found some of the explanations to be contrived and all it proved to me was that if you look hard enough and long enough for a hidden motive you will find one. What Freud seemed incapable of accepting was that we are fallible and sometimes we simply make mistakes, or have a failure of memory, without any hidden motive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 27 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The summary as written on line prepared one for this book. No great surprises. Enjoyable to read if this is your taste in literature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Psychopathology of Everyday Life
The Psychopathology of Everyday Life by Sigmund Freud (Paperback - 4 Jun. 2010)
£4.51
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews