Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Inspirational
Brother Lawrence was born 400 years ago. I get the impression that he would have been considered fanatical and radical (for his time), but I found his message of God to be passionate and inspirational. You may wonder how the words of someone who lived so long ago could possibly have any relevance to your life today. The Bible is as relevant today as when it was written...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by S. A. Churcher

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not annotated
This book is misdescribed. It is not annotated by Gregory Bellarmine. It contains his account of St Paul's development as a mystic from Acts and the epistles, including Ephesians, which has little reference to Brother Lawrence.

I cannot comment on the translation of Lawrence's letters, but the questions are poor: "Discuss the author's use of language and...
Published 10 months ago by Abigail CM


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Inspirational, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brother Lawrence was born 400 years ago. I get the impression that he would have been considered fanatical and radical (for his time), but I found his message of God to be passionate and inspirational. You may wonder how the words of someone who lived so long ago could possibly have any relevance to your life today. The Bible is as relevant today as when it was written 2000 years ago. God's Word never changes. Read this book and let the truths of God touch your heart. Brother Lawrence was certainly led by the Holy Spirit and his writtings reflect the truths contained within the Bible. It is definitely recommended reading to anyone who wants to know the real power of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Practice of the Presence of God, 12 Nov 2009
A tiny gem - 100 pages or so. The words and advice of a humble seventeenth century monk who literally followed St. Paul's advice to "pray constantly". A charming book about a simple - very holy man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a wonderful guide to daily spiritual behavior., 18 Dec 1998
By A Customer
Practicing the Presence of God presents the way Brother Lawrence recommends that we stay in touch with God on a daily basis. It is practical, simple, and, above all, it works. It is not too dissimilar to the concept behind In His Steps (I think that's the title) where one asks at every step, "What would Christ do?" In this case one, in all of one's daily activities (washing the dishes, studying, anything), puts oneself into God's presence (as St. John of the Christ says, it CAN be by imagination, or in reality, or whatever works for you), one dedicates every action to God, and one lets the awareness of God's presence guide every decision and movement throughout the day. Thus life itself becomes prayer, and every move one makes is a sacrament. I know, from experience, that this works, and that this is a very powerful method of bringing God's presence into one's daily activities. What starts by imagination quickly evolves into reality, and this provides both guidance and protection throughout the day. It can also be VERY demanding - God is not just a presence on Sunday morning, or at our meditation sessions - he is actively carried with us throughout the day, so demands are exacted from us concerning our conduct and behavior that are on a very high level. This is NOT thoughtless living! It can be heroism of the highest level. But it can also be one of the most effective methods of making fast progress in the spiritual life. One should commune with God whenever possible - in prayer or meditation - and than take this practice with one in one's daily activities, so one draws upon those inner resources that are awakened through prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth reading, 4 May 2010
By 
Likealaugh (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
I ordered this for a friend, who said the book is a real inspiration, so I will probably get another copy, for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars apt for today, 18 Oct 2011
By 
mrs "I run a personal ironing service, I list... (Nr Cirencester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
brother lawrence simple life, he shows how when doing the most uninteresting chores that this time can be used in prayer. great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Destiny (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent that this is now on Kindle but we need the one that includes the Principles and The Ways which is the better version as these additional works teach simply how to Practice His Presence which is vital. Can we have it on Kindle please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent litttle book, 29 Feb 2012
By 
J. Townhill "Joy" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent little book that I would recommened to anyone. The theme of the book is how someone can know and feel the presence of God with them in an going way every day. Brother Lawrence discovered the joy of knowing God's presence and feeling the love and pleasure of God towards him. This became his daily experience for 40 years. Brother Lwarence became known to the monastic community where he lived and worked as one who knew God. His fame trickled out into other religious communities nearby and the world around them. The book is short and is made up of several very short chapters (many of them were originally written as letters to friends and acquaintances by Brother Lawrence) which makes it very easy to read - you can read it for 5 minutes a day in a couple of weeks. So if you are somone who prays daily, you can make reading this book part of your daily devotions. This book will help you experience God's love and feel his presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holiness, 14 April 2009
By 
J. GHiscox "J.G. Hiscox" (gwent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Read this book if you want to get a closer walk with God
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Practice of the Presence of God, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recommend to all Christians like me to try and read this book " The Practice of the Prsence of God" it keeps us in tune with the Almighty, especially in this times where there are so many distractions in this world we live today too many worldly conveniences, technologies,and too focused to obtaining wealth which are all material things and we forget God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Practice of the Presence of God, 14 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. CJ Harries (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
.

Not a long book but so inspiring Brother Lawrences' words are just as applicable to day as when they were first written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Practice of the Presence of God
The Practice of the Presence of God by Brother Lawrence (Paperback - 19 May 2010)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews