Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Inspirational
Brother Lawrence was born 400 years ago. I get the impression that he would have been considered fanatical and radical (for his time), but I found his message of God to be passionate and inspirational. You may wonder how the words of someone who lived so long ago could possibly have any relevance to your life today. The Bible is as relevant today as when it was written...
Published on 21 Feb. 2012 by S. A. Churcher

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Terribly produced
This is a wonderful and truly enriching text (would receive five stars), but received one star due to the incredibly shoddy edition, which is an insult to the text and the reader: you could do better at home, so I recommend buying another. Put simply, this is a cut-and-paste of a freely available text on the Project Guttenberg website, pasted (badly) into word and not...
Published 4 months ago by Anthelm


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Inspirational, 21 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brother Lawrence was born 400 years ago. I get the impression that he would have been considered fanatical and radical (for his time), but I found his message of God to be passionate and inspirational. You may wonder how the words of someone who lived so long ago could possibly have any relevance to your life today. The Bible is as relevant today as when it was written 2000 years ago. God's Word never changes. Read this book and let the truths of God touch your heart. Brother Lawrence was certainly led by the Holy Spirit and his writtings reflect the truths contained within the Bible. It is definitely recommended reading to anyone who wants to know the real power of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a wonderful guide to daily spiritual behavior., 18 Dec. 1998
By A Customer
Practicing the Presence of God presents the way Brother Lawrence recommends that we stay in touch with God on a daily basis. It is practical, simple, and, above all, it works. It is not too dissimilar to the concept behind In His Steps (I think that's the title) where one asks at every step, "What would Christ do?" In this case one, in all of one's daily activities (washing the dishes, studying, anything), puts oneself into God's presence (as St. John of the Christ says, it CAN be by imagination, or in reality, or whatever works for you), one dedicates every action to God, and one lets the awareness of God's presence guide every decision and movement throughout the day. Thus life itself becomes prayer, and every move one makes is a sacrament. I know, from experience, that this works, and that this is a very powerful method of bringing God's presence into one's daily activities. What starts by imagination quickly evolves into reality, and this provides both guidance and protection throughout the day. It can also be VERY demanding - God is not just a presence on Sunday morning, or at our meditation sessions - he is actively carried with us throughout the day, so demands are exacted from us concerning our conduct and behavior that are on a very high level. This is NOT thoughtless living! It can be heroism of the highest level. But it can also be one of the most effective methods of making fast progress in the spiritual life. One should commune with God whenever possible - in prayer or meditation - and than take this practice with one in one's daily activities, so one draws upon those inner resources that are awakened through prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent litttle book, 29 Feb. 2012
By 
J. Townhill "Joy" (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent little book that I would recommened to anyone. The theme of the book is how someone can know and feel the presence of God with them in an going way every day. Brother Lawrence discovered the joy of knowing God's presence and feeling the love and pleasure of God towards him. This became his daily experience for 40 years. Brother Lwarence became known to the monastic community where he lived and worked as one who knew God. His fame trickled out into other religious communities nearby and the world around them. The book is short and is made up of several very short chapters (many of them were originally written as letters to friends and acquaintances by Brother Lawrence) which makes it very easy to read - you can read it for 5 minutes a day in a couple of weeks. So if you are somone who prays daily, you can make reading this book part of your daily devotions. This book will help you experience God's love and feel his presence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Practice of the Presence of God, 12 Nov. 2009
A tiny gem - 100 pages or so. The words and advice of a humble seventeenth century monk who literally followed St. Paul's advice to "pray constantly". A charming book about a simple - very holy man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars apt for today, 18 Oct. 2011
By 
mrs "I run a personal ironing service, I list... (Nr Cirencester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
brother lawrence simple life, he shows how when doing the most uninteresting chores that this time can be used in prayer. great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
Destiny (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent that this is now on Kindle but we need the one that includes the Principles and The Ways which is the better version as these additional works teach simply how to Practice His Presence which is vital. Can we have it on Kindle please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Practice of the Presence of God, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I recommend to all Christians like me to try and read this book " The Practice of the Prsence of God" it keeps us in tune with the Almighty, especially in this times where there are so many distractions in this world we live today too many worldly conveniences, technologies,and too focused to obtaining wealth which are all material things and we forget God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth reading, 4 May 2010
By 
Likealaugh (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
I ordered this for a friend, who said the book is a real inspiration, so I will probably get another copy, for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom from the Kitchen, 1 Oct. 2011
This timeless classic shows that some of the simplest truths are the most relevant and profound.

Brother Lawrence reminds us that to be a Christian is primarily to have a personal relationship with God through Christ; it's more than a matter of signing up to a particular religion or moral code.

In a few brief letters and accounts of conversations he gives simple practical guidelines for living as a Christian and knowing what it is to be free from guilt and fear - in fact the title says it all, but don't let that prevent you from acquiring this book! I found it managed to be both challenging and encouraging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIPS TOUCHED BY GOD, 11 Nov. 2012
By 
B. G. Strand "strandbg" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The simple words in this classic book are as 'ointment poured forth' from this humble Carmelite lay-brother ,Lawrence,whose lips were truly 'touched by God'.He shares this simple but essential teaching..that whether within or without of appointed prayer times..'practice the prescence of God' ie there need not be any appointed times for such two way conversations. Be aware, though , if you download this 250 year old challenge , it will surely change the life of all those 'He has made teachable'.Well worth the space on the kindle library of all committed Christians
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Practice of the Presence of God
The Practice of the Presence of God by Brother Lawrence (Paperback - 19 May 2010)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews