Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying sequel.
As a fan of the game series The Elder Scrolls I was interested to hear a book had been released detailing a story following after the events of 'Oblivion', but cautious as to what to expect of how accurately (or not) an author might depict the region of Tamriel, it's peoples, cultures, and other-worldly beings....

The growing trend of books being written based...
Published on 25 Oct 2011 by Salzab

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unrelenting doom and gloom
I quite enjoyed the first book, although it started better than it finished. So I got the next. Actually I've stalled 3/4 of the way through. I've got a bit bored with the unrelently disasters and quite bored with characters.
Published 9 months ago by Julia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A satisfying sequel., 25 Oct 2011
As a fan of the game series The Elder Scrolls I was interested to hear a book had been released detailing a story following after the events of 'Oblivion', but cautious as to what to expect of how accurately (or not) an author might depict the region of Tamriel, it's peoples, cultures, and other-worldly beings....

The growing trend of books being written based on videogame worlds may still be seen as a fringe subject within literature, and therefore little expected in the way of quality of writing. But, a mainstay of the Elder Scrolls series is not only the open to explore game locations, but also of a carefully concieved world, formed with intricate storytelling within the fabric of the games. In the quests you yourself can play through, the extensive conversation of multitude characters, and notably; the many IN game books.

The first book, although with a few issues unpopular with some readers, held my interest enough to buy this sequel, and I'm glad I did. There's a lot crammed into this book and it feels the author has really dived into the game-world this time, bringing us face to face with the terrible and mysterious Daedra, familiar creatures, places, factions, and characters.

There are little mentions of goings on in the world, new characters involved, intrigue and plots quickening as time runs out and everything comes together. -And our 'heroes' adapting, and not nessesarily for the better; but to survive and save what they can....

I dont care if literature snobs might think you cant be inspired or thrilled by a game-based book. This one for me has passed the biggest test. -To qualify as part of the Elder Scrolls series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Nov 2011
I didn't enjoy Lord of Souls as much as The Infernal City, but it was still an incredible book that I could not put down. The story was very compelling throughout and the ending was superb. If you're not a fan or are unfamiliar with the Elder Scrolls series this won't be for you. If you are a fan get both books now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first novel, great respect to lore while adding new concepts, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this novel and was suitably hooked, using every lunch break at work to read through it. Greg Keyes pays respect to the Elder Scrolls lore with consummate skill, introducing some new characters and concepts without breaking any lore.

The theme involving foods, tastes and gastronomy continues from the previous novel and continues to blow my mind how creative Greg Keyes is in making the "cuisine" feel truly alien and lovecraftingly epicurean.

A select few of the Daedra and their realms are featured. I felt this was handled better in this novel as the focus was on those with a direct investement in the events. In the previous novel The Infernal City, a couple of them felt sort of pedestrian, just there to tick a box.

The 2 highlights of this novel and the previous are:
1. One mentioned by many other fans of Elder Scrolls - we are privy to delicious lore regarding the Argonians and the Hist.
2. The development of the characters Annaig and Mere-Glim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read for Elder Scrolls fans., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While i enjoyed this book, i would not recommend it for people who aren't fans of the video games. The reason for this being that the book uses a lot of names of people, places and things that only a fan of the series would know what they are. The was a good read, i connected with the characters and the storyline enough to keep me reading, not a masterpiece though, which i suppose is expected in video game adaptations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lord of Souls 2, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, good sequel to Infernal City and with some excellently chosen references to the Elder Scrolls games. Characterisation was far better in both books than I expected from an adaptation of a PC game series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another piece of tamriels time line, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great freestanding book, well written. A good follow up to the first book and a nice indie to the elder scrolls series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Only 2 books???, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr Keyes,

Do the world a favour and write more elder scrolls novels! I could go into a detailed review of these brilliant books but instead I will make a suggestion...

Elder scrolls online has recently been released... a novel on the Alliance War would blow minds Greg. Do it!!! and if you do... Daggerfall Convenant all the way :)

Jordan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unrelenting doom and gloom, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Julia (Guildford, Surrey England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I quite enjoyed the first book, although it started better than it finished. So I got the next. Actually I've stalled 3/4 of the way through. I've got a bit bored with the unrelently disasters and quite bored with characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book based in the realm of the Elder scrolls, 21 Feb 2014
By 
M Allan (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyed the Skyrim game so was nice to read book based on the Elder scrolls i mean it references things from the lore of the game like Umbra which any true Fan of Elder Scrolls will know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game playing fans!, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good story for game playing/ sci-fi fans.
Easy to down load, and good for reading on the move. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of Souls (Elder Scrolls)
Lord of Souls (Elder Scrolls) by J. Gregory Keyes (MP3 CD - 23 July 2012)
Used & New from: £30.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews