Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the way things are - no dramas or crisis
For spiritual or non spiritual types, this is a beautifully written book explaining the simplistic forms of life that we choose to create and then confuse and/or burden ourselves with.
We all bring baggage with us based on good and bad experiences yet are not always aware of why or how.
Based on the animation kids characters - Winnie the Pooh, Piglet and all...
Published on 16 Aug. 2001 by heddi@imberpr.demon.co.uk

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT A HARDCOVER BOOK!
The content is fine...but this is not a hardback book! An internet ISBN search also lists it as a hardcover book, it is not, it's a paperback. This is obviously where the seller made the error of relying on this information rather than checking the physical book.
Published 2 months ago by fran powell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the way things are - no dramas or crisis, 16 Aug. 2001
For spiritual or non spiritual types, this is a beautifully written book explaining the simplistic forms of life that we choose to create and then confuse and/or burden ourselves with.
We all bring baggage with us based on good and bad experiences yet are not always aware of why or how.
Based on the animation kids characters - Winnie the Pooh, Piglet and all their friends - the author uses these strong personalities of each to break down our daily pre-conceived ideas of how we view life, tend to over-exaggerate life challenges and create problems based on these past experiences.
The characters are used as examples to help us determine which (if not a bit of all) personality type we primarily fall under and understand what, why and how we think like we do.
I recommend anyone to read the book, wait a year and then re-read again. The second time around, the reader will start to acknowledge or confirm their own progressions based on understanding this book and possibly using examples to better their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful!, 15 Jan. 2012
By 
Kenkonti "Little-bit-of-bread-and-no-cheese" (Chelmsford, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Would you like to have an understanding of the basics of Taoism? In the past have you browsed through the books on Taoism in Waterstones, read a few lines which made no sense at all and promplty returned the book on the shelf? Did you go as far as to actually purchase Lao-tzu's Tao Te Ching only to have it sitting on your shelf as an ornament, occasionally picked up, a few lines read and then promptly put back in-situ (maybe I'll read it another time)? But there is something inside you of course that wants to know more about Taoism, you have a deep rooted feeling that it will be good for you, almost as if your higher self is pushing you towards it. Well all is fine, you have been going with the flow recently, taking life as it comes and finding things a lot easier, and you have ended up here reading these reviews. This is a delightful book. This is where you will get your first understanding of the principles of Taoism, of going with the flow, of the uncarved block, etc. The principles of Taoism here are put simply (which is always better). Gone are the abstract quotes (now what do they mean by this?). It's a delightful read, with the help of our friends from the 100 Acre Wood (even Eeyore has something important to teach us), wonderfully written by the sincere and genuine Benjamin Hoff. This isn't a guy who is in this for the money, he loves his Taoism, he loves his Pooh, and wants more people to benefit from the ancient chinese teachings. You so often read claims of books that will 'change your life' but they never really do. Well this one might, probably in a gentle subtle way to begin with (which is always better). You must be on your spiritual path to be considering buying this book. Should you buy it? Well, what does your intuition say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An attitude changing book resulting in a more relaxed person, 20 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
The principles within this book make you really think about the way you deal with life and life's events. Pooh Bear illustrates the Taoism attitude towards life perfectly and since reading this book I have become a far more relaxed and happy person. Having now read it a number of times I can say that everytime I read it I feel an overwhelming sense of contentedness and a feeling that whatever happens everything will "come out in the wash!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Average Bear..., 9 Nov. 2013
By 
This simple & charming book, first published in 1982, ingeniously weaves the principles of Taoism (the way of the universe in ancient Chinese philosophy) with the more humdrum & familiar territory of the tales of Winnie the Pooh & his friends in the Hundred Acre Forest.

This analogy works perfectly, as Taoist philosophy is worked in to the way that Pooh goes about his life, wide-eyed & innocent like a child, but somehow ultimately all the more wise for doing so.
Benjamin Hoff successfully combines text & drawings from the originals A.A. Milne stories with his own conversations with Pooh, & takes us on a journey of discovery as we get to discover our own Pooh-like voice of wisdom.
More was to follow ten years later with the sequel, The Te of Piglet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No poo-poohing..., 22 Dec. 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
`The Tao of Pooh', a fascinating synthesis of Eastern philosophy and Western children's literature, is done largely in conversational style between Benjamin Hoff, erstwhile writer, photographer and musician with a penchant for forests and bears. Thus, Pooh makes a natural philosophical companion. But, more than a companion, Pooh is, for Hoff, the very embodiment of the Tao.
`It's about how to stay happy and calm under all circumstances!' I yelled.
'Have you read it?' asked Pooh.
This is two-way book: to explain Taoism through Winnie-the-Pooh, and to explain Winnie-the-Pooh (not always an easy task itself) through Taoism. Taoism, more academically, is a religion indigenous to China, built upon teachings primarily of Lao-tzu, with significant influence from Buddha and K'ung Fu-tse. It is in the teachings of harmony and emptiness and being of Lao-tzu, however, that Taoism draws its meaning, believing that earth is a reflection of heaven, and that the world `is not a setter of traps but a teacher of valuable lessons.'
As with many religions, this one took various guises: philosophic, monastic, structural, folk. But through them all, the imperceptible Tao, the essence of being, essentially undescribable, shapes the universe continually out of chaos, with a yin and yang alteration of perpetual transformation, in which nothing remains eternal save the Tao.
This makes Pooh a perfect example and exemplar. `For the written character P'u, the typical Chinese dictionary will give a definition of 'natural, simple, plain, honest.' P'u is composed of two separate characters combined: the first, the 'radical' or root-meaning one, is that for tree or wood; the second, the 'phonetic' or sound-giving one, is the character for dense growth or thicket.'
Through semantic changes, perfectly in keeping with the Tao, we find that Pooh, or P'u, is actually a tree in the thicket, or a wood not cut, or finally, an Uncarved Block. And this, of course, is what pure being is.
Pooh, in his journey through the Tao, with the Tao, of the Tao (it is a hard one to nail down, isn't it?) encounters many. This includes Eeyore, the terminally morose, who represents Knowledge for the sake of Complaining about Something. It also includes Owl, the Western successor of the 'Confucianist Dedicated Scholar', who believes he has all truth as his possession, and studies Knowledge for the Sake of Knowledge (even if it isn't always the best knowledge). `You can't help respecting anybody who can spell TUESDAY, even if he doesn't spell it right; but spelling isn't everything. There are days when spelling Tuesday simply doesn't count.'
Of course, all of the knowledge of the Owl, accompanied by the variable helpfulness of Rabbit who cannot stop activity in favour of just being something, couldn't figure out what had become of Christopher Robin, who left the Very Clear Note on his door:
GON OUT
BACKSON
BISY
BACKSON
Who or what is a Backson? Backsons are those people trying to outrun their shadows and their footprints, not realising that to stand still and rest in the shade defeats the power of both. And of course, the Bisy Backson is never at a standstill. And of course, one cannot experience the Tao, be the Tao, know the Tao (well, you get the Tao) if one is perpetually on the run.
The Bisy Backson is always
GONE OUT
BACK SOON
BUSY
BACK SOON
or, maybe GONE SOON. Anywhere. Anywhere he hasn't been. Anywhere but where he is. Of course, the idea of not going anywhere is abhorrent to him, and there is no concept of being able to do nothing.
Nothingness frees the mind. Nothing works like nothing. For there is nothing to distract you. Nothing to get in the way. Nothing to hinder you. Nothing means anything.
Now, read that last sentence again, carefully.
Nothing means anything.
Any thing is by definition itself, but when it is no thing, it can become potentially any thing.
'Oh, I see,' said Pooh.
Wisdom lies in the way of Pooh, who shirks the busy-ness of Rabbit, the intellectual hubris of Owl, and the doom-saying of Eeyore. Pooh simply is, and enjoys being who he is. Pooh is a Master, who knows the Way. Learn from him. Learn to be with him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 Novel, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
ok if you haven't read this book you really have to, it wasn't a best seller for nothing. It gets deep without being silly, great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No matter what you say, Pooh Bear is a Genius., 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The idea is genius, the writing style is genius, and that lovable yellow bear... is a genius too ;)

We HUGELY overcomplicate things in life, looking down on 'the simple' because we deem ourselves to be 'too busy/intelligent/important'.

However, it is impossible for us little humans to ever entirely understand the Universe, time and the way of life, so why not take on the Way of Pooh instead? It seems to work for him! :P

I couldn't help a constant smile lightning my face whenever I read this book this book, and I challenge anyone not to do the same! Please stop angrily racing around office floors late into the night, fuelled by crazy caffeine - read it!

(I also say this considering I feel ashamed that a thoughtlessly placed lamp burnt a hole in my old Pooh Bear teddy's back many Christmas' ago, because I was too consumed with greedily opening my new toys rather to care for his wellbeing... Therefore this is my way of saying sorry - please forgive me Pooh! :P)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic work, 8 July 2012
By 
The Tai Chi Club (Ripley, Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has a huge following within the T'ai Chi Ch'uan community. It uses text from Pooh books to create an imaginary conversation with Pooh about the deeper meaning of the Tao (Way or path of life). Just read the first chapter to get the idea.The Tao of Pooh and Te of Piglet (Wisdom of Pooh)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful simplicity - fantastic!, 12 Nov. 2014
My favourite book of all time, The Tao of Pooh is the embodiment of beautiful simplicity. It really is a wonderful read filled with insight and wisdom that is presented in such a simple way. I have read it numerous times and on each occasion it has still managed to inspire and impress.

The life wisdom within this book is applicable to anyone and I even think this would be a great book to put on the secondary school curriculum as it has so much of import contained in the observations of such a unassuming little bear.

It's one book that definitely makes me think 'I wish I'd written this.' Hoff has given the world a classic. Unfortunately, I did not feel the same way about the Te of Piglet. Still, Hoff has produced a fantastic, illuminating and life affirming book in The Tao of Pooh, one that makes that bear even more adored than he already was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favourites, 4 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao of Pooh (Hardcover)
I came across this wonderful book many years ago because I am interested in the Tao and I have always loved Winnie the Pooh.
So the combination of the two should be great and it was and it is. It may be not the deepest and most profound way of describing the Tao, which can't be described anyway, but somehow I have always been inspired by it. For me it is the high point of Benjamin Hoff's work, because the companion volume, the Teh of Piglet, seems to pale in comparison and has never felt as inspiring. A side observation: it seems that the first example of a writer's or artist's oeuvre that I encounter always gets a special place in my heart, even if it is objectively ( insofar as that is possible) not the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tao of Pooh
The Tao of Pooh by Benjamin Hoff (Audio CD - 23 Jan. 2012)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews