Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely valuable book to have by you when carrying out a dissertation project
Research Design by Creswell is a life saver for anyone who is starting to carry out research! It includes valuable step by step information to guide you through the process (from thinking up your idea to literature searching, designing your study and writing it up at the end). It also includes important points about what you need to include in a research proposal and the...
Published on 22 Mar 2009 by Rebecca

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Course Text
This text was recommended for a course I am doing. It does a good job of bringing together qualitative and quantitative research methods and explains mixed methods approaches quite well.
Published 9 months ago by Owlet Cottage


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely valuable book to have by you when carrying out a dissertation project, 22 Mar 2009
Research Design by Creswell is a life saver for anyone who is starting to carry out research! It includes valuable step by step information to guide you through the process (from thinking up your idea to literature searching, designing your study and writing it up at the end). It also includes important points about what you need to include in a research proposal and the imperative ethical issues to you need to consider. This book is for all types of research design - quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. I'm just starting out on my MSc. Dissertation in Psychology and already this book has been extremely helpful. I'm glad I have it for the rest of the journey! I fully recommend it to both undergraduates and masters students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made my dissertation easier, 6 April 2009
By 
Ms. C. L. Gibson "Carolina_lou" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Easily the most useful book I used for my undergraduate dissertation. So much so I recommended it to all my friends and lent it to others. It sets things out clearly and made things really easy to understand. Some areas were more in-depth than what a undergraduate needs, but what I did need to know I understood thanks to this book. A recommendation for any who is writing their dissertation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative and Mixed Methods Approaches, 27 Mar 2009
By 
Henry Odeyinka (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having been involved in quatitative research for a long time, I've always wanted to know more about qualitative research methods as well. This textbook provided the answers. A great book indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V. useful book, 18 Feb 2012
By 
A very important book for those who are writing master or Phd thesis. It covers the three research approaches with different examples. It helps students to understand how to choose the research methodology. But I think it lacks the discussion of research philosophy in more details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
nice book for researches and design especially for PhD students ,,, ,,, ,,, ,, ,, ,, ,, , , ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on basics of research proposals, 13 Feb 2011
Excellent book!
Easy to read, with clear and focused discussions.
Practical advice and guidance on the designing and writing of research proposals.
Certainly recommend it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Research Design (International Student Edition): Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches (Paperback)
An excellent book in research methodology. Covers areas in research approach and design. Would strongly recommend this book for researchers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you can only buy one research book...., 21 Jan 2014
By 
Nancy Keranen (Puebla, Puebla Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...this is the one I'd buy. I've been very fond of all of Creswell's books (and Creswell & Plano). They're probably the only research books that I consistently refer back to. They're excellent for graduate students also. This one has a particular focus on the research proposal but is also perfectly suitable for orienting the researcher in the three approaches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Course Text, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This text was recommended for a course I am doing. It does a good job of bringing together qualitative and quantitative research methods and explains mixed methods approaches quite well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 6 Aug 2013
By 
V. Will (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Research Design (International Student Edition): Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches (Paperback)
My PhD supervisor recommended this book as a definite "one to read". Having said that, I've only had a bit of a quick look through it so far but it does look totally useful. It's much more 'accessible' than some of the other research methods books I've looked at and my supervisor really likes that it offers "templates" for your own writing - eg it actually says things like "The purpose of this research is to [insert your own words here]...". I guess if you use this sort of thing to inform your own writing, then it could be quite handy ;). I've not seen this in other research methods books, so it's a bit of an edge that it has.

Fairly expensive book, but I suppose they all are nowadays lol. Definitely useful though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews