Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A picture paints a thousand words!
They certainly do in this book.

Bought for my comic/superhero mad son (I have a collection of superhero comics from the 70's/80's myself) Super Graphic is a brilliantly 'visual' book full of masses of off the cuff and geek worthy information about DC, Marvel and Superheroes.

This is all presented in an infographic way such as 'Information is...
Published 13 months ago by KM

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good for a while
I love this book it is amazing for a fun time learning about different things in the comic book universe. The delivery was good and came within 3 working days. However once you have looked at the graphs and charts a few times it can get quite boring and repetitive. So in conclusion buy it but be prepared for it too just go on the shelf and nt be read again after a couple...
Published 11 months ago by stephen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A picture paints a thousand words!, 13 April 2014
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
They certainly do in this book.

Bought for my comic/superhero mad son (I have a collection of superhero comics from the 70's/80's myself) Super Graphic is a brilliantly 'visual' book full of masses of off the cuff and geek worthy information about DC, Marvel and Superheroes.

This is all presented in an infographic way such as 'Information is Beautiful' if you're familiar with those books/website. Here you are provided with huge volumes of data that you can consume quickly and clearly.

It's packed to the rafters with bar charts, venn diagrams, pie charts, hierarchies, tree maps, standard maps, time series data and many other infographic styles. A very small taste of what you can find in this -

- Walking Dead kill counter (just who has topped the most zombies?)
- The four faces of The Flash
- The pizzas of The Mutant Ninja Turtles
- The politics of Good v Evil
- Superhero kill counter (Just who has killed the most baddies?)

At 196 pages the quality of this book is excellent and it looks great too!

If you have any geeks leaning towards superheroes/data/graphs in your house I can thoroughly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good, the Bad, and the Goofy, 13 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
"Geek porn" sums it up neatly. Not every chart, diagram, and line graph in this book is equally interesting -- how could they be? -- but there's something in here to amuse and/or inform every comics geek, regardless of age or gender.

Funniest entry, hands down: "If You Were the Punisher, What Would You Do?"

Best geography lesson: a world map showing the locations of Nanda Parbat, Neo-Tokyo, Latveria, Gorilla City, Wakanda, Themyscira, Santa Prisca, Smallville, Asgard, and Duckburg.

Bandes dessinées special: six pages of Tintin charts, including its 56-year publication history, and Herge's 32-year history of rewriting, redrawing, and re-editing his earlier, more controversial, volumes.

...And much, much more!

CAVEAT: The Kindle version may not be readable. Half a dozen reviewers on Amazon's US page have complained about fuzzy graphics and the frustration of trying to read two-page spreads that are split into two separate pages in the e-book. No such problems with the paperback version, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, big range, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
The infographics are fun and smart. There are a lot of pages given over to single joke charts, meaning you get less for your money than you'd think looking at it. It also covers a wide range of comics, from Spider-Man to Scrooge McDuck, which could be a positive or negative depending how wide your tastes range. If you love all things graphic then it's great, if you're in it for the superheroes then you might find it lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let me draw you a venn diagram..., 6 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
Picture two circles. One with people who love comics and one with people who love graphic design. Where the two meet are all the people who gave this 5 stars. But actually any one in either camp will still get the same enjoyment from this book. It's such a fun book to casually flick through. Full of humour and genuine love for the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super-hero data porn!, 11 Oct. 2013
By 
A. Lee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice looking, light-hearted super-hero info-graphics book. Highly recommended on the 11 O'Clock Comics podcast. Some data is presumably accurate - some is obviously just for humorous effect. I got the kindlefire version - this means some text is difficult to read if embedded in a graphic as it pixellates when enlarged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic gift for comic lovers, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
I find it hard to choose a gift for comic lovers sometimes because you never know what they have already without asking outright, I bought this as a fun present, but it's high quality print, great presentation and packed with useless but fun information - this really is an unusual, top-notch gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
I bought this for my boyfriend after hearing about it on a podcast, not knowing what to expect. It was worth the leap of faith! Its presentation is lovely and it satisfies the part of my brain that likes organisation and charts while being about superheroes. Win-win!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for Comic Book fans and Infographic designers!, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
Great book!
Helped with my college graphic design work!
Helped me understand more about a universe I love reading and watching!

It's a shame the book was sort of damage in delivery, cover was ripped and bent slightly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best birthday present I have ever received, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
S. Marks (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
As a grown up comic book geek I can't imagine that there is a better book on the planet than this. Every page is a delight of data, art and humour.

Buy it now. The printed version of course.

No really - I mean it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe (Paperback)
Bought this for my partner as a gift and he loves it, I highly recommend this book for comic book lovers but also for designers interested in alternative infographics. Really beautifully put together and a really nice read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe
Super Graphic: A Visual Guide to the Comic Book Universe by Tim Leong (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2013)
£9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews