Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful quirky world of video game, 12 Nov 2012
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney) (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:19 Mins

Wreck-It Ralph has an interesting premise that will probably tickle gamers. It's amusing to see how gaming is spoofed. The book features the concept art, character designs, storyboards and colorscripts. There are lots of funny ideas and art.

The book is split into roughly three parts that correspond to the game worlds that Ralph has to travel through. There's the 8-bit world, the First Person Shooter world, and finally the Sugar Rush world where the go-karts are racing.

The first part looks at the 8-bit world as realised in 3D. The character designs are the cute big-head-short-legs type. I was looking out for game villains designs for the nostalgia but there aren't as many compared to the other characters.

The FPS world is a strong juxtaposition from the two other worlds. The concept art here looks like they can for Halo, Mass Effect, or Gears of War. There are background art, vehicles and the technology. The only giveaway is the more caricatured character faces, cute cy-bugs and Ralph's armoured suit showing his big belly.

The last part featuring the Sugar Rush world will get you into a sugar high just from looking at the pictures. There are landscape paintings of chocolate and candy, fluffy candy floss clouds, house of cakes, candy go-karts, biscuit soldiers and donut cops. There are even photos of the staff making models out of real confectionery. I feel unhealthy already after looking at so much sugar.

The contrasting worlds and their quirky game characters makes this a wonderful artbook.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney) (Hardcover)
I believe this book is one the greatest book I've seen, but few pages didn't reach my expectations. It's a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and informative, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney) (Hardcover)
A must have for fans of the film, the text is informative and the printed pictures beautiful. Great to study colour and concept art in animation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney) (Hardcover)
Nice design and nice print!

Inpirational and colorful, just as the movie. A secure buy!

Would have been nice with more processes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney) (Hardcover)
The film was amazing, but this book is even more awesome, especially the chapter showing the concepts fro each game zone, the candy land that part had some amazing concept art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is great!, 30 Mar 2013
By 
fleur708 (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney) (Hardcover)
Arrived in perfect condition, and was more then I was expecting. I would say this book is great for people who love animation, due to a variety of pre-production work shown in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb book, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney) (Hardcover)
beautifully illustrated and produced a wonderful book to accompany a fun, smart comedy film - recommended if you liked the film or are a fan of these 'art of' books - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney) (Hardcover)
Great book, a little on the small side compared to other "Art of" books.
Fantastic illustrations and layout.
Very Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Helen Checkley (preston, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney) (Hardcover)
My boyfriend just loves these concept art books. I don't know where he'd be without them. They are great for all budding illustrators and cartoonists, and also great for the fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7623780)

This product

Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney)
Art of Wreck-it Ralph (The Art of Disney) by John Lasseter (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2012)
16.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews