Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Considered
Great book with practical advice and list of actual products used. Photos of finished pieces show a real consideration for the design chosen for each piece of furniture.
Published 18 months ago by cathy deegan

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basic advice, wrong advice and unimaginitive
I was really excited about purchasing this book. I checked the reviews and it looked like it was exactly what I was after. However when it arrived I discovered the techniques described were all pretty basic. She takes sometimes beautiful pieces of antique furniture and wrecks them. Her approach does not seem to consider the piece in question and be sensitive to it's...
Published 12 months ago by Ms. V. Davis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Basic advice, wrong advice and unimaginitive, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
I was really excited about purchasing this book. I checked the reviews and it looked like it was exactly what I was after. However when it arrived I discovered the techniques described were all pretty basic. She takes sometimes beautiful pieces of antique furniture and wrecks them. Her approach does not seem to consider the piece in question and be sensitive to it's shape etc. She also gives poor advice at times, such as suggesting you wipe over a freshly sanded wooden piece of furniture with a damp towel. That is absolutely the last thing you should ever do, it will raise the grain of the wood and undo all that work sanding! I found the author to be a bit of an idiot and I didn't learn anything new. In addition this is an American book so some of the products she talks about aren't well known here (such as mod podge which I discovered is an expensive way to purchase pva glue). There were no interesting techniques, just paint, sand back or decoupage. Nothing new and nothing interesting. On the plus side, if you don't have any common sense and don't know one end of paintbrush from the other then this might be the book for you. The explanations she gives are very clear. This is the only good thing I can say about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Considered, 15 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
Great book with practical advice and list of actual products used. Photos of finished pieces show a real consideration for the design chosen for each piece of furniture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic resource for the enthusiastic DIY decorist! It is extremely helpful and demystifies the various techniques. I have just finished my first piece and can't wait to start my next project. Brava Barb Blair :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bought it as a present and they liked it alot, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
If you want to tart up furniture this is a great place to start. Good ideas, easy to follow with lots of pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really love this book , there is so much to learn but this book makes it fun and easy x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... contents were not as informative as I would have liked., 12 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
The book contents were not as informative as I would have liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For my brother in law, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
This book has great pictures! Ive got it for my brother in law for Christmas as he thinks he knows what hes doing to restore furniture! This should set him straight :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
Brilliant book good read & fab pictures. Would recommend to anyone interested in learning about painting weather starting out or more experienced
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Get a British book for products matching, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Furniture Makeovers hc (Hardcover)
This is an American book and you have to translate most of it to uk products. Confusing! But great projects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful Furniture Makeovers !, 6 Mar. 2015
By 
Mrs B (South West France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really helpful but I think next time I will buy Hard book and not on my Kindle, difficult finding places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Furniture Makeovers hc
Furniture Makeovers hc by Barbara Blair (Hardcover - 1 May 2013)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews