Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely art book, 29 May 2012
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:16 Mins

(Spoiler alert! Spoiler in the video starts from 1s)

This is a lovely art book for the movie Brave. This is number 13 for Pixar if anyone's counting.

The book's 160 pages and it's all filled with art and commentary. The concept art is great and you can really feel that everything really fits well together, the characters, the landscape and the stories. There are character designs, environment drawings, sculpts, storyboards and colorscript.

This is Pixar's first period film. The environment designs are a bit dark but that's because the movie is set in ancient Scotland. It's interesting to see a mythical and worn landscape as designed for animation. The colour choices are quite muted, perhaps to give more contrast to Merida.

The characters and art are delightful to look at. They are so full of personality. They have all sorts of characteristics and shapes that make them stand out. There are a few pages of storyboard sequences that are really great, even without words you know the chemistry between the characters and how they are feeling.

Steve Pilcher is the production designer and there's a lot of his charming drawings included. His pencil drawings really beautiful and dimensional. They really bring the characters and places to life. Other artists included are Carter Goodrich, Steve Purcell, Noah Klocek, Matt Nolte and more.

The book doesn't really talk about the story as a whole, but the text do cover the characters and their development. So there's bits and pieces of spoilers throughout.

Overall, it's a wonderful book put together by author Jenny Lerew. It's a good read with great art.

Highly recommended for fans of Pixar and animation art.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) (Hardcover)
Such a beautiful book! The art work is amazing and the detail on the film is a great read. Great gift for anyone who is into animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) (Hardcover)
A really great read followed by beautiful artwork. It tells the story of making the film, talks about people who made them, about locations they visited and where they got inspiration from. It shows how concepts evolved, including not only the final concept art. Lots of Scotland-related and celtic art, painted drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars art of brave, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) (Hardcover)
I give this book five star rating , great book with good art work . good for people who enjoy Disney , book arrived on time and good quality service .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) (Hardcover)
fabulous book giving an insightful look at how much goes into the making of such a film. not for kids though,not a 'fun' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 July 2012
This review is from: Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) (Hardcover)
"Pixar is a force to be reckoned with, they just dont stop". I ordered this product from amazon after seeing "BRAVE" the movie. It took nearly a whole month to get here, but was it worth the wait? Hell yes. If shows the art over the years of hard work and production. It's amazing to see how much work, really does go into it. The art in this book is visually
Stunning. From the paint, pencil and even digital works, this book really does stand out and lives up to PIXAR's name. Jenny Lerew did an excellent job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) (Hardcover)
It's a awesome piece of art. One of these things I'll let her in my workspace like a reference of a unique movie visual art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) (Hardcover)
As a great fan of the "Art of...." books, I found this one stands up really well to those already published. The design and illustrations are brilliant - sharp, colourful and totally alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) (Hardcover)
Another great "The Art of Book" by Pixar. Fantastic range of pieces of concept art that has gone towards the making of their new animated movie, "Brave". Can't wait until the release of their next one! Keep them coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Art Great Price, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) (Hardcover)
I ordered this book a little while ago excited to see the concepts for Pixar's new film 'Brave', as I have lived in Scotland all my life and was intrigued to see if they were able to bring across the atmosphere of the country.

Overall I'm very pleased with how they did, the book is well made, with good prints as well, as I have come to expect. The only negetive I came across was that it contains spoilers and as the film is yet to be released I was a smidge disappointed in that.

Well worth a buy if you love pixars style and the beauty of Scotland!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar)
Art of Brave (Disney: Pixar) by Jenny Lerew (Hardcover - 1 Jun 2012)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews