Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2012
The eighth story in the Typhon Pact arc, set several years past Star Trek Nemesis, focuses on the Tzenkethi, and their relationships with the Federation and its allies, as well as the Venette Convention, a non-aligned peaceful group whose home lies between the major powers'. The plot follows three strands and focusses on diplomacy and exploring the alien cultures in more detail.

My favourite parts of the novel are those set on Ab-Tzenketh itself as we explore their culture in more depth than ever before and it is revealed to be far more fascinating than I had imagined. McCormack really excels at world building and this makes the novel far more than just another run-of-the-mill adventure.

While it's good too see more of the USS Aventine under Ezri Dax, in places these parts of they story did seem a bit tacked on and I had expected that there might be more of a focus on this crew than the novel actually included. Despite the cover image, the Enterprise portion of the plot is told mainly from the point of view of Doctor Crusher, which is a refreshing change as she has had comparatively little page-time recently. Writing this, I've only just noticed that this makes all the main characters of this novel females, which is also an interesting difference to the norm.

Although I sped through reading it in study two days, this is another excellent Trek novel. I'm really enjoying the way they are going at the moment and hope this can continue. I also look forward to reading more from Una McCormack who has fast become one of my favourite Trek authors.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
"Brinkmanship" is an interesting novel, focusing on the politics of the Star Trek universe, rather than some space anomaly or technology-gone-wrong themes. Ezri Dax and Jean-Luc Picard are the main characters here, dealing with races such as the Cardassians and the Ferengi, as well as the Tzenkethi, who are fast becoming one of the most interesting races in Star Trek. Picard is perhaps written a little sterner than usual, but the author accurately captures Ezri's persona.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
This is an interesting book. It has very little action in it and quite a lot of talking heads and political intrigue. For those who have been reading these books as a series (as I have) Brinkmanship will be slightly disappointing as very few of the characters from the Enterprise actually get much story time. It is focussed on Picard, Beverly and Ezri on the Aventine almost none of the other enterprise crew get a look in, some get mentioned in passing but they never make an actual appearance which is frustrating if you are wanting to read more of the new characters. The crew of the Aventine are clearly underdeveloped, with the exception of Sam Bowers who to be fair came over with Ezri from the Deep space nine books but it seems pretty clear that the writer, and possibly Pocket books themselves, are not interested in using Ezri or her ship and crew in anything other than supporting cast..

The actual plot (Without giving anything away) is quite well written, I have read other Una McCormack books in the Star trek Pocket books and while this doesn't quite reach the heights of, in my opinion, "The Neverending Sacrifice" it is still very good with not one but two alien species with interesting traits and personalities. The book does bounce about a bit between several points of view but none of them are boring and while I feel the plot on the Tzenkethi home world wasn't entirely necessary, it did provide a good snapshot of a species who until now hasn't been seen much in the Typhon pact novels.

All in all, an unusual star trek book, but a good one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
This is an interesting book in the Typhon Pact series. No "action" as such, but it still moves the general storyline along without the need to resort to phaser fights between space fleets etc. It is actually a very well named novel as it accurately describes just what goes on between the Khitomer Accord representatives and the Tzenkethi, who as another reviewer has commented are fast becoming the most interesting race within the Typhon Pact. I hope this serves as a taster of more to come.
Featuring Dr Crusher as the main character, with occasional input from Picard it does serve to provide a different viewpoint from the novels that have gone before it. Ezri Dax is also featured, but almost as an adjunct to the main story, which seems a shame and she is in danger of being permanently relegated to the role of "sidekick". Very few other crew members get a look in. There is also another storyline set on Ab-Tzenketh itself, which doesn't seem relevant at first, but of course it is, as you find out at the end.
Overall, worth reading particularly if you like political intrigue and also to get more background info on the Tzenkethi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
Rolled along nicely,
Well thought out and implemented plot with characters that for, the main, were thicker than the usual cardbord figures that inhabit the MeToo Sequel universe.
Enjoyed it.
Bit pricey.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I'd wholeheartedly recommend this book to any Star Trek novels fan. It avoids a lot of the problems of other Trek stories and delivers an exciting and believable narrative, consistent with the rest of ST, that was difficult to put down. I'd go so far as to say it is the best Trek novel I've read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
Currently my favourite book, this is one of the few books that I have stayed up all night to continue reading. It has a compelling plot which draws you in and explores two fascinating alien cultures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Good read to begin to understand the politics of the typhon pact and the khitomer accords
Enjoyed how you got to explore the tzenkethi culture and maybe understand them more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
Trek characters coming together. A different perspective given on how the federation is continuing. I would recommend this book as a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
A bold new direction in Typhon Pact story. Well written and well detailed continuing the disturbing events developing in the Typhon Pact.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse