Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not judge, lest ye be judged...
For Warcraft Fans:

Garrosh committed some atrocious crimes in the name of his 'True Horde'. As we found at the end of 'Mists', Garrosh was not to be tried by his enemy King Varian, nor by the swiftness of Thrall's (sorry, Go'el...) Doomhammer, but he was to be tried by the people he probably hurt the most; the people of Pandaria.

And tried literally...
Published 3 months ago by Lee Naylor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars [SPOILERS] It's a good read, but...
As the subject says it's a good read and I enjoyed it, for the most part. The story was solid and there's plenty of "other things" going on to keep you distracted. But there are a few nagging points that prevent me from giving this more stars.

Firstly, the legal/courtroom references. I get that it's a trial -- of sorts -- and I also appreciate there has...
Published 3 months ago by L. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do not judge, lest ye be judged..., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For Warcraft Fans:

Garrosh committed some atrocious crimes in the name of his 'True Horde'. As we found at the end of 'Mists', Garrosh was not to be tried by his enemy King Varian, nor by the swiftness of Thrall's (sorry, Go'el...) Doomhammer, but he was to be tried by the people he probably hurt the most; the people of Pandaria.

And tried literally he would be. This book is the story of the trial of Garrosh Hellscream at The Temple of the White Tiger in northern Pandaria. Taran Zhu presides as Judge and the August Celestial's are there to be the jury. Members past and present of the Horde and Alliance are brought to be called as witnesses to the accused crimes, some just to observe but ALL to see Garrosh burn for the things he had done. But as in all things Warcraft, not everything is destined to go to plan...

The writing is supurb. Christie is a master of imagery and understands the personalities of these characters, from Anduin Wrynn's wisdom and purity of heart past his years, to Vol'Jin's quiet power, to Baine Bloodhoof's nobility despite the always great conflicts of heart he faces and Jaina Proudmoore's both heartfelt and powerfully good side, and her seething, bitter, dark hatred of the Son of Grom. Every character is portrayed *exactly* as you imagine them to be... I could go on, but you should have no fear of if Christie has 'got' the characters. She has. She does every time.

Of course there are some interesting side plots, one involving Sylvanas Windrunner and another involving some of some of Garrosh's old buddies conspiring with a certain dragon, but it is the courtroom drama that is front, center and the star of the show here. We see some sides of characters we haven't seen before, and every revelation to the court will have you bristling, or when certain witnesses are brought forward to give testimony against (or even for) Garrosh (or evidence shown in a *very* novel way...) if you know your WoW lore you'll be putting your head in your hands at knowing what is coming next.

This is up there with Lord of the Clans, Rise of the Horde/Lich King and The Shattering as Christie Golden's best WoW work. If you love the rich lore of Warcraft and want to build yourself up for Warlords of Draenor then there is no better way than reading War Crimes. Buy it.

For Non Warcraft Fans:

If you love fantasy books, Christie Golden is an amazing writer and you cannot fail buying *any* of her books. She can create the most vivid of imagery and brings characters to life with real emotion and depth. Yes, you are going to be at a *massive* loss if you don't know the back story to this book or indeed play the World of Warcraft games... but it could still be a good read anyway. If you want my opinion, if you don't play WoW, don't get this book... but start playing WoW. Learn it's rich and deep story and most of all, once you have played for a while, read Christie's books. They will enrich your enjoyment of WoW to new levels. I'd love to say by not playing WoW you're not missing out but... well... you know... ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different from other Warcraft books but still amazing!, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: War Crimes (World of Warcraft (Gallery Books)) (Hardcover)
Great read! Quite different from the other Warcraft books as you get an insight into a range of characters thoughts and feelings from their point of view. The setting is also so different. Rather than traipsing around Azeroth from battle to battle you are in a room with many big lore characters. That does not make it slow paced or boring at all though, the character interaction is great and there is also action involved of course, this is Warcraft after all. Second favourite book after Arthas. Thoroughly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars and while the actual story is good, I was a little sad to find that ..., 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: War Crimes (World of Warcraft (Gallery Books)) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my boyfriends birthday, and while the actual story is good, I was a little sad to find that the back of the cover had a small scuff. Nothing major but still noticeable. Otherwise delivery was quick and I am overall happy, but that scuff has prevented me giving a full 5 stars today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked this book, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: War Crimes (World of Warcraft (Gallery Books)) (Hardcover)
I liked this book, but maybe not as much as Christie Golden's other Warcraft works. There's some great moments, and a really touching subplot with Sylvanas and her sister.

However a lot of the book feels like 'here is all the lore and backstory you need to know before the next wow expansion,' and at times it seems like Golden had to stretch the plot to put it in. Other than that, the ending is an amazing moment that I wish was an ingame instance (because I would play the hell out of it) and Golden writes Garrosh really well, I hope she gets to do more books with him in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best wow book I've ready, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: War Crimes (World of Warcraft (Gallery Books)) (Hardcover)
Best wow book I've ready, greatly enjoyed it. Must have for any fan who wants to read the bridge between SoO and WoD :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I very much enjoyed this story and it is a nice set up for the coming expansion! Slightly different from the other Warcraft novels I have read due to the court room setting but enjoyable non the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my first WoW book, and I am hooked. Very immersive. Garrosh is at once disturbing and intriguingly misunderstood. Maybe he isn't as insane as we thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: War Crimes (World of Warcraft (Gallery Books)) (Hardcover)
Amazing writing. As a hardcore longtime gamer I was sucked in from chapter one and couldn't stop reading. It was really well written and all characters we'ved come to know and love was described in vivid detail and their emotions and plotting unparrallel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic trial, but had a lack of true horde feeling, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: War Crimes (World of Warcraft (Gallery Books)) (Hardcover)
A bit too much alliance focus, but fantastic book - I'd imagine Alliance players loving this even more than me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars [SPOILERS] It's a good read, but..., 10 Jun 2014
By 
L. Davies "lee_davies" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: War Crimes (World of Warcraft (Gallery Books)) (Hardcover)
As the subject says it's a good read and I enjoyed it, for the most part. The story was solid and there's plenty of "other things" going on to keep you distracted. But there are a few nagging points that prevent me from giving this more stars.

Firstly, the legal/courtroom references. I get that it's a trial -- of sorts -- and I also appreciate there has to be a point of reference for us, as readers, to understand. But I just felt the courtroom drama was full of cliches rather than anything else.

Secondly, Tyrande Whisperwind. Her whole demeanour in this was of a shrewd, slippery lawyer (another cliche). I had a hard time picturing the Warrior Priestess and gentle Leader of the Night Elves as a bureaucrat.

Finally (and this where the spoilers come in), I felt the distractions between Jania and Kalec were very good as was the interaction between Sylvannas and Veressa, whereas the distraction amassing support for Garrosh (two, three people?) was lackluster. It had promise to develop further but instead was ignored for the last half of the book until the very last few pages.

Good, but not as good as previous works from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World of Warcraft: War Crimes (World of Warcraft (Gallery Books))
World of Warcraft: War Crimes (World of Warcraft (Gallery Books)) by Christie Golden (Hardcover - 8 May 2014)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews