Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for readers of any age.
Although this is the personal account of a fourteen year old girl's experience of tragically losing her arm in a shark attack while surfing, and her subsequent fight back to health, fitness and surfing again, it should not by any means be categorised as a "children's book". The book is ghost written by a professional writer, and reads well and quickly...
Published on 10 Jan 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring
I did find the story interesting - but not what I was expecting.
Did not take long to read - had it finished in a day.
Published 12 months ago by Adam Jacklin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for readers of any age., 10 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Although this is the personal account of a fourteen year old girl's experience of tragically losing her arm in a shark attack while surfing, and her subsequent fight back to health, fitness and surfing again, it should not by any means be categorised as a "children's book". The book is ghost written by a professional writer, and reads well and quickly. Bethany's courage and determination are an inspiration to anyone of any age. Her deep Christian faith, and that of her family as she describes their encouragement and support, are also inspirational. A book to be enjoyed at the time, and remembered long afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 13 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This book is well written for children to understand. I'm 10 years old and I have just learnt to surf, this book really inspires me to get better at surfing. It also taught me to follow my dreams, no matter what happens. Believe in yourself and you can make them come true. Bethany Hamilton is now my heroine!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for christian elite child athletes and their parents. ideal section 48 material, 7 July 2011
A true 'can't put it down' read. There is no gore or any part that induces nightmares. the imfamous shark attack is recounted in small portions throughout the story. this can safely be read by a mature 8yr old and is mature enough to engage older teens. It wouldn't harm to read it first before your child as you will be blown away by her courage, aswell as answer any of your childs questions.
As a parent of an 11 yr old elite gymnast I find it really hard to find books that relate and encourage her. This is a true tale that inspires us all. Bethany expresses her own faith with level headed maturity without pressure. she is just herself and certain of her faith. do not avoid this book in fear of being Bible-bashed because it won't happen!
Bethany was 13 yrs old when the incident happened but was back on her board in less than a month. Much of sport is about overcoming adversities for children yet there is not much material to encourage and inspire them. This does both and more.
As a youth worker Soul Surfer is loaded with material to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 14 Jun 2014
Absolutely incredible and completely inspiring- a must to read. I have never read a book quite like it-it made me cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Thomas Blackwood (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw the movie and was so impressed with the way Bethany Hamilton coped with the shark attack, I had to get the book (and I don't normally read books). She is an amazing girl. A must read book for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A amazing woman and an amazing true story, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bethany Hamiliton is a amzing woman a true gift from God. This is her account of her life changing event and how Bethany and her family with faith in God lived through all this heartache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is thrilling and moving and just amazing. You must read it!! I couldn't stop reading and am sad that I got to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Surfer: A True Story of Faith, Family, and Fighting to Get Back on the Board (Mass Market Paperback)
I did find the story interesting - but not what I was expecting.
Did not take long to read - had it finished in a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a true story of a girl called bethany hamilton who while out suefing lossing arm to a shark but as soon as she can she is back on the waves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Truly amazing reading, well written and easy to read! As well as an inspirational story with a great insight into a strong women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Surfer: A True Story of Faith, Family, and Fighting to Get Back on the Board
Soul Surfer: A True Story of Faith, Family, and Fighting to Get Back on the Board by Rick Bundschuh (Mass Market Paperback - 26 Jun 2012)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews