Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, totally gripping read
I agree with the other reviews here. This is an excellent book, and in my opinion the best one of the Voyager relaunch so far. Be warned, once you start reading, you won't be able to put it down!
Credit to Kirsten Beyer for being so spot on with her characterisations, you can 'hear' Q, Janeway and the rest and really feel its those characters we've come to know and...
Published on 3 Sep 2012 by WOLF359

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Q all over again.
The first Voyager book I've read, but unfortunately not the first in this particular series. It therefore refers to events and characters from previous stories I knew nothing about so found them difficult to u understand the relevance. Conversations with several characters all named Q take a while to make sense. While I enjoyed reading about the events on board ship I...
Published 5 months ago by mark crosby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, totally gripping read, 3 Sep 2012
I agree with the other reviews here. This is an excellent book, and in my opinion the best one of the Voyager relaunch so far. Be warned, once you start reading, you won't be able to put it down!
Credit to Kirsten Beyer for being so spot on with her characterisations, you can 'hear' Q, Janeway and the rest and really feel its those characters we've come to know and love.
SPOILERS
The return of Janeway would seem an impossible task without seeming like a gimick, but here its made epic and wondrous, touching and with the huge stakes at players involved, utterly plausible..
The last few years have been hard on the Voyager family, and at the end of this novel, you really feel the family is together again, ready to face all sorts of new adventures.
Throw in the new characters (Cambridge is a particular favourite)and a whole quadrant that may or may not be finally rid of the Borg and it looks like an exciting time ahead in the Delta Quadrant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The eternal tide, 29 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Eternal Tide (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is about time. They should never have 'killed off' Janeways character in the first place. It was a poor judgement decision by the publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great episode in the continuing Voyager saga, 15 Sep 2012
By 
J. R. Johnson-Rollings (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eternal Tide (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
Kirsten Beyer's fourth post-Destiny Voyager novel picks up on a number of threads that have been hanging over the series for some time, most specifically the mystery surrounding fleet commander Afsarah Eden's past.

It's another great novel and one that's very tightly focussed on the characters. I wasn't too impressed by aspects of the previous novel, but the 'mumsyness' has been toned down with this one and although it is heavily emotion-fuelled there is a much better balance with the narrative.

Some readers may find aspects of the plot disappointing, however I thought they were well executed and delivered the intended results without feeling like a deus ex machina. Beyer explores a number of concepts from the TV series in a new light and in places this makes the story feel a little like those in the Typhon Pact arc.

Overall, another excellent novel in this series that Beyer certainly excels at writing. It does feel like a turning point in the ongoing narrative but I hope the publishers keep the author for a few more episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you've read the "series so far" you can't miss this, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Eternal Tide (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read the three novels set just prior to this one ("Full Circle", "Unworthy" and "Children of the storm") I had to read this to see what was going to happen. I must admit I did see one of the big plot points coming. I don't see it as a "cop out" although some might.
I did find the style a little confusing in some of the Q scenes. It was a bit of a job working out which Q was speaking. Maybe that was intentional. I liked the overall arc of this novel and previous three. If you haven't read "Full Circle", "Unworthy" and "Children of the storm" then you must read those first.
The new characters are well written. There are plenty of plot strands left open for a further novel(s) and I hope they will continue the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all Voyager fans, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eternal Tide (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
Beyer took on one heck of a challenge with The Eternal Tide - not only was she tasked with handling the return of a major character, she also had to guide Voyager and the rest of the Delta Quadrant fleet through a seemingly insurmountable, multiverse level catastrophe. With her usual sensitivity and creativity not only did she succeed with flair, she also created one of the best Trek books in recent years.

The Eternal Tide has some problems: the first third of the book drags in places, some of the dialogue seems unnatural and there is some repetition. Despite this I found it a truly compelling and satisfying read, and somewhat surprisingly, genuinely moving.

In many ways, the novel feels like the third part of Voyager's final episode: 'Endgame'. A lot of loose ends are tied up, the price of Admiral Janeway's decision to cheat the timeline is finally paid in full, and the evolution of some characters such as Tom Paris is given more time and energy.

This is a must read for all Voyager fans, even for those not familiar with the earlier books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant couldn,t ask for more spoilers though, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eternal Tide (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
Well this book was brilliant and I couldn,t put it down. I was very dismayed at the death of captain Janeway and couldn,t understand how it fitted into the voyager theme. She should never have been killed of in the first place. But in saying that I have enjoyed the trips and stories of voyager specially with them going back into the delta quadrant. This book gave us a good insight into captain eden. It really explained captain Eden past and what she was though it was also sad. And into Q Janeways godson. And it tied up loose ends like tom and B,lanna, Seven and Cambridge. I loved having kes in the story can,t say I was surprised that she helped to save Janeway. It was a exciting and emotional journey for voyager and the reader. I can,t wait to see what will happen next and to see Janeway and chakotay move on to the next chapter of there lives. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eternal Tide (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
It arrived quickly and enjoyed the way the story is being taken forward. Don't want to "plot spoil" but happy with the outcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The eternal tide, 30 Mar 2013
Great book I really enjoyed it. Well worth the money. I loved the return of janeway. Pity about the Q.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Voyager Book Ever!, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Ms. A. L. Bees "Section8grl" (Cleveland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eternal Tide (Star Trek: Voyager) (Mass Market Paperback)
YES! Thank you God, and Kristin Beyer! I've been waiting years for this. This book officially goes up in my All Time Top Ten with the Harry Potter series. In case you hadn't guessed I'm a hopeless romantic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Mar 2013
By 
D. Harris "Gamer01" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story picking up where we left off with the children of the storm, keeps you turning the pages right to the end, I'm looking forward to seeing what's coming next :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eternal Tide (Star Trek: Voyager)
The Eternal Tide (Star Trek: Voyager) by Kirsten Beyer (Mass Market Paperback - 13 Sep 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews