Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a man but a Legend, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad (Hardcover)
Having watched Deadliest catch from the beginning I thought I knew Captain Phill Harris but having read this book I didn't know him at all, to read how he wasn't going to amount to much until he wanted to prove that he could make it as a fisherman to the point of going two years unpaid as a greenhorn that takes guts.

A fantastic read well worth the purchase of a Legend of the Berring sea

Sleep well Captain Phill you may be gone but your name will never be forgot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a Catch!, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad (Hardcover)
Before you read this review you need to know that I am biased. In other words if it had been about someone who I had never heard of I doubt I would have given it five star. After all would I really be that interested in reading about a crab fisherman?
However many moons ago I had got tired of my husband trying to persuade me to watch Deadliest Catch. To keep him quiet I decided to give it a go. Who would've thought that long after my husband has lost interest in it I would've been the crab fishing addict. So much so that if anyone had asked me to join their boat I would've said yes! (Er maybe not Keith's boat).
Anyway after a slow start ( crab fishing really isn't as exiting a read as watching it) I started to really enjoy the book.
Learning about Phil's father and meeting the famous Mary (mother to Phil's boys). All this time I had wondered why she had left such a lovely guy. After reading this book I am amazed she stayed as long as she did!
Then to read about the shocking way the boys had been treated by their step mother and the (not so) temporary loss of their own mother!
Really it's not surprising Jake turned to drugs. Though actually it would've been less surprising if Josh had.
Phil wasn't the best husband or father that's for sure. He certainly lived his life to the full, but the best description of him is on page 184. "Some people have got it," said Tony, and some people don't. Phil had it"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great great book great great man, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad (Hardcover)
I have watched deadliest catch since it started, Captain Phil was always my favorite, cryed my eyes out when he passed away, this book that his boys put together is great, you get a bit more of a insight of Capatin Phil, it has it all funny, sad, and most of all it shows you just how much Captain Phil lived life to the full, Gutted he passed away, but this book is a brilliant read about a man and his love of life, fishing, and the people who were lucky enough to have shared them moments with him. Buy this book its a must.
God bless you Captain Phil. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book about a great captain, 27 May 2014
I liked the book overall, but I get the feeling that the "contributor" wrote the entire book and Josh and Jake probably didn't write any of this. That was disappointing, but the book is still a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars captain phil harris, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad (Hardcover)
was a really good read the man is a legend have followed the series from the start long may it continue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gift, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad (Hardcover)
A beautiful book about a great captain, makes a really good read or a great gift for anyone who follows deadliest catch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 8 Jan 2014
By 
G. Johnson "George" (Canterbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad (Hardcover)
Ties in nicely with the deadliest catch series that has been on Sky TV. Heart rendering story about a very brave ma and his two sons who go through some very painful experiences upon their fathers demise. Bought this as a present for a DC fan...well received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad (Hardcover)
I was surprised that Phil was such a bad boy when he was younger. This is a great read. The only thing I was not happy about, is that the book came to an end. I wanted to know more!!! A great way to celebrate a guy who was a great captain and crab fisher, maybe not so great a great dad and husband when his sons were young, but he tried to do his best. That second wife of his took ten years of his life, and she was horrible to the boys. When you want really want to know the guy we saw on TV, this is the book to read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book for DEADLIEST CATCH fans!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad (Hardcover)
Fast delivery, excellent condition, a personal insight into a crab fisherman with good photos. More appealing as it was written by Phil Harris son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad (Hardcover)
Loved this book. A real insight into the life of a great crab fisherman and his personal life and trials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad
Captain Phil Harris: The Legendary Crab Fisherman, Our Hero, Our Dad by Steve Springer (Hardcover - 23 April 2013)
£14.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews