Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honorverse 17: another bridge novel
This is the 17th of a group of novels set about two thousand years from now in the future which David Weber initially created for his character Honor Harrington. Of these "A Rising Thunder" is the thirteenth novel in which Honor Harrington herself is the most important character. Currently (Summer 2012) there are seventeen full-length novels set in the same universe at...
Published on 9 Aug 2012 by Marshall Lord

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More or less what was expected sadly...
First off, 'A Rising Thunder' is not bad. It's not great and I suspect it'll be a much better read in hindsight, but it is somewhat awkward, as it spends so much time trying to tie together all of these separate strands and people together rather than just getting on with it. In turn, this is due to the spectacular quantity of arc-welding that Weber's having to do to...
Published on 24 Aug 2012 by TomCon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good bridging to a new era, 4 April 2012
By 
B. Bakla - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Rising Thunder (Honor Harrington) (Hardcover)
This is a fairly satisfactory HH Series book. I did not give it a 5-star rate mainly because the story is obviously cut in the middle and therefore the book is "short" for my taste. Otherwise a well-written plot which is told coherently and convincingly. I wasn't particularly put off by the longish "look I know you want the battle but you gotta read this stuff first" parts that set the scene for the main event in the book. The fates of the Solarian characters were a bit too obvious for the readers of the whole series now, but I still like the new characters and the emerging political actors. The book's plot holds together nicely with the overall Honor Harrington Series and its general direction. The really good news is that the writer has scored well in terms of a successful bridging of the Havenite conflict and the Solarian one, which means there's a lot of room to keep writing in that direction. All in all I thought it was a good book. You can't be a HH Series reader and skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 12 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived in good order in appropriate packaging. An excellent addition to a marvellous series which I would highly recommend. ANY FURTHER WORDS ARE JUST A WASTE OF MY TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical David Weber, absolutely enjoyed this book, but hope I don't have to wait a whole year for the next instalment.

A lot more characters in this book, was overwhelmed at times trying to remember what planet I was on this time. Plus trying to pronounce some of their names was tiring.

Can a breakthrough in medical science be made so Emily is cured?? Just a thought 😄
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Honor Harrington, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good yarn in the Honor Harrington series. It has so many strands now that there has to be quite a lot of back story included but, unless you are reading the whole series straight off, the reminders do not detract.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its all coming to a head, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book starts to tie all the Honorverse books into one cohesive storyline that sees the Star Empire and our venerable heroine facing the threat of the Solarian League. The Solarian League (and the Mandarins) is brilliantly realised in this book and it would be hard to make a reader feel more contempt for an enemy than this.
Excellent book can't wait for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as substantial as I'd have liked, 1 Nov 2013
By 
I. Fenton "Felinewyvern" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Complimentary Review Copy Provided by Publisher Through NetGalley. I've only given this a 4* because it just wasn't as satisfying as the previous Honorverse books. It had all the trademark Weber touches that I expected but it seemed to be lacking a little something. Maybe it's because it was setting up for the next book or because it didn't have as much substance as usual. Mind that doesn't mean I won't be getting book 14 as soon as I can afford it because I will. I am totally addicted to David Weber's Honorverse :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honor Harrington, 21 Aug 2013
By 
P. BOOTH "pauline696" (Stamford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good story about the Star Kingdom and its trials and tribulations, Honor stands up for what is right and the Treecats are coming in to more of the stories as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written and surprisingly considering the complexity of the various connected stories it hangs together. Long may it continue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Story, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As others have mentioned this book does go over some some aspects of the story covered elsewhere in the series. But as usual Daid Weber keeps the story moving along well. For fans of the Honor Harrington series this book is unlikely to be viewed as highly as some which preceded it but it delivers a good story and sets the scene for more books to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See review, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great, I just wish that I noted the dimensions of this book. It messes up my sequence, being much larger than my other Honor Harringtonbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Rising Thunder (Honor Harrington)
A Rising Thunder (Honor Harrington) by David Weber (Hardcover - 20 Mar 2012)
16.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews