Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honorverse 17: another bridge novel
This is the 17th of a group of novels set about two thousand years from now in the future which David Weber initially created for his character Honor Harrington. Of these "A Rising Thunder" is the thirteenth novel in which Honor Harrington herself is the most important character. Currently (Summer 2012) there are seventeen full-length novels set in the same universe at...
Published on 9 Aug. 2012 by Marshall Lord

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More or less what was expected sadly...
First off, 'A Rising Thunder' is not bad. It's not great and I suspect it'll be a much better read in hindsight, but it is somewhat awkward, as it spends so much time trying to tie together all of these separate strands and people together rather than just getting on with it. In turn, this is due to the spectacular quantity of arc-welding that Weber's having to do to...
Published on 24 Aug. 2012 by TomCon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honour Harington, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion Weber is still amongst the leading authors of science fiction. In a few of his recent books he has become too spread out with too many threads to the story which is losing him adherents. I think this one is far tighter and therefor is very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Part of honorverse evolution, 27 April 2012
This review is from: A Rising Thunder (Honor Harrington) (Hardcover)
The book fits very well with the expanding honorverse. In order to maintain the characters within the narrative there will inevitabably be some repitation and some reliance on fans being able to keep up. In order to "get" this book you really need to read the previous novels in order, and the side arcs of Saganami and Zilwiki (sp?)

I thoroughly enjoyed it, and look forward to the next. I agree with the critisism that the latest incarnation of the villian is pushing it slightly, but it was set up in previous books but you can take the conspiracy theory of history a little too far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Thunder will continue, 31 Mar. 2012
This review is from: A Rising Thunder (Honor Harrington) (Hardcover)
A lot of Harrington Fans prefer wall to wall fights and this book, although having one heck of a set piece battle, is mostly about motivations and politics. I thought that it was intriguing and the new characters revealed added to the depth of the world that he has created.

This book has widened the scope of the series to include an area that has been hinted at for years.
I am really looking forward to the next few books - I think that they will be great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Rising Thunder (Honor Harrington) (Hardcover)
I am one of David Webers biggest fans I enjoy any book he writes. However this is the most disappointing book I have ever read that he has written. I was actually bored half way through and it took me 3 months to read as I had to keep on putting it down before I fell asleep. I hope his next installment goes back to his very best and stops going far to deep into the political tensions involved in his story lines (reduce the amount politicians are in your books please).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 17 April 2013
By 
S. REID "Highland Warrior" (Falkirk,Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another great harrington adventure, the story does seem to be dragging out a lot which i think detracts from the overall pace that we used to experience in the earlier books. Im not sure if this is all relevant detail for the final book or that its there to fill out the universe. All said and done its still a great book and it seems there shall be plenty more books to come even if the plot evolves just when u think we are getting to the final showdown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Work a day entry to the series, 27 Sept. 2014
By 
Top Tec (Leicester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one is a filler, albeit with some new developments to follow. The war drums are sounding, and no doubt the next in the series will fire up some more. Lots of characters with silly names, a standard Weber trait, and the saga is in danger of getting unwieldy with so many players. Still a lot of directions that this story can go, to keep the interest, but not quite the sparkle it once had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good long sustained, exciting reading, 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good series. I have read them all and over a period of time have come to expect a sustained forward looking story that is exciting and builds to a good climax whilst leaving you hanging about the next book. The only issue I have with this book is that it went over, in depth, stories that were briefy gone over in book 12. Still all in all a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hugely disappointing, 15 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: A Rising Thunder (Honor Harrington) (Hardcover)
Like a fondly remembered relative sliding into oblivion.
Weber has written some truly enjoyable books; not just the early Honorverse, but also books like In Death Ground/The Shiva Option. Books which were genuinely unputdownable. Quite how he has ended up writing ones like this that are much, MUCH closer to unpickupable, I have no idea. The warning signs are there of course, in the dreadful fate of the Safehold series, which despite some genuinely interesting elements, by the time it got to "A Mighty Fortress" had descended into what one reviewer (cuttingly, but correctly) described as "500 pages of meeting minutes". I have been looking forward to "A Rising Thunder" for a very long time - the Manticoran/Haven alliance? Confronting the full might of the Solarian League? Sounds GOOD.
It wasn't.
A brief passage in the middle of a lengthy book of tedium, in which the climactic battle doesn't actually happen. We then cut to a discussion of cake toppers for the forthcoming royal wedding.
Oh, and the almighty Mesan Alignment.... that manages every malign act, suddenly turns out to have had nothing to do with the most important one (which was the only reasonable explanation for how it happened, and which now leaves it as absurd and disappointing as it originally looked). Add to that the very odd way that 600 years of hidden manipulation suddenly goes totally pear-shaped all in one go. A bit like the Illuminati setting up a PR office.
I have really enjoyed the Honorverse (even accepting its suddenly shrinking ships) as one of the finest Space Opera cycles ever written. This is a sad end, as it dribbles into obscurity and irrelevance.
Strangely, the American reviewers have picked up on this far more, summarising this as a "bridge volume". A bridge too far, perhaps.
There is still a chance, but please can Mr. Weber start doing what he was so very good at once again? It really DOESN'T need this many words just to set the scenes. In the days before word processors, E.E.Smith could spin the fate of a galaxy in half a page. Turn two pages at once and it felt like a new universe (and sometimes was...). Verbosity does not equal quality. It currently looks like Mr. Weber is going to imitate the later books of Robert Heinlein, which is not a good way to go (just read "The Day After Tomorrow" then try to read "Friday").
Buy the next one? I really cannot summon the energy. Goodbye Honor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical David Weber, absolutely enjoyed this book, but hope I don't have to wait a whole year for the next instalment.

A lot more characters in this book, was overwhelmed at times trying to remember what planet I was on this time. Plus trying to pronounce some of their names was tiring.

Can a breakthrough in medical science be made so Emily is cured?? Just a thought 😄
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Honor Harrington, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good yarn in the Honor Harrington series. It has so many strands now that there has to be quite a lot of back story included but, unless you are reading the whole series straight off, the reminders do not detract.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Rising Thunder (Honor Harrington)
A Rising Thunder (Honor Harrington) by David Weber (Hardcover - 20 Mar. 2012)
£11.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews