Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Another action packed adventure for Owen Z Pitt and the rest of Monster Hunter International
The thing I really love about the Monster Hunter series is how grand a scope has been imagined for the story. Considering the writing style and the gun-nut/mercenary angle these stories could easily have been simple procedural-thriller novels but instead the author has decided to combine the best of both worlds and create a fun story on an epic level.

It has...
Published 5 months ago by GOTTON

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not actualy bad, especialy if you like a hyperviolent adventure. If you've already bought first 3 you should buy it.
Frankly its just a very violent adventure, with enough links to the past 3 books to be worth reading to see a very small progression in the overall series. If there's no further books soon it's not really worth it.
Now the signed part is maybe autopen, I suspect it's simply printed. I've always considered it a cheat unless the author has personally signed the...
Published 12 months ago by Bog_Man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another action packed adventure for Owen Z Pitt and the rest of Monster Hunter International, 13 Mar 2014
The thing I really love about the Monster Hunter series is how grand a scope has been imagined for the story. Considering the writing style and the gun-nut/mercenary angle these stories could easily have been simple procedural-thriller novels but instead the author has decided to combine the best of both worlds and create a fun story on an epic level.

It has never been more the case than in Monster Hunter Legion.

In this book we are once more in the head of Z as he and the other hunters of MHI head to Las Vegas for the first international Monster Hunter Convention. Once there they all find themselves in the middle of something that even a legion of monster hunters struggle to handle and it falls to Z to accept his destiny in order to overcome this new foe.

In this book we learn a lot more about the coming battle, about Z being a chosen one and basically about the continuing increase in tension as to what might be coming next for our favourite monster hunters.

We also get to see our favourite characters again and see how once more their relationships develop and they evolve as characters themselves. It is another strength of this series that the characters are capable of as much change as they are and so each book is comfortably different from the next leaving me excited to read something new.

All in all this is a good book with only one flaw that I can think of, the MCB. I simply don't buy them and I haven't for a long time now. I just don't understand how a group of tough nut monster hunters and anyone else who had come in contact with the MCB could put up with what has been done to them.

They are so unreasonable and outright villainous that I am pretty sure that it would be keeping within the character traits of the Monster Hunters to have simply killed them by now. It's not even like they couldn't get away with it, they are all trained killers and could probably do it with no problems and in the case of these books it would be justifiable. In every book so far the MCB have been responsible for murdering innocents, ruining people's lives and basically making every situation disastrously worse. In this story there is a title character who actually admits that he is doing something terrible for the sake of personal gain and I just can't believe that these monster hunters would simply stand back and take it, government body or not.

It is a small gripe in an otherwise enjoyable book. So often this kind of story could become too cheesy or repeat itself book after book, but the author has picked a good direction for the series that keeps everyone happy and the story moving forward.

Overall this was another great read from Larry Correia and I look forward to the next book eagerly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story!, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not like most stories where the main characters survive, you never know in any of Correia's stories as to who will be standing at the end and that makes the story better!

I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsomeness, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can`t wait for the next one all about Frank's wooohoo nemesis is gonna be so good the best thing ever is these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not actualy bad, especialy if you like a hyperviolent adventure. If you've already bought first 3 you should buy it., 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Hunter Legion Limited Signed Edition (Hardcover)
Frankly its just a very violent adventure, with enough links to the past 3 books to be worth reading to see a very small progression in the overall series. If there's no further books soon it's not really worth it.
Now the signed part is maybe autopen, I suspect it's simply printed. I've always considered it a cheat unless the author has personally signed the individual book with a pen. There again what do you expect with a large print run 'limited edition', and it's
an amusing and series specific one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Great Humour, 9 April 2013
By 
William "23 year Old Brit with a Passion for ... (COLWYN BAY, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
the fourth book in the series while a little slimmer than the previouse 3 volumes is action packed and entertaining like all its predicessors. A real series which will be a pleasure to keep following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monster Hunter Legion Limited Signed Edition
Monster Hunter Legion Limited Signed Edition by Larry Correia (Hardcover - 18 Sep 2012)
16.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews