Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Falling short of the authors very high standards, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not the best book in this great series. Hodgell’s city of Tai Tastigon ranks among the very best creations of SF/fantasy, a character in itself, as does the principal female protagonist, Jamie and it is in part because of the author's previous heights that this book suffers in comparison.

I didn’t feel the same heart-pounding excitement as I did when reading earlier volumes. Jamie is far wiser than she was, more understanding of her milieu, and therefore apparently acting less instinctively. This reduces the surprise both for her and the reader.

I also echo what several other reviewers have previously said: another poor and wholly inappropriate cover, I’m afraid – do the publishers not listen to us? These covers really grate, and detract rather than attract...

This is not a stand-alone novel, and would be a poor introduction to the series. The reader should start at the beginning- and no, I receive no commission for recommending this (!) - as the character development is strong and the unveiling of both worldview and cosmology is cumulative.

Another shortfall is that it acts as a bridge, and feels at times as if it is marking time, filling in some gaps as we await some resolution of the principal characters’ intra-personal and inter-personal conflicts. Failing which, at least some form of denouement!

But I eagerly await the next volume, so any defects are far outweighed by its merits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book with more substance than the cover artwork might suggest..., 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Honor's Paradox (Kencyrath 6) (Paperback)
Following on from the Kencyrath series. Its a series folks, so stick to the script and read them in order. This is one of those rare Intelligent Fantasy books, with excellent characterisation, depth, detail, humour, surprises, heroism and amazing levels of depth in the construction of the world, people and cultures it invites you into.
If you want to suspend realism and indulge in the Fantastic, this is sheer Genius!
ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars kencyrath books, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a bit shorter than previous books but still entertaining. Look forward to the next one. Hope it will be in a better printers edition though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best fantasy series around, 19 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Honor's Paradox (Kencyrath 6) (Paperback)
This book is the sixth in a series that is filled with unique and compelling characters and an extraordinary world. I've loved these books, and each new one is a treat and an occasion for celebration and a chance to revisit a world that only grows more compelling with each novel. They are fantastic and addictive, and I cannot recommend them enough. Start at the beginning, buy them all at once, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love the Kencyrath novels, can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - next one please, 14 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Honor's Paradox (Kencyrath 6) (Paperback)
I've followed this series for a very long time and loved every book. This one did not disappoint. I love how the characters have developed and I am very anxious to see how the relationship between the twins develops along with relationship between the Kencyrath race in its entirety and this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honor's Paradox, 24 Jun. 2013
By 
P. BOOTH "pauline696" (Stamford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read the stories of the Kencyrath a number of years ago and really enjoyed them. This is a great episode in the story of the Kencyrath and there fight to keep honour and duty alive in the face of the greed of some of the nobles. Jamie has some hair raising escapes and seems to be one step closer to fulfilling the prophesy of her people. I would recommend this book it has a good story line, but it might be a good idea to read the previous ones before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Honor's Paradox (Kencyrath 6)
Honor's Paradox (Kencyrath 6) by P. C. Hodgell (Paperback - 20 Dec. 2011)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews